Review of Death Among The Doilies

 

28411831Synopsis:

“The perfect weekend getaway: crafting, food, and a murder or two!”—New York Times bestselling author Lynn Cahoon

For thirty-something blogger Cora Chevalier, small-town Indigo Gap, North Carolina, seems like the perfect place to reinvent her life. Shedding a stressful past as a counselor for a women’s shelter, Cora is pouring all her talents—and most of her savings—into a craft retreat business, with help from close pal and resident potter Jane Starr. Between transforming her Victorian estate into a crafter’s paradise and babysitting Jane’s daughter, the new entrepreneur has no time for distractions. Especially rumors about the murder of a local school librarian . . .

But when Jane’s fingerprints match those found at the grisly crime scene, Cora not only worries about her friend, but her own reputation. With angry townsfolk eager for justice and both Jane’s innocence and the retreat at risk, she must rely on her creative chops to unlace the truth behind the beloved librarian’s disturbing demise. Because if the killer’s patterns aren’t pinned, Cora’s handiwork could end up in stitches . . . (Goodreads)

Review:

Cora and Jane have started their own business, a crafting retreat at a Victorian estate. They have worked very hard to get the business off the ground and are determined to make a success of it.  A hard enough goal to achieve without any outside interference.  But when Jane becomes a person of interest in the murder of a local librarian, that goal become an almost impossible one to achieve.  Cora knows she is going to have to find the real killer before all of her dreams permanently unravel.  

The characters are well developed and well rounded.  At times I felt a little confused trying to keep people straight in my mind, especially farther into the book.  That may just be me, others may not feel that way.  I also did not feel like I bonded as well with these characters as I would have liked, but since this is the first book in the series, that could be the reason. I look forward to spending more time with them in future books.

The author is very talented in descriptive writing and much of the time I felt like I was right there, watching all the action taking place.  That is a good thing and I enjoyed that a lot.  But sometimes I felt like there was too much description given, on the house and the crafts, and I found myself skimming some of the pages.  I did enjoy the craft tips and the recipe that was included at the back of the book.  I prefer to get the information that way instead of during the actual story.  Again, this may only be me and other readers may love all the description given.  

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.  If you enjoy crafting, this is a must read.  I plan to read the next book in this series and checking out the other books written by this author.  I did enjoy this book, and I think you will too.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and Kensington Books for the opportunity to read and review this book.

 

10 thoughts on “Review of Death Among The Doilies

  1. Really enjoyed your review. You had some good points that really stood out. I can’t wait to read this new series. I really enjoyed her other crafting series & have read them all.

Leave a Reply

