Review of It’s Your Party, Die If You Want To

 

 

It’s Your Party, Die If You Want To

Liv and Di In Dixie Mystery, Book #2

Vickie Fee

5 Stars

28439384Synopsis:

Between a riverboat gambler-theme engagement party and a murder mystery dinner for charity, Dixie, Tennessee, party planner Liv McKay is far too frenzied to feel festive. Add to the mix her duties at the annual businesswomen’s retreat and the antics of a celebrity ghost-hunting diva, and Liv’s schedule is turning out to be the scariest thing about this Halloween—especially when the ladies stumble across a dead body in a cemetery…

Morgan Robison was a party girl with a penchant for married men and stirring up a cauldron of drama. Any number of scorned wives or frightened philanderers could be behind her death. As Liv and her best friend, Di, set out to dig up the truth, they’ll face the unexpected and find their efforts hampered by a killer with one seriously haunting vendetta…   (Goodreads)

Review:

This is the second book in the Liv and Di In Dixie Mystery series (very clever use of the main characters names in the series title) and I enjoyed it as much as I did the first book. There was everything that I look for in a cozy mystery: great characters, humor, suspense and that small town feeling.   

The characters are well rounded, well developed and three dimensional.  I really enjoy reading about the friendship between Liv and Di.  They are best friends and  they are always ready and willing to help each other out, even if that means breaking the law.  And this law breaking behavior always puts Di in a precarious situation since she is dating the town sheriff.  I really enjoyed reading about the things that Liv and Di do and say, they provided a lot of laugh out loud moments.  I also enjoyed learning more about Liv’s extended family. One of my favorites is her father-in-law, he is really grumpy and cantankerous. All of the characters are likable and I really enjoy spending time with them. 

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is a quick easy read.  The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and through much of the book I felt like I was right there, watching the action taking place all around me.  I thought that the mystery was carried on well throughout the entire book and I did not figure out the killer until the big reveal at the end of the book.  I was frustrated (in a good way) that Liv figured out who the killer was and only told a few people.  I was not one of the ones she told!  I thought this was a very clever way to keep the suspense and tension building.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a skillfully  crafted cozy mystery.  I would suggest that you read the first book in the series too, so that you can spend more time with the two friends.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and Kensington for the opportunity to read and review this book.

 

12 thoughts on “Review of It’s Your Party, Die If You Want To

    • No, I don’t think you have to read the first one first, it pretty much stands alone, but if you can, I would. It’ll help you get to know the characters even better. It’s fun reading about the interactions between Liv and her best friend,Di.

Leave a Reply

