Review of The Perfectly Proper Paranormal Museum

 

25845800Synopsis:

When Maddie Kosloski’s career flatlines, she retreats to her wine-country hometown for solace and cheap rent. Railroaded into managing the local paranormal museum, she’s certain the rumors of its haunting are greatly exaggerated. But a new ghost may be on the loose. A fresh corpse in the museum embroils Maddie in murders past and present.

With her high school bully as one of the officers in charge, Maddie doubts justice will be served. When one of her best friends is arrested, she’s certain it won’t be.

Maddie grapples with ghost hunters, obsessed taxidermists, and the sexy motorcyclist next door as outside forces threaten. And as she juggles spectral shenanigans with the hunt for a killer, she discovers there truly is no place like home. (Goodreads)

Review:

When Maddie agrees to manage a local paranormal museum temporarily, she does not really think that there are ghostly beings inside.  She also does not expect to find a dead body or be pulled into a murder investigation.  But what she thinks and expects is not always reality, and she finds she has to deal with both of these things.  

The characters are well developed and well rounded.  Maddie is smart and is not afraid of hard work.  She is funny and witty and I enjoyed getting to know her.  I think that all of the characters are well written and add a lot to the story.  I am looking forward to spending more time with them.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read.  The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and through much of the book, I felt like I was right there watching all the action taking place around me.  This is a big plus in my book.  I felt the mysteries (yes, plural) were carried on well throughout the entire book.  There were enough suspects, clues, twists and turns to make it very difficult to answer all the questions.

I really like the setting and the premise of the book.  My only complaint is that there could have been more of the paranormal.  Cozy paranormals are some of my favorite types to read and I felt this one could have had more than it did (especially given the title).  Hopefully this is the beginning of a series and future books will have even more ghostly happenings.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well plotted cozy mystery.  Start reading this book and see why I hope this is beginning of a new paranormal cozy mystery series.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and Midnight Ink for the opportunity to read and review this book.   

https://www.amazon.com/Perfectly-Proper-Paranormal-Museum-Mystery-ebook/dp/B01A5OGVGC/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1474469497&sr=1-1&keywords=the+perfectly+proper+paranormal+museum

 

8 thoughts on “Review of The Perfectly Proper Paranormal Museum

  1. Hi Mary, Really enjoyed your review. I still have this book on my TBR List so am glad I am not the only one behind. LOL Have a wonderful week.

Leave a Reply

