Review of Magic In Christmas River

 

Magic In Christmas River

Christmas River Mystery, Book #7

Meg Muldoon

5 Stars

 

27261486Synopsis:

You better watch out, you better not cry, because if old Hattie the Witch sees you, you’ll be the next to die.

It’s autumn in Christmas River, and things in the small Central Oregon town are getting downright spooky this season.

When Cinnamon Peters discovers an old class ring hidden behind the wall of her shop’s kitchen, the pie baker extraordinaire becomes abruptly entangled in a decades-old unsolved mystery.

But shortly after finding the heirloom, Cinnamon is plagued by a series of inexplicable accidents. And soon, she begins to fear things she cannot see or understand.

Because someone wicked is after Cinnamon Peters this October.

And they’ll stop at nothing to keep the past dead and buried.

Magic in Christmas River is the seventh book in the Christmas River Cozy series. (Goodreads)
Review:

I have to say right away that I love the Christmas River series.  It is one of my favorites to read and it has been since I read the first book.  In this installment, Cinnamon is haunted by a childhood fear of a witch living in Christmas River.  She saw the witch in question in front of her pie shop and on the street.  The problem with that is that old legend  says “that if you indeed have the bad fortune of seeing her, then you would be the next to die”. And when suspicious accidents start happening to her, she is afraid the the legend may be true!

The characters are well developed, well rounded and three dimensional.  I always enjoy spending time with Cinnamon, her family and friends, I feel like they are people I know and care about.  My favorite character is Warren, Cinnamon’s grandfather.  The love between the two of the is so evident and seems to flow off the pages.

One thing I found refreshing about this book is that Cinnamon did not stumble upon a dead body.  In most of the cozies I read, the protagonist finds a dead body and then decides to find the killer.  In this book, there is a mystery to solve and Cinnamon does look for clues to solve it.  Another thing that I found different, and which I enjoyed, was the fact that she does not fight with the local law enforcement and treat them like they are idiots. This may be because she is married to the sheriff and she loves and respects him immensely.  

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read.  The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and pulled me right into Christmas River from the first page to the last.  I felt like I was right there watching all the action and activities taking place around me.

I would absolutely recommend this book and series to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.  I have read all of the books written before this one and I have enjoyed them all.  As I said before, this is one of my favorite cozy series to read. Check out this series, I am sure you will agree with me.

https://www.amazon.com/Magic-Christmas-River-Cozy-Mystery-ebook/dp/B01717JLM2/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1475637324&sr=1-1&keywords=magic+in+christmas+river

 

10 thoughts on “Review of Magic In Christmas River

  1. I have some of these books on the TBR pile on my ereader. Thanks for the review. I need to remember this series as I working my way through by TBR pile.

Leave a Reply

