Review of A Killer Closet

 

30811719Synopsis:

In a fashionably cozy short mystery novel, Paula Paul introduces a tenacious heroine who leaves big-city life behind and returns to picturesque Santa Fe, New Mexico—where murder lands on her doorstep.

Irene Seligman loves the warmth and beauty of her Southwest hometown, but only one thing could make her quit her prestigious job as an assistant district attorney in Manhattan to return there: the guilt applied by her demanding mother, Adelle. After Adelle’s most recent husband dies, leaving her with nothing, Irene decides to take a break from prosecuting criminals to move back to Santa Fe and open an upscale consignment store. With Irene’s determination and her mother’s eye for haute couture, they’re sure to make a killing.

But on the day of the grand opening, Irene discovers the body of one of Adelle’s friends in her storeroom. And although the intrigue causes business to boom, when someone else from Adelle’s social circle is murdered, Irene begins to suspect her mother might be in danger too. Ever the protective daughter, Irene investigates her mother’s friends, suspicious that they’re hiding more than designer clothes in their closets. But as she gets closer to uncovering some real skeletons, Irene might not live to regret coming home again. (Goodreads)

Review:

When Irene leaves her job as an assistant district attorney in Manhattan to return to her hometown, she did not expect any surprises.  She returned to help her mom open a consignment shop and help her get settled after her mom’s husband dies.  She did not expect to find a dead body in the shop.  But that is exactly what happens and she decides she needs to help find the killer before all sales are final!

The characters were a little lacking for me.  I felt like they could have been better developed and more lifelike.  I did not feel like I knew them very well and I really did not care about them very much.  For me, character development is a very big part of a cozy read and I felt like these fell short.  That is only my opinion and other readers may disagree with me.  

The mystery is well plotted and was carried on well throughout the book.  The mystery is what kept me swiping pages and wanting to keep reading to see what was going to happen. There were enough suspects, clues, twists and turns to keep this reader guessing.  I was never quite certain who the culprit was until it was revealed at the end.  That is a good thing.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted mystery read.  I did not dislike this book, I just think it could have been better. I will read the next book in the series, whenever it is published.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and Random House Publishing Group-Alibi.

https://www.amazon.com/Killer-Closet-Mystery-Paula-Paul-ebook/dp/B01AQO16S4/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1475954526&sr=1-1&keywords=killer+closet

 

2 thoughts on “Review of A Killer Closet

  1. The character development was one of items I like in the story. What I found lacking was the story did not hold together and was disjointed. I had an inkling of the end, but feel it couldn’t be true so I discarded it.

Leave a Reply

