Review of A High-End Finish

 

A High-End Finish

Fixer-Upper Mystery, Book #1

Kate Carlisle

5 Stars

21863634Synopsis:

In the seaside town of Lighthouse Cove in northern California, everyone knows the best man for the job is actually a woman—contractor Shannon Hammer. But while Shannon can do wonders with a power drill and a little elbow grease, she’s about to discover that some problems aren’t so easily fixed….

Shannon’s home-renovation and repair business is booming, but her love life needs work. On a blind date with real estate agent Jerry Saxton, she has to whip out a pair of pliers to keep Jerry from getting too hands on. Shannon is happy to put her rotten date behind her, but when Jerry’s found dead in a run-down Victorian home that she’s been hired to restore, the town’s attractive new police chief suspects that her threats may have laid the foundation for murder.

Determined to clear her name, Shannon conducts her own investigation—with the help of her four best friends, her eccentric father, a nosy neighbor or two, and a handsome crime writer who’s just moved to town. But as they get closer to prying out the murderer’s identity, Shannon is viciously attacked. Now she’ll have to nail down the truth—or end up in permanent foreclosure… (Goodreads)

Review:

Shannon Hammer is good at her job.  She owns her own contracting business and she is one of the best contractors that there is.  Her professional life is doing well, but her life love is not.  And when she has a blind date that does not end well (the guy would not take no for an answer) and then that date is found murdered, her whole life is about to implode.  

The characters are well rounded, well developed and three dimensional.  Shannon is a strong woman, who loves her job and her friends.  I enjoyed spending time with all of them and getting to know them better.  Even her time spent with her high school enemies was fun to read.  I also enjoyed reading about the interaction between her and Eric, the new police chief.  I liked how it changed from an antagonistic one to a much friendlier one.  It looks as though Shannon may have two potential love interests and I am looking forward to seeing what happens.   

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy quick read.  The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and through much of the book I felt like I was right there, watching all of the activity take place.  I thought there was a lot of action between the covers of this book, and it held my attention all the way through.  

The mysteries were carried on well throughout the entire book.  And I say mysteries because not only is there a murder, but Shannon is getting attacked by an unknown assailant.  There are enough suspects, clues, twists and turns that it is near impossible to solve these mysteries.  I thought the mystery was well plotted and well designed and I just had to keep turning the pages to see what was going to happen.  

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.  I am glad that this is the first book in the series because now I know I have more books to catch up on.  I am not sure how I missed this book when it was first published, but I am glad that I found it to read now.  Check it out, I think you will agree.    

 

https://www.amazon.com/High-End-Finish-Fixer-Upper-Mystery-ebook/dp/B00JJXV8DC/ref=la_B001VIH79M_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1476498535&sr=1-2

 

2 thoughts on “Review of A High-End Finish

Leave a Reply

