Review of Saddle Up For Murder

 

Saddle Up For Murder

A Carson Stables Mystery, Book #2

Leigh Hearon

5 Stars

28814282Synopsis:

At first, horse trainer and Carson Stables owner Annie Carson blames the random losses of local livestock on feral animals stalking Olympic Peninsula county’s farms and ranches. But when one of her own flock is found savagely slaughtered, it gets personal. Then it turns dangerous, when Annie discovers the body of a young woman hanging in her new hay barn. Suddenly, she’s up to her neck in complicated mysteries—one involving her private life. But her sleuthing skills aren’t exactly welcome by the sheriff. And as she uncovers a clue to the killer’s identity, Annie fears she’s leading a deadly trail straight to her door.

Praise for Leigh Hearon’s Reining in Murder

“Here’s a new heroine after my own heart. Plan to stay up all night with this one.” —Fern Michaels, #1 New York Timesbestselling author (Goodreads)

Review:

Annie is the owner of Carson Stables and she stays very busy running the stables, and helping with large animal rescue.  She does not have a lot of time for anything else.  But when she finds a dead body in her hay barn, she knows she will have to find the time to investigate the murder.  After all, it is personal with her hay barn being the crime scene.  That is too close for comfort.

The characters are well rounded and well developed.  Annie is much more comfortable being around her beloved animals than around people.  She knows this about herself and she has been okay with that fact, but now it seems that she is realizing that she needs more human relationships.  In this book, we got to see her interact with more friends and start to enjoy human contact a little more.  We even get to see her feelings toward Lavender, her half sister, mellow a little.  I felt this showed growth of her character.  I enjoyed the bickering and banter between her and Dan, the local sheriff, and her friend.  They act like brother and sister with their arguing and yelling matches.  I think all of the characters had a positive impact on the story.  

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read.  The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and much of the time I felt like I was right there,  watching all the activities going on around me and listening in on conversations.  I enjoyed the rescue aspects of this book, and all the animals that were contained within the pages.

The mystery is carried on well throughout the entire book.  There were enough suspects, clues, twists and turns that I could not pinpoint the killer until it was revealed at the end.  The actual killer was barely a blip on my suspect radar.  This book was very suspenseful and I found myself wanting to turn the pages as fast as I could to find out what was going to happen next.  But I was also a little nervous to keep turning the pages because I did not know what was going to happen next.  That is the sign of a good mystery, in my opinion.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a animal themed cozy mystery.  You do not have to be a horse person to enjoy this book, you just have to enjoy a well crafted mystery.  I read the first book in this series, and I enjoyed it.  I have really really enjoyed this book and I am anxiously waiting for book three.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and Kensington Books for the opportunity to read and review this book.

https://www.amazon.com/Saddle-Murder-Carson-Stables-Mystery-ebook/dp/B01BAYWZ8Y/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1478302247&sr=1-1&keywords=saddle+up+for+murder

 

4 thoughts on “Review of Saddle Up For Murder

Leave a Reply

