Review of Deadly Dogs Days

 

28700204Synopsis:

New to the historic town of Metamora, Indiana, Cameron Cripps-Hayman is looking to make friends with her neighbors. What she isn’t looking for is one of their bodies floating in the canal.

When she and her estranged husband, the town sheriff, are both named suspects for the murder, Cameron takes solving the crime into her own hands, teaming up with her eccentric co-workers who dub themselves The Metamora Action Agency.

As if hunting for a murderer with two high school geniuses, the town drunk, and an elderly kleptomaniac isn’t hard enough, Cameron adopts the five mangy guard dogs of her deceased neighbor. But maybe a stint at playing gatekeeper is just what she needs to come face-to-face with the killer and save another neighbor from being the next victim. (Goodreads)

Review:

The characters are well developed and well rounded.  Most of them were people I enjoyed getting to know, but I cannot say that is true about all of them.  I really did not like Cameron’s mother-in-law and her step daughter.  Maybe I was not supposed to like either of them, in which case the author did a good job portraying them.  All of the dogs, and their different personalities, added another layer to the book and I liked this a lot.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is a quick easy read.  The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and through much of the story, I felt like I was right there, watching all the action take place.  I thought the mystery was well plotted and there were enough twists and turns to keep this reader guessing.  One thing that bothered me a little was the names of all the stores in the community and how they were repeated quite a bit.  I felt this got tedious and distracted me from the story.  This is only my opinion and most other readers may have enjoyed this a lot.  

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a cozy mystery with plenty of animals.  I will definitely read the next book in the series when it is released.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and Midnight Ink for the opportunity to read and review this book.

2 thoughts on “Review of Deadly Dogs Days

Leave a Reply

