Review and Giveaway of Death of the Big Kahuna

Death of the Big Kahuna

Aloha Lagoon Mysteries, Book # 6

Catherine Bruns

5 Stars

32504474Synopsis:

From USA Today bestselling author Catherine Bruns, comes an Aloha Lagoon Mystery that proves sometimes paradise isn’t all it’s served up to be.

New to both Hawaii and the Aloha Lagoon Resort, Carrie Jorgenson has big dreams of stardom. But while she awaits fame and fortune, she’s forced to accept a job waitressing at the resort’s The Loco Moco Café. It isn’t long before she discovers the dish on her new boss—also known to many as “The Big Kahuna.” Hale Akamu is rich, handsome, repulsive…and dead. When Carrie discovers Hale’s lifeless body, she’s suddenly forced into yet another role—amateur sleuth. With everyone from Carrie to the saucy chef to the café’s hot assistant manager under suspicion, Carrie needs to track a killer before she becomes his next main entrée!

**Recipes included!**

The Aloha Lagoon Mysteries:

Ukulele Murder (book #1)

Murder on the Aloha Express (book #2)

Deadly Wipeout (book #3)

Deadly Bubbles in the Wine (book #4)

Mele Kalikimaka Murder (book #5)

Death of the Big Kahuna (book #6)

Photo Finished (book #7) coming soon!

About Aloha Lagoon:

There’s trouble in paradise…

Welcome to Aloha Lagoon, one of Hawaii’s hidden treasures. A little bit of tropical paradise nestled along the coast of Kauai, this resort town boasts luxurious accommodation, friendly island atmosphere…and only a slightly higher than normal murder rate. While mysterious circumstances may be the norm on our corner of the island, we’re certain that our staff and Lagoon natives will make your stay in Aloha Lagoon one you will never forget! (Goodreads)

Review:

The characters are well rounded and well developed.  Carrie is a hard working young women who has not had a good family life but she tries not to let that define her.  I liked the way she tried to always stay positive.  She has not been very successful in the romance department but things may be changing for her in a positive way.  Keanu  is a great guy and is a hard worker.  I enjoyed reading about the interactions between the two.  I liked getting to know them better and learning about them as people and what made them act the way they did.  I thought the secondary characters also added a lot to the story.

The mystery was carried on well throughout the book.  There were plenty of suspects to consider and enough twists and turns to keep me guessing until the killer was revealed at the end.  And I thought the killer was a good choice.  There was enough suspense and tension to keep me turning pages well into the night, when I should have been sleeping.

The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and through much of the book, I felt like I was right there, watching all the action taking place and listening in on conversations.  I felt like I could almost taste some of the food that they served in the cafe.  

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well plotted cozy mystery.  If you like great characters, great description and a great mystery, then you do not want to miss this book.  I was already a fan of this author, this book is just one more reason why.

 

About The Author:

Catherine Bruns

 

 

Catherine is the USA Today best selling author of the Cookies & Chance mysteries. She lives in Upstate New York with a male dominated household that consists of her very patient husband, three sons and an assortment of cats and dogs. She holds a B.A. in English and is a former newspaper reporter and press release writer. Catherine also writes the Cindy York Mysteries and coming in January 2017, the Aloha Lagoon (Carrie Jorgenson) mysteries.

 

 

 

 

Also written by Catherine Bruns:

Cookies & Chance Mysteries:

Tastes Like Murder

Baked To Death

Burned To A Crisp

 

Cindy York Mysteries:

Killer Transaction

Prices To Kill

 

 

Catherine Bruns has graciously offered to give away 1 free kindle copy of Death of the Big Kahuna to two lucky winners.  To be eligible to win one of the two free copies, leave a comment on my blog.  I will randomly choose a winner around 9:00 PM EST.  (Only comments on my blog will be counted, not on my Facebook page).  Be sure and leave an email address so I can reach the lucky winners.    For anyone who is so inclined, please become a follower of my blog.  Thanks for stopping by, good luck and enjoy the book.

I would like to thank Catherine for providing the prizes for the giveaway and for writing such great books.

28 thoughts on “Review and Giveaway of Death of the Big Kahuna

  1. Thank you for your review and the giveaway. I’ve been to Hawaii once and love reading books in that setting. I’ve read Ms. Bruns’ Cookies & Chance and Cindy York Mysteries series and have loved them.

  2. You are a new author for me. Books sound great. They are my favorite type to read. If I don’t win one will for sure go buy one.

  3. I absolutely loved this book. It was hard to put down and it had me guessing several times. I love reading her books and this one is another favorite for sure.

  4. Would love this.It looks like a great read. Keeps us happy and well read
    in a mad mad world. Her books are my mind candy. Write on we need you.
    Sounds as if I need to read it and recommend it to everyone. Thanks for
    making everyone happier.

Leave a Reply

