Review of Murder Wears White

30138561Synopsis:

Mallory Shepard s wedding planning business is off to a shaky start when a member of the bridal family drops dead at a food tasting . . .”

Mallory hopes to unveil her new B&B just in time for her first ceremony as a wedding planner. The renovations to Thistle Park the mansion she inherited in small-town Port Quincy, Pennsylvania are almost complete. But what Mallory didn t plan on is the bride s aunt being poisoned at the wedding tasting and her perfect venue becoming a crime scene.

Adding to the mystery is the discovery that this is not the first murder in the bridal family, and as Mallory becomes engaged in her own investigation she learns the man convicted of the crime may not be guilty. Now she has two crimes to solve before the bride walks down the aisle but a killer has other plans to ensure that Mallory forever holds her peace . . .

Praise for “Engaged in Death”

“”

I had great fun reading the adventures of nouveau sleuth Mallory Shepard as she wrangles corpses, kittens, and a cheating fiance in this charming debut mystery. Laura Levine, author of “Murder Has Nine Lives”  (Goodreads)

Review:

The characters are well rounded and well developed.  Mallory is a hard worker who has big dreams for her B&B .  I felt that at times, Mallory came off as someone who was indecisive and I felt like she really did not grow much from book one to book two.  That is only my opinion and other readers may not feel the same way as I do at all.  Her sister, Rachel, is a fun woman who enjoys helping her sister.  I really enjoyed the interaction between the two of them.  Their bickering and banter provided a lot of humor to the story.  

The writing style flows smoothly.   The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and through much of the book I felt like I was right there, watching all of the action taking place around me.  I really enjoyed that.  

The mystery was carried on well throughout the entire book and with so many suspects to consider and clues interspersed through the book, it was not an easy mystery to solve.  I felt like there were a few too many storylines going on in the book at one time.  I wish that the book only focused on one or two of them and used the other ones in future books. Again this is only my opinion and others may not feel the same way.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.  Although I liked the first book a little better, I still enjoyed this one and I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to thank NetGalley and Kensington Books for the opportunity to read and review this book.

4 thoughts on “Review of Murder Wears White

Leave a Reply

