Review of Scene Of The Grind

Scene Of The Grind

A Killer Coffee Mystery, Book #1

Tonya Kappes

5 Stars

32930152Synopsis:

After a bitter divorce, Roxanne Davis (her friends, though few call her Roxie) has moved back home to Honey Springs, Kentucky where she’s opened the tourist lakefront town’s first coffee house, The Beanhive.

With the excitement of the Beanhive opening and rush of business, Roxie is moving on with her life until she finds that one of her best customers was found dead after eating one of Roxie’s best-selling doughnuts.

Gossip in Honey Springs is as hot at the coffee served at the Beanhive and Roxie has to uncover who is behind the murder not only to save her shop, but her life. (Goodreads)

Review:

The characters are well developed and well rounded.  I enjoyed meeting and getting to know Roxie.  She is a hard worker and willing to do whatever it takes to make her coffee shop successful.  She is funny, quirky and full of spunk.  She has had heartache in her past but that does not stop her from pursuing her dreams.  Patrick is one person who broke her heart when she was younger, but they have both grown up now.  Can they put the past behind them and become friends once again?  I enjoyed the fact that throughout the book there were references to pet adoption because that is something very important.  I fell in love with Pepper and  Sassy, and they added to my reading enjoyment.

The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and through much of the book, I felt like I was right there, watching all the action take place and listening to conversations going on around me.  She is also very talented in developing the settings in her books.  I loved the small town feel of Honey Springs, Kentucky.  There was everything I would expect from a small town: neighbors who know everybody else’s business, neighbors helping others in time of need, and small town gossip.  I would like to visit Honey Springs sometime.

The mystery is carried on well throughout the book.  There were enough suspects to consider and enough clues to sift through to make even the most seasoned armchair detective have trouble solving it.  Add in a few red herrings and you have a real who dunnit that is not easy to solve.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.  I am very happy that this author started a brand new series and I look forward to reading more of this series.

 

