New Releases For The Week Of April 23rd, 2017–Part 1

Here is a list of some of the new releases for the week of April 23rd, 2017.  Since there were so many books this week, I am going to divide them between the next three days. Here is day one of that list.  Hope you find some selections for your weekly reading.  Enjoy and happy reading.

 

34674228For their eighth mystery, Isabel and Alma Trumbo, the retired sister sleuths living in Quiet Anchorage, Virginia, undertake solving yet another murder mystery. Uncle Jimbo who runs the town antique shop discovers the dead body of Angelo Conti, the town EMT and firefighter. Sheriff Roscoe Fox launches his investigation while Isabel and Alma don their sleuth hats. The first suspect is Eloise Starr, a schoolteacher whose fourteen-year-old daughter Bunny drowned in the Coronet River, and Angelo was unable to revive on the scene, angering Eloise. The second suspect is Twyla Coolidge, a wealthy socialite who recently moved to town. Isabel and Alma call on their young helper Sammi Jo Garner and their elderly gentlemen friends known as the Three Musketeers for their able assistance. Meantime, Isabel and Alma give Sammi Jo an old cameo broach, a family heirloom with reputed strange magical powers. Heirloom is a clean read and a traditional whodunit set in a charming small town. Join Isabel and Alma when they set off on solving their latest mystery that is as fun and challenging for them as it is for the reader. (Goodreads)

 

 

 

 

31409238Plus-sized P.I. Savannah Reid has no problem mixing business with pleasure especially if that means a free trip while on the job. But when a gruesome murder rocks the boat, Savannah may finally be in over her head ”
Nothing satisfies Savannah s soul like nabbing bad guys except maybe indulging in a juicy novel. So when famed mystery writer Natasha Van Cleef invites the Moonlight Magnolia Detective Agency on an Alaskan cruise in exchange for some personal protection, Savannah is instantly onboard with the idea. The voyage goes smoothly at least, until Natasha and her husband flee the ship without explanation and get killed in a suspiciously explosive crash . . .
Awash in regret, Savannah and the MM crew won t return home to San Carmelita until they expose whoever caused the fatal accident. But Savannah and her team have their work cut out for them when they discover that Natasha s life was far more dramatic than any of her bestsellers. Not only was her marriage and literary career splattered with bad blood, but the author also had a crazed fan tracking her every move. With suspects and clues flooding in by the boatful, it s all hands on deck as Savannah rushes to seize the murderer before she lands herself in hot water next . . .
PRAISE FOR G.A. MCKEVETT AND THE SAVANNAH REID MYSTERIES
KILLER REUNION
Series fans will gobble this up. “Publishers Weekly”
KILLER PHYSIQUE
The mystery is intriguing. “Booklist”
BURIED IN BUTTERCREAM
A wonderful edition to the series. “Suspense Magazine”
A DECADENT WAY TO DIE
Superb. “Publishers Weekly” (Starred Review)
CORPSE SUZETTE
Savannah s as feisty as ever. “Kirkus Reviews”
MURDER A LA MODE
Added to a well-plotted mystery, the very funny depiction of a different side of reality television makes “Murder a la Mode” a delight. “Mystery Scene”
PEACHES AND SCREAMS
A luscious heroine, humor, and down-home characters. “Library Journal”
 (Goodreads)

 

 

 

 

34737793The 4th book in the BESTSELLING Peridale Cafe Cozy Mystery series is 28th April 2017!

A funeral wreath is delivered to Barker’s cottage. Is it a prank, or a grim warning? Julia’s fears that somebody is trying to kill Barker are confirmed when a dead body with a striking resemblance to him is found on his doorstep the very next day, just as their romance is deepening. Barker might be on temporary suspension from his role as Detective Inspector at the village police station, but that doesn’t mean he’s short of enemies in Peridale, especially when a dark face from his past arrives in the small village to stir up painful memories. With an unclear list of suspects and motives, Julia vows to keep Barker safe, but can they figure out the puzzle as they work outside of the law in a race against time to stop Barker paying the ultimate price? (Goodreads)

 

 

 

 

Till Dirt Do Us Part (Pecan Bayou Book 7) by [Trent, Teresa]Not everything stays buried. When Betsy, a notorious brown thumb gets roped into a gardening contest sponsored by the Pecan Bayou Gazette, she finds herself digging up more than weeds. She is ridiculed by the garden club ladies, and now her heart breaks for a newly single mom whose world has just collapsed. The Happy Hinter is back so take some time to revisit the cozy little town Pecan Bayou, Texas. Grab a glass of sweet tea before you turn the dirt in the garden and sit a spell with all your favorite characters who dole out heartfelt caring and compassion with a side of humor. Till Dirt Do Us Part includes bonus recipes and helpful hints from Betsy’s column!  (Amazon)

34186554Shiny, sparkly…deadly?

The gems from a necklace owned long ago by a notorious woman are killing people in the here-and-now. But where has the necklace been for the last several hundred years? Why has it surfaced now? And most importantly, who would disassemble such a gorgeous work of art? Mallory certainly wants to know. But it’s not until yet another corpse surfaces that her sleuthing team hops on board to help.
Click to find out how a stunning piece of jewelry becomes an implement of death – and who’s behind it’s reappearance! (Goodreads)

Meddling and Murder: An Aunty Lee Mystery by [Yu, Ovidia]A delightfully warm and witty mystery from one of Singapore’s best-known and most acclaimed writers, perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith’s NO. 1 LADIES’ DETECTIVE AGENCY.

Aunty Lee is on the case!

There is nothing Rosie ‘Aunty’ Lee, amateur sleuth and proprietor of Singapore’s best-loved restaurant, loves more than solving other people’s problems. So when Beth Kwuan, an ambitious businesswoman, tells Aunty Lee her maid has disappeared, Aunty Lee is happy to let her own maid, Nina, help.

Only as the weeks go by, little clues make Aunty Lee worry. And as she digs into what is really going on behind the closed doors of Beth’s grand house, she starts to wonder—did Beth’s maid just run away, or did she meet a darker fate?

Now the race is on for Aunty Lee to get to the bottom of the mystery…and save Nina before it’s too late!  (Amazon)

 

 

 

 

31349052Nashville’s perkiest private eye—coffeehouse manager Juliet Langley—goes undercover in the party-planning industry to solve a suspicious death in this thrilling cozy mystery from USA Today bestselling author Caroline Fardig.
 
Inspired by her past sleuthing successes, Juliet Langley has officially joined the ranks of Nashville’s licensed private investigators. Her best friend, Pete Bennett, doesn’t worry that her detective work might interfere with her full-time job running his coffeehouse, Java Jive. He just wishes she would spend her free time rejoining the local music scene instead of tailing cheating spouses. But when one of Java Jive’s baristas, Shane, asks Juliet to look into the suspicious death of his fiancée, Pete encourages her to plow full steam ahead.Since his fiancée died on the job, Shane suspects that her party-planning colleagues are up to something criminal—and will do anything to keep it quiet. After Juliet recruits Pete to go undercover with her at a wedding showcase, she discovers that white lace and black satin have a way of hiding big, fat secrets.

If that weren’t enough to fill her plate, her latest P.I. job has her crossing paths with her ex, Detective Ryder Hamilton. They’re barely on speaking terms, but to solve the case, they might have to cooperate. No matter where Juliet goes, she’s brewing up trouble.

Don’t miss any of Caroline Fardig’s thrilling Java Jive mysteries:
DEATH BEFORE DECAF | MUG SHOT | A WHOLE LATTE MURDER | BREW OR DIE
 
“I was hooked from the first page. I loved it!”—Dorothy Cannell, award-winning author of the Ellie Haskell mysteries, on Death Before Decaf
 
“This author comes up with some very interesting ways to kill someone, and her injection of humor at just the right time is perfect. On its own, Mug Shot is a really good read, but if you follow the series, it will be even better.”—Linda Thompson, host of The Authors Show

(Goodreads)

 

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “New Releases For The Week Of April 23rd, 2017–Part 1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s