Review of Bearly Departed

 

 

31929880Synopsis:

“You’ll fall in love with this delightful debut mystery.” –Victoria Thompson, bestselling author of Murder in Morningside Heights

The Silver Bear Shop and Factory might be the cutest place around, but there’s nothing warm and fuzzy about murder . . .

As manager of the family teddy bear shop and factory, thirty-one-year-old Sasha Silverman leads a charmed life. Well, except for the part about being a single divorcee with a ticking biological clock in small-town Silver Hollow. And that’s just kid’s stuff compared to Will Taylor, the sales rep who’s set on making drastic changes to the business her parents built from scratch–with or without Sasha’s approval . . .

But before Will digs his claws in, someone pulls the stuffing out of his plan . . . and leaves his dead body inside the factory. Reeling from shock, Sasha’s hit with more bad news–police suspect her hot-tempered Uncle Ross may have murdered him. Sasha knows her uncle would never do such a thing, and she’s launching her own little investigation to expose the truth. As she tracks Will’s biggest rivals and enemies for clues, Sasha can’t get too comfy–or she’ll become the next plaything for a killer . . .

“A twisty mystery tale with a likable protagonist and a colorful supporting cast. Sure to be a very enjoyable series!”–Livia J. Washburn, bestselling author of Black and Blueberry Die

“Cute and cuddly on the outside, murder and mayhem on the inside–I love this book!!! Totally adorable.”–Duffy Brown, bestselling author of Braking for Bodies  (Goodreads)

 
Review:

The characters are well rounded and well developed.  Sasha is a strong smart woman who is not afraid of hard work.  She manages The Silver Bear Shop and Factory  along with her sister, Maddie.  It’s a family business and she also has help from her Uncle Ross. I enjoyed meeting all of them and I liked spending time with them.  There are a lot of neighbors and people from the community that we were also introduced to and at times I felt like there were a few too many characters in this book.  I had a hard time keeping all of them straight in my mind.  That is only my opinion and other readers may not agree with me.  

The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and through much of the book I felt like I was right there watching all the action taking place.  I felt like I was right there in the factory, watching the bears come to life.  The mystery was carried on well throughout the book and there were enough suspects to consider and clues to sift through that it made figuring out the killer difficult.

One thing I really liked about the book is that the premise of the book was unique.  I really liked that the book revolved around bears and all the things that went with the manufacturing and selling of the bears.  It was interesting and different.  I also really enjoyed the fact that Sasha was not in a relationship or had a love interest.  Most of the cozy that I read have the protagonist being involved with someone so I found this rather rare and enjoyable.  The book was more about Sasha and her family and I liked that.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.  I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series and getting to know the characters a little better.  This was a good start to the series.

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.  I would like to that NetGalley and Kensington Books for the opportunity to read and review this book.

 

 

  

10 thoughts on “Review of Bearly Departed

Leave a Reply

