New Releases For The Week Of January 7th, 2018–Part 2

Here is a list of some of the new releases for the week of January 7th, 2018.  I am going to divide the list into 3 days because there are so many of them this week. Today is second  day of my list for this week.  Hope you find some selections for your weekly reading. Enjoy and happy reading.

 

 

The Widows of Malabar Hill (A Mystery of 1920s Bombay) by [Massey, Sujata]1920s India: Perveen Mistry, Bombay’s first female lawyer, is investigating a suspicious will on behalf of three Muslim widows living in full purdah when the case takes a turn toward the murderous. The author of the Agatha and Macavity Award-winning Rei Shimura novels brings us an atmospheric new historical mystery with a captivating heroine.
 
Inspired in part by the woman who made history as India’s first female attorney, The Widows of Malabar Hill is a richly wrought story of multicultural 1920s Bombay as well as the debut of a sharp and promising new sleuth.

Perveen Mistry, the daughter of a respected Zoroastrian family, has just joined her father’s law firm, becoming one of the first female lawyers in India. Armed with a legal education from Oxford, Perveen also has a tragic personal history that makes women’s legal rights especially important to her.

Mistry Law has been appointed to execute the will of Mr. Omar Farid, a wealthy Muslim mill owner who has left three widows behind. But as Perveen examines the paperwork, she notices something strange: all three of the wives have signed over their full inheritance to a charity. What will they live on? Perveen is suspicious, especially since one of the widows has signed her form with an X—meaning she probably couldn’t even read the document. The Farid widows live in full purdah—in strict seclusion, never leaving the women’s quarters or speaking to any men. Are they being taken advantage of by an unscrupulous guardian? Perveen tries to investigate, and realizes her instincts were correct when tensions escalate to murder. Now it is her responsibility to figure out what really happened on Malabar Hill, and to ensure that no innocent women or children are in further danger.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Hardcover, Audiobook

 

 

 

 

Say No Moor (A Passport to Peril Mystery) by [Hunter, Maddy]Tour escort Emily Andrew-Miceli’s plan to boost her business with social media threatens to backfire in merry old England

Hoping to reach an expanded clientele of senior travelers, Emily Andrew-Miceli invites a handful of bloggers to join her group’s tour of England’s Cornwall region. But when the quarrelsome host of a historic inn dies under suspicious circumstances, Emily worries that the bloggers’ online reviews will torpedo her travel agency.

To make matters worse, Emily is roped into running the inn, and not even a team effort from her friends can prevent impending disaster. As one guest goes missing and another turns up dead, Emily discovers that well-kept secrets can provide more than enough motive for murder.

Praise for the Passport to Peril Mysteries:

“A bit of humor, a bit of travel information and a bit of mystery add up to some pleasant light reading.”—Kirkus Reviews

“The cast of characters is highly entertaining and the murder mystery mixed with good humor!”—Suspense Magazine

“Maddy Hunter’s Passport to Peril series is a first-class ticket to entertainment.”—Carrie Bebris, award-winning author of the Mr. & Mrs. Darcy Mystery series  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Paperback

 

 

 

 

 

All Spell Breaks Loose (Spellbound Paranormal Cozy Mystery Book 10) by [Chase, Annabel]Welcome to Spellbound, where paranormal is the new normal.

The big day is quickly approaching for Emma Hart. The best laid plans go awry, however, when a potion causes her to lose important memories. Without Emma’s crucial memories, the coven worries that their hard work to undo the curse on Spellbound will remain at a standstill. It’s all wands on deck as Emma’s friends rally to get to the bottom of the mystery potion.

Will Emma recover her memories in time to walk down the aisle and save Spellbound? A not-to-miss book for readers of the series!

All Spell Breaks Loose is the 10th book in the Spellbound paranormal cozy mystery series.

This is a full-length, humorous cozy mystery novel.

Other books by Annabel Chase:
Starry Hollow Witches
Magic & Murder, Book 1
Magic & Mystery, Book 2
Magic & Mischief, Book 3
Magic & Mayhem, Book 4
Magic & Mercy, Book 5
Magic & Madness, Book 6  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

For Better or Worse: A cozy mystery with a difference (The Ginger Barnes Main Line Mysteries Book 8) by [Murray, Donna Huston]Writer’s Digest Award Winning Author

Finally back to her spunky self after the loss of her husband, men have once again become an issue for amateur sleuth Ginger Barnes—men who mistreat their wives, men accused of murder, and men who ask her out.
While working on a DIY project at her newlywed daughter’s house, a bag of bricks is thrown from the neighboring third-story window. Next, pops that sound like muffled gunshots have Gin racing for her phone. Eric, who lives in the house with his grandmother, claims she’s obsessed with mystery novels. Yet after the septuagenarian falls down a flight of stairs, she’s so frantic to keep Eric away that Gin must intervene. Was the fall actually attempted murder?In her husband’s eyes, Cissie Voight can’t do anything right. Gin occasionally helps the frazzled young mother, and when she needs a dresser carried upstairs, Gin brings Eric along. Bad move! The electricity between the two new acquaintances sparks a chilling premonition. This time Gin’s good intentions will produce grave consequences—for everyone involved.
Recommended for fans of Sue Grafton and Janet Evanovich.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Paperback

 

 

 

 

 

Extraordinary World (Extraordinary Series Book 3) by [Frame, Mary]The final installment in the Extraordinary Series!

Cannot be read as a standalone! Book one is Anything But Extraordinary, book two is A Life Less Extraordinary.

This is the third and final book in the Extraordinary Series–release date is January 11th, 2018. Special Pre-order Pricing!

Charlotte, a.k.a. Ruby the town psychic, has a good thing going in Castle Cove. Her baby sister Paige is blossoming under their newfound stability. Charlotte is becoming a pillar in the quirky beachside community, thanks to her new friends and neighbors. And Deputy “Cute Butt” Jared has finally wedged himself into her life with a heart big enough to make them a real family.

But Charlotte should have known better than to let a con run too long.

Her parents have found them, and the inveterate con artists won’t let Paige out of their clutches unless Charlotte helps them rob the innocent people of Castle Cove blind—including Jared. As the clock ticks down to meet the parents’ demands, it gets harder and harder to prevent her exposure as the fraud she is. But Charlotte won’t stop until she finds a way to protect everyone. At any cost. Even if it means losing everything.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

A Big Dill (An Isabel and Alma Trumbo Cozy Mystery Book 9) by [Lynskey, Ed]On the same day sister sleuths Isabel and Alma Trumbo’s beloved beagle Petey Samson runs away from home, they confront their ninth murder mystery. Holly McBride, owner and operator of the popular spice shop A Big Dill on Main Street, is found slain behind the checkout counter. Isabel and Alma quickly identify Holly’s ex, Sterling McBride, and her landlady, Tallulah Pettigrew, as the two leading murder suspects. Meantime, Sammi Jo Garner, the Trumbo sisters’ young friend and able assistant, contends with her ongoing romance problems with her footloose boyfriend Reynolds Kyle. Sharp in both mind and tongue as ever, Isabel and Alma snoop in their Virginia small town of Quiet Anchorage to hunt down the right clues to solve the whodunit. The latest series novel from Ed Lynskey, A BIG DILL is a fun addition to the cozy mystery genre in the tradition of Agatha Christie, Jessica Fletcher, and Anne George.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A Reckoning in the Back Country: A Samuel Craddock Mystery by [Shames, Terry]Acting Police Chief Samuel Craddock investigates the murder of a visiting physician, whose mangled body is found in the woods.

When Lewis Wilkins, a physician with a vacation home in Jarrett Creek, is attacked by vicious dogs, and several pet dogs in the area around Jarrett Creek disappear, Police Chief Samuel Craddock suspects that a dog fighting ring is operating in his territory. He has to tread carefully in his investigation, since lawmen who meddle in dog fighting put their lives at risk. The investigation is hampered because Wilkins is not a local.

Craddock’s focus on the investigation is thrown off by the appearance of a new woman in his life, as well as his accidental acquisition of a puppy.

Digging deeper, Craddock discovers that the public face Wilkins presented was at odds with his private actions. A terrible mistake led to his disgrace as a physician, and far from being a stranger, he has ongoing acquaintances with a number of county residents who play fast and loose with the law.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Paperback

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Hostess With the Ghostess: A Haunted Guesthouse Mystery by [E. J. Copperman]Things are never quiet for long at the Haunted Guesthouse. Right as Alison Kerby finally gets some peace, long-time deceased Paul Harrison’s recently murdered brother, Richard, shows up looking for the ghostly detective. But Paul has left for parts unknown months ago. The only thing is, she doesn’t know how to find him. And she’s going to need to because Richard’s isn’t the only murder still left unsolved.

As she searches for Paul, Alison discovers that Richard, who was a lawyer, was working a case about a woman accused of murdering her stepfather. It quickly becomes clear that Richard was getting too close to the truth, and was forcibly kept quiet. Now as Alison continues her investigation, she gets a creeping sensation that the murderer doesn’t appreciate her snooping around. And if she doesn’t stop, she’ll be next in The Hostess with the Ghostess, the witty and delightful follow-up to national bestselling author E. J. Copperman’s Spouse on Haunted Hill.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Hardcover

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “New Releases For The Week Of January 7th, 2018–Part 2

  1. I was just reading in another cozy group that most readers (not me) were saying that the cover has a lot to do in whether or not they buy a book. I choose more based on the blurb. But if I did choose by the cover, I would choose A BIG DILL and FOR BETTER OR WORSE from the above books. For their blurbs, the first three books sound the most interesting to me.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s