Review of Southern Ghost Hunter Series:5th Anniversary Special Edition

Southern Ghost Hunter Series:5th Anniversary Special Edition
Storied 1-3
Angie Fox
5 Stars

Southern Ghost Hunter Series: 5th Anniversary Special Edition: Stories 1-3 by [Fox, Angie]Synopsis:

New York Times bestseller Angie Fox celebrates 5 years of the Southern Ghost Hunter series with a limited edition boxed set of the first three stories in the series, along with never-before-seen additional content, including deleted scenes, original art, an inside look at the characters, and a behind-the-scenes peek at how the series came together.

Southern Spirits
When out of work graphic designer Verity Long accidentally traps a ghost on her property, she’s saddled with more than a supernatural sidekick—she gains the ability see spirits. It leads to an offer she can’t refuse from the town’s bad boy, the brother of her ex and the last man she should ever partner with.

A Ghostly Gift
Verity Long doesn’t want to see ghosts, and she’d rather not let anyone know her little secret, either. But when a restless spirit stirs up trouble in her friend’s resale shop, Verity and her very new, very dead gangster friend team up to learn what is really happening.

The Skeleton in the Closet
A haunted library is no place for a girl who can see ghosts, but when Verity Long stumbles on a dead body in the middle of the main reading room, she has to believe someone…even a dead someone…must have witnessed the crime.

*This edition contains never-before-seen material and will be available for a limited time. (Goodreads)


I have read this series from the very first book, and it is one of my favorite series. I love the characters,the setting and the mystery.

The characters are well rounded, well developed and three dimensional. Verity is one strong woman, she has to be to be able to deal with all of the things going on in her life. Frankie is one stubborn, gruff ghost but you can tell that he has a soft spot for Verity, but he would never admit it. And Lucy, the skunk, is one of my all time favorite cozy animals.

The writing style flows smoothly and the stories are an easy read. The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and these descriptions pulled me into the book right away. She is also very talented in creating suspense and tension with the written word.

This anniversary edition contains the first 2 books and a novella in the series. It also includes deleted scenes, which I found very interesting and had me wondering why they were deleted. There is also a little insight into a few of the characters, which I enjoyed. There were examples of illustrations of the book cover for first book and it was like I was getting a look at the process first hand, which was great.

I would highly recommend this series to anyone who enjoys a well written cozy series. This anniversary edition has enough special treats to make it worth your buying.

I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book and provided my honest review.