Spotlight On A Dead Man’s Eyes

Lisa Jamison has done well for a single mom who got pregnant at fifteen.

She is a reporter at a well-respected newspaper and her teenage daughter is both an athlete and honors student. Though their relationship is rocky these days, Lisa has accomplished what she set out to do. She has given her daughter the kind of life she never had.

But all that changes when Lisa sees her daughter in the eyes of a dead man.

The cops call it a drug killing, but Lisa doesn’t believe it. She knows her ex-boyfriend was no drug dealer even though she had not seen him in sixteen years. Lisa ignores warnings from her medical-examiner friend. She fails to heed barely veiled threats from the sheriff of a neighboring county. Instead, she risks her life and the lives of her daughter and their closest friend on a dangerous quest for answers.

The investigation leaves Lisa fighting for her family in a morbid, black market world she never knew existed. She learns that trust is complicated and that she, despite her cynical nature, has been blind. She trusted the wrong people and now she might have to pay with her life. (Amazon)

About The Author:

Lori Duffy Foster is a former crime reporter who writes from the hills of Northern Pennsylvania, where she lives with her husband and four children. She was born and raised in the Adirondack Mountains of New York State, where a part of her heart remains. Her short fiction has appeared in the journal Aethlon, and in the anthologies Short Story America and Childhood Regained. Her nonfiction has appeared in Healthy Living, Running Times, Literary Mama, Crimespree and Mountain Home magazines. A Dead Man’s Eyes, the first in the Lisa Jamison mystery/suspense series, is her debut novel. Look for book two in the series, Never Broken, in April of 2022. She is also author of Raising Identical Twins: The Unique Challenges and Joys of the Early Years. Lori is a member of Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, The Historical Novel Society, International Thriller Writers and Pennwriters She also sits on the board of the Knoxville (PA) Public Library. (Goodreads)

Editorial Reviews

Review

“… thoroughly gripped me from beginning to end, and what an action-packed, emotionally charged ending it is. The characters are all so deftly developed, building on their background information that seamlessly segues into who they are today. There is a depth to the characters that is exceptional in a debut novel. …”  – Kathy Reel, reviewer, The Reading Room

“… Fans of Kathy Reichs, Janet Evanovich, and Lisa Scottoline will enjoy this new mystery series.” – Patricia Uttaro, reviewer, It’s All About The Book

“It’s an incredible book with so much intensity and suspense. A gripping story that keeps your interest from the very first page till the last one. … This book is sheer perfection.”  – Nanasbookreviews

“Only a skilled and experienced reporter could craft such an authentically gripping story. Duffy Foster is the real deal-emotional depth and honest story-telling make this a terrific debut!” -Hank Phillippi Ryan/ USA Today Bestselling Author of The First to Lie

“A fine debut, packed with action and intrigue. We see in A Dead Man’s Eyes what it truly means to be family, and sometimes what it takes to protect the ones we love. Lori Duffy Foster has given crime fiction a wonderful new protagonist: a journalist with the curiosity and heart to get her into trouble, the smarts and bravery to get her out of it, and the humanity for us to care deeply that she succeeds. Duffy Foster skillfully kicks off with a grim puzzle, then hurls us into a deadly game of cat-and-mouse, keeping the tension high, and the stakes higher. We can only hope this will be the first of many adventures with protagonist Lisa Jamison.” -Mark Pryor, author of the Hugo Marston series