Review of The Diva Says Cheesecake

The Diva Says Cheesecake

A Domestic Diva, Book #15

Krista Davis

5 Stars

Synopsis: 

 “Reminiscent of Joanne Fluke’s Hannah Swensen cozies, which also include baking and a group of close friends working together to solve crimes.” – Booklist

A delightful new story from a New York Times bestselling author perfect for fans of Joanne Fluke’s Hannah Swensen Mystery series! In this page-turning new book, entertaining guru Sophie Winston is faced with a midsummer nightmare when a celebration in Old Town Alexandria, Virginia, is the appetizer for murder…

Old Town’s midsummer festivities are getting a tasty addition this year. To coincide with a public performance of Shakespeare’s “A Midsummer Night’s Dream,” Bobbie Sue Bodoin, the Queen of Cheesecake, has hired Sophie to organize a dinner with a dessert buffet on the waterfront. Bobbie Sue’s homegrown company is thriving, and since her baking dish overfloweth, she wants to reward her employees.

Bobbie Sue has only one menu demand: no cheesecake! But her specialty isn’t the only thing missing from the evening—Tate, Bobbie Sue’s husband, is too, much to her annoyance. Next morning, however, Tate’s dead body is discovered. Bobbie Sue insists she didn’t kick her spouse to the curb, and begs for Sophie’s help finding the real killer. Digging in, Sophie discovers an assortment of Old Town locals who all had reason to want a piece of Tate. Can she gather together the crumbs the killer left behind in time to prevent a second helping of murder?

Includes delectable recipes and fabulous DIY decorating tips!  (Amazon)

Review:

The characters are well rounded and well developed.  Sophie Winston is a great character and she has a lot of good qualities.  He works hard and she would do anything for her friends.  When one of her friend’s husband is killed, the friend asks her to look into it.

And when another friend is accused of committing the murder, she knows that she has to find the real killer.

The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and these descriptions pulled me into the story from the very beginning. I felt like I was right there watching all the action taking place and listening in on the character’s conversations.  The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read.  The mystery was well plotted and not easily solved.  There were enough clues to sift through and suspects to consider and I was not sure who the killer was until it was revealed at the end. 

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.  And for added enjoyment, there are a lot of tips from the Diva and lots of recipes.

I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book provided by the publisher, Kensington Books, and NetGalley, which I greatly appreciate.