New Releases For The Week Of June 12th, 2022–Part 1

When the unmentionable stalks the pueblo

It starts when the inheritance that Lavina Gaines was to receive is stolen by her brother Timothy. Then an old Indian healing woman is murdered. Winemaker and physician Maddie Wilcox wants to find the person responsible for Mama Jane’s death, but is also occupied with another killer – the measles.

When Lavina’s friend Julia Carson dies trying to rid herself of a pregnancy, Lavina asks Maddie’s help finding the man responsible for Julia’s child. Soon after, Lavina is killed and her murder bears an uncanny resemblance to that of Mama Jane’s. The only motive Maddie can find involves Julia’s death, which is not the sort of thing one talks about. Not only that, Lavina’s nether garments are missing.

It’s a difficult challenge, but Maddie rises to it, searching among the many men of the pueblo, including some of her dearest friends.

How does a proper lady in 1872 get the answers she needs to stop a killer determined to stop her first? (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback

**FROM AMAZON CHARTS BESTSELLING AUTHOR LYNDEE WALKER**

Missing teenagers and execution-style murders vie for crime reporter Nichelle Clarke’s attention as she chases the stories into a web of intrigue and danger, determined to discover the truth at any cost.

Nichelle Clarke owes her boss a big headline. She gets her lucky break when a member of a notorious hate group is found with a bullet in his head, his body dumped in the woods. But then a boy from a local LGBTQ support group goes missing, and Nichelle can’t turn away from an old friend’s plea for help finding him.

Police across the state are reluctant to expend dwindling resources on runaways and murdered bigots, leaving Nichelle to take the investigations into her own hands. The number of missing teenagers climbs. Meanwhile, more dead bodies point to a ruthless serial killer with prejudice in his sights. As clues and dead ends pile up in nearly equal numbers and other reporters pick up the trail, the situation quickly spirals out of Nichelle’s control.

The killer is a master at covering their tracks, and they won’t stop until they’ve passed deadly judgment on every last bigot in the state.

Nichelle will fight her way through communities swallowed by fear to save lives…unless she loses her own in the process.

A murder mystery series taut with gripping, authentic plots that only a former crime reporter could write. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Hardcover, Paperback

Death is a funny thing. It usually happens when and to whom you least expect it. Clyde McCoy had a lot of good years left in him—had being the operative word.

Allie and Lucy discover an abandoned dog on the beach, but they know who she belongs to and that her owner would never abandon her. That coupled with footprints going out into the ocean makes them suspicious. It’s obvious to them that because Clyde would never abandon his dog foul play is afoot. Can Allie and Lucy figure out what happened to Clyde?

If you enjoy small-town mysteries, be sure to check out the entire Freshly Baked Cozy Mystery series. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

Stranded in the corn, a murderer is on their trail…

Rita Knight expected to spend the last of her summer on a cheery and peaceful vacation with her lover Billy – but one wrong turn leaves them hopelessly lost amid an endless expanse of cornfields, deep in America’s heartland.

The corn is hiding a terrible secret. After a gruesome murder strikes the little town of Cornville, Rita and Billy are plunged into a deadly investigation to uncover the town’s tragic history and find the killer lurking in the corn. Rumors say that Cornville is cursed – and as they dig deeper, Rita can’t help but feel the walls of corn are closing in on them.

Stumbling onto a horrible scheme of revenge and without her sister at her side, Rita and Billy must make a daring move and challenge the elusive murderer on his own turf. But once they step into the corn, they might not come out again…

Can Rita and Billy unravel the Curse of Cornville and emerge unscathed? Or will they become the town’s next victims?

Bursting with larger-than-life characters and a lively cozy mystery that will keep readers on their toes, Sweet Corn Conclusion is a fun and hectic who-dun-it that’s perfect for anybody who loves to curl up in their favorite chair with a cup of coffee and enjoy a good cozy mystery. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback

The New York Times bestelling author of the Tourist Trap mysteries launches a new series perfect for fans of The Thursday Murder Club. New-age Sedona, Arizona seemed like the perfect place to open up a bookstore devoted to healing. But when a member of a local cancer survivor support book club goes missing, will this group’s sleuthing skills be enough to find her?

Two things got Rarity Cole through her breast cancer treatments: friends and books. Now cancer-free, Rarity is devoting her life to helping others find their way through the maze to healing. She’s opened a bookstore focusing on the power of healing—Eastern medicine, Western medicine, the healing power of food, the power of meditation, and the importance of developing a support community. To that end, she’s also started the Tuesday Night Survivors book club. With its openness to new-age communities, Sedona, Arizona, is the perfect fit for Rarity’s bookstore and the tightly knit group.
 
But their therapeutic unity is disrupted when one of their members suddenly goes missing. Martha has always kept to herself, never opening up much of her personal life to the group. Now she’s nowhere to be found. With her car abandoned on a trail and her dog left with a friend, Rarity is sure something terrible had happened—but will she be able to uncover Martha’s secrets before it’s too late? (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback, Audoibook

Carolyn Haines’s Lady of Bones is the next novel in the series that Kirkus Reviews characterizes as “Stephanie Plum meets the Ya-Ya Sisterhood” featuring sassy Southern private investigator Sarah Booth Delaney.

It’s Halloween season in Mississippi as Sarah Booth and the gang gather to decorate and gush over Tinkie’s new baby, Maylin. Sarah Booth is just about to refresh the cocktails when she hears a knock on the door and opens it to find a woman named Frankie, distraught at the disappearance of her daughter Christa, a young journalist. Christa had been investigating the disappearance of young women in New Orleans over a five-year period—one every year around Halloween. Now Christa herself is missing, and Frankie fears it may be connected to a cult based in the Garden District, called People of Eternity.

People of Eternity are known to have far-reaching connections which Frankie worries may reach as high as law enforcement. Refusing to contact the authorities, she turns to Delaney Detective Agency as her only hope.

Despite initial reservations, Sarah Booth accepts the case, which takes her on a journey to a secret underworld of beguiling cult leaders, witchcraft, and potentially human sacrifice. She’ll have to keep her wits about her if she wants to crack this case…and make it home alive. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Hardcover, Audiobook

Take a trip to Compass Cove, an enchanted town full of magic and mayhem…

Zora Wick’s magic lessons can sometimes be more dangerous than the murderers she captures, and as she learns more about magic’s dark history, she starts to find missing puzzle pieces from her own mysterious past.

Where did her mother vanish to all those years ago? Why does it feel like she’s closer than ever before? Who is the strange and enigmatic wizard behind the Sisters of the Shade, the dark coalition of witches intent on recruiting Zora?

Compass Cove brews up more trouble as well when another body turns up, and with a murderer on the loose Zora has no choice but to spring into action again and solve the mystery. The only problem is that the police are already convinced they’ve caught the killer, a close friend of Zora’s who would never hurt a fly.

That would be enough, but with one of her guardians away dealing with pack politics, Zora is left with his strange and unusual replacement, Niles. She might be slightly less paranoid if someone wasn’t messing with the magical boundaries keeping dark witches out of the town—there seems to be a traitor among Zora’s ranks, but can she figure it out and survive before the enemy takes everything from her?

Zora’s yet to fail, but with enemies lurking in every corner this might just be the end. Will she live long enough to unearth the shocking secret from her past? (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

April May needs a new hobby—something other than finding dead bodies!

There’s more to life than running a tearoom and baking tasty treats. As the weather cools and fewer tourists visit, April decides to explore a new hobby. At a painting class, she’s befriended by a group of women, and she’s enjoying having a social life.

When she sees what looks like a body fall from a plane into the ocean, no one believes her until a body washes up on shore. Turns out, he happens to be the husband of one of her new friends.

April will need to cook up some new theories before the killer strikes again. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle