New Releases For The Week Of June 19th, 2022–Part 1

Anna St. James is having a great summer. Her newest tenant is working out fine, the weather on Frostfall Island is fabulous and the tourists have returned. (Although Anna wishes there were a few less of them.)

The island is hosting a massive romance reader event complete with big name authors, cover models, enthusiastic readers and best of all ice cream sundaes. Anna’s sister, Cora, and their eccentric housemate, Opal, are anxious to attend so they can meet their favorite authors. Anna decides to tag along to see what all the excitement is about. And excitement is definitely not lacking. When one of the most popular authors winds up dead, it is up to Anna to find out which of her many enemies was pushed far enough to commit murder.

Book 2 of the Frostfall Island Cozy Mystery series

More in the series:
1. Murder at North Pond
2. Death by Rocky Road
3. Ice Cold Killer
(Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback, Audiobook

The Grits are About to Hit the Fan.

The Golden Girls meets Married to the Mob in this madcap mystery series packing Mafioso-style mayhem and a generous dollop of Southern-style sarcasm. A laugh-out-loud treat sure to satisfy fans of cozy mysteries and women’s fiction alike.

When wannabe actress Doreen Diller takes a job with her celebrity crush, his new acting gig takes them on location to St. Petersburg, Florida. What awaits Doreen in the Sunshine State will seal her fate — in the form of a role she didn’t see coming and a family she didn’t bargain for.

She took a stab at stardom. It stabbed back.

Doreen Diller wants to be a movie star. But after 15 years of failed auditions she’s yet to garner a single callback from a Hollywood producer. Determined to hit the big time before she turns 40, she pins her hopes on a job as the personal assistant to soap-opera heartthrob Tad Longmire.

He could be the answer to her dreams—or the beginning of her nightmares.

While filming a new TV series starring Tad, a stabbing death rocks the set. Unfortunately for Doreen, the role of murder suspect is finally one she appears ideally suited to play.

With a homicide rap threatening to curtain both her and her acting career, Doreen is forced to seek help from an oddball assortment of friends and family she’s only just met. As she scrambles to clear her name, it’s not long before she discovers that when it comes to showbiz, everybody’s working their own angle—and the only type of restraint her new-found family practices usually involves zip-ties.

Fans of the Val Fremden Midlife Mystery Series will fall in love with Doreen Diller! Perfect for fans of Elle Cosimano, Janet Evanovich, Julie Mulhern, Gretchen Archer, Jana DeLeon, Jasmine Webb, Tricia O’Malley, Gina Lamanna, Leslie Langtry and Deborah Brown. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Hardcover, Paperback, Audiobook

When my shifter boyfriend promised a surprise, I wasn’t expecting it to be a corpse.

A dead witch? Bad.

On vampire land? Worse.

And that vampire happens to be my ex? You’re kidding me, right?

The call to investigate ruins a perfectly good date night, sending me and my werewolf boyfriend from a romantic interlude to a crime scene. Someone strangled a young witch and it falls to us to identify the culprit.

While few investigations are simple, this one comes with a hefty side of politics and the presence of my ex. Between Baba Yaga holding my feet to the fire, and my ex trying to fan new flames of passion, I’m desperate for a way out.

But a dead witch on vampire land threatens a delicate truce between the sides. With the clock ticking, we’ve got one chance to solve the case. The cost of failure: all out war.

It’s time to sharpen my fangs and stir my cauldron. I’m not about to let anyone get away with murder. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

Robin’s beginning to think that everything has settled down in Spellford Cove after Antonio’s death, and that she can finally start living a normal life.

But little does she know, things aren’t going to be nearly that easy. People in town are disappearing, and Robin thinks there might be something magical at work. And why does she have a bad feeling about the new woman who’s arrived in town? (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

Malibu Creek State Park is a beautiful locale for campers, tourists, hikers, and Hollywood. For Detective Eve Ronin, it’s a backdrop for murder in a riveting thriller by #1 New York Times bestselling author Lee Goldberg.

For decades Malibu Creek State Park was the spectacular natural setting where Hollywood fantasies were made. But when a female camper is gunned down, it becomes a real-life killing ground. Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department homicide detectives Eve Ronin and Duncan Pavone are assigned the case…which Duncan fears is the latest in a series of sniper attacks that began long before Eve came to Lost Hills.

Seven victims over fourteen months…and top officials still refuse to see a connection. Eve and Duncan are stonewalled, threatened, and ordered to keep quiet. But Eve won’t back down. She’s no stranger to intimidation or corruption—she’s had a target on her back from day one at Lost Hills station.

Despite finding no evidentiary links between the shootings, Eve and Duncan follow their instincts into the shadows of Malibu Creek, where it’s not enough to expose the secrets and break the conspiracy of silence. They also have to make it out alive. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Hardcover, Paperback, Audiobook

One of Singapore’s finest living authors’ South China Morning Post

‘Simply glorious. Every nook and cranny of 1930s Singapore is brought richly to life’ CATRIONA MCPHERSON

‘Charming’ RHYS BOWEN

‘One of the most likeable heroines in modern literature’ SCOTSMAN
________________

The Allies have defeated Germany in Europe, but Japan refuses to surrender the East.

In Singapore, amid rumours the Japanese occupiers are preparing to wipe out the population of the island rather than surrender, a young aide is found murdered beneath the termite mushroom tree in Hideki Tagawa’s garden and his plans for a massive poison gas bomb are missing. To prevent any more destruction it falls to Su Lin to track down the real killer with the help of Hideki Tagawa’s old nemesis, the charismatic shinto priest Yoshio Yoshimo.

________________

Praise for Ovidia Yu:

‘Chen Su Lin is a true gem. Her slyly witty voice and her admirable, sometimes heartbreaking, practicality make her the most beguiling narrator heroine I’ve met in a long while Catriona McPherson

Charming and fascinating with great authentic feel. Ovidia Yu’s teenage Chinese sleuth gives us an insight into a very different culture and time. This book is exactly why I love historical novels‘ Rhys Bowen

‘A wonderful detective novel . . . a book that introduces one of the most likeable heroines in modern literature and should be on everyone’s Must Read list’ Scotsman

‘Unassuming, brilliantly observant’ SCMP

‘Ovidia Yu’s writing helped me peel back the layers to understand Singapore. The story and Chen Su Lin’s initiative and tenacity, set against a backdrop of wartime Singapore, intrigued both the historian and the mystery lover in me’ Kara Owens CMG CVO, British High Commissioner to Singapore (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback

Something strange is in the air…

For the past few month, Mally Jourdain–wait, it’s Princess Mally Dubois now–feels as if things are going pretty well in her witchy world. She has managed to save the day for the rougarou pack that she now lives among. Some of them even seem to like her. Well, a little anyway. She’s made some new bayou friends, including a fairy and a real Bayou Witch. And it appears her arranged marriage to the rougarou prince is getting interesting. Very, very interesting…

But a shadow from the past is lurking. She can feel it. Her witching abilities are still dicey, and she needs to get them working—and fast. So, when she encounters another Bayou Witch, who offers to help her with her magic, Mally can’t resist.

Unfortunately, not all is as it seems, and she finds herself in a big, ole, magical mess. Can she sort out her shoddy magic and save herself and her family? Again.  (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

A mysterious note. A string of unrelated deaths. A legendary monster.
Is there a serial killer at work in the tiny town of Port Logan?
Rosie Ryan is sceptical when she receives the anonymous note about a recent death in the nearby town of Port Logan:
So strange, all these deaths in Port Logan. And now, Stewart Bard.
It doesn’t make sense. Stewart Bard was killed by a falling rock while walking along the coast. But when Rosie and her librarian friend Kim Chen investigate, they discover that Port Logan has had more than its string of strange deaths.
Could there be a serial killer in the area? Or are the deaths unrelated accidents? Or—strangest of all—are all these deaths the work of the mythical sea monster that supposedly stalks the tiny town at night… (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s