New Releases For The Week Of June 26th, 2022–Part 3

When Bernie and Libby Simmons, sisters and co-owners of A Little Taste of Heaven, are hired to cater a posh pooch party, they wind up stepping into a fresh murder investigation!

At A Little Taste of Heaven, Bernie and Libby Simmons cater all sorts of affairs, from book clubs to bridal showers and everything in between. So when their counterman, Googie, asks them to cater a doggie wedding for his girlfriend Jenni’s eight-month-old golden retrievers, they jump on the opportunity. The reception, which will also serve as a grand opening for Jennie’s new doggie daycare center, is no small affair. Bertha and Ernie—the bride and groom—will be celebrating with more than a hundred guests, including the puppers’ pals and their people.
 
But all weddings, even shaggy shindigs, come with some drama. Not everyone in town is excited about the upcoming pup-tuials—or Jenni’s business. Someone is sending threatening messages to Bernie, Libby, and others in town, warning them to cancel the festivities. But when folks start dying under curious circumstances, Bernie and Libby know it’s up to them to untangle the leads and find the murderer before anyone else bites it.
 
Includes Original Recipes for You to Try! (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Hardcover

Authentic social history at the birth of the NHS, an intriguing murder, a strong and convincing central character, and McPherson’s wonderful story-telling skills make this a very classy mystery’ ANN CLEEVES

Helen leaned close enough to fog the mirror with her breath and whispered, ‘You, my girl, are a qualified medical almoner and at eight o’clock tomorrow morning you will be on the front line of the National Health Service of Scotland.’ Her eyes looked huge and scared. ‘So take a shake to yourself!”

Edinburgh, 1948.
 Helen Crowther leaves a crowded tenement home for her very own office in a doctor’s surgery. Upstartungratefulout of your depth – the words of disapproval come at her from everywhere but she’s determined to take her chance and play her part.

She’s barely begun when she stumbles over a murder and learns that, in this most respectable of cities, no one will fight for justice at the risk of scandal. As Helen resolves to find a killer, she’s propelled into a darker world than she knew existed, hardscrabble as her own can be. Disapproval is the least of her worries now.

IN PLACE OF FEAR
 is a gripping new historical crime novel that is both enthralling and entertaining, and perfect for fans of AJ Pearce and Nicola Upson.

Readers love IN PLACE OF FEAR:
‘What a wonderful book this is!’
‘I loved [it] … Helen is another cracker of a heroine from McPherson and I hope to read much more of her story in future’
‘Historical crime from a talented pen. Intriguing and compelling in equal measure’
‘An excellent read’  (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Hardcover

Pandemic lockdowns have Ruth Galloway feeling isolated from everyone but a new neighbor—until Nelson comes calling, investigating a decades-long string of murder-suicides that’s looming ever closer.

Three years after her mother’s death, Ruth is finally sorting through her things when she finds a curious relic: a decades-old photograph of her own Norfolk cottage—before she lived there—with a peculiar inscription on the back. Ruth returns to the cot­tage to uncover its meaning as Norfolk’s first cases of Covid-19 make headlines, leaving her and Kate to shelter in place there. They struggle to stave off isolation by clapping for frontline workers each evening and befriending a kind neighbor, Zoe, from a distance.

Meanwhile, Nelson is investigating a series of deaths of women that may or may not be suicide. When he links a case to an archaeological dis­covery, he breaks curfew to visit Ruth and enlist her help. But the further Nelson investigates the deaths, the closer he gets to Ruth’s isolated cot­tage—until Ruth, Zoe, and Kate all go missing, and Nelson is left scrambling to find them before it’s too late. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Hardcover, Paperback, Audiobook

When Sarah Blair’s mother participates in a reality show competition for brides in Wheaton, Alabama, things get a little too real as a murderer crashes the wedding party . . .

Sometimes Sarah’s mother, Maybelle, can be higher maintenance than her Siamese cat RahRah. Maybelle and her friend, Mr. George Rogers, have been chosen to be one of five couples competing for a small-town “perfect” wedding and dream honeymoon on a Southern Belles reality show—and guess who has to be chaperone. Even more vexing, the producers have decided to put up the crew and participants at the restaurant/bed and breakfast owned by Sarah’s nemesis Jane Clark.
 
But when someone turns up dead with Jane kneeling by the body with blood on her hands, she goes from being Sarah’s chief rival to the police’s chief suspect. Neither Sarah nor her twin, Chef Emily Johnson, can stand Jane—still, they don’t think she’s a murderer. The producers vow the show must go on, but to protect their mother and the other contestants, Sarah vows to find the true killer before someone else gets eliminated . . .
 
Includes quick and easy recipes!

“The Sarah Blair mysteries are such a perfect blend of wit, fun, intrigue, and mouth-watering food descriptions that cozy fans will be eager for another helping.”
—Ellery Adams, New York Times bestselling author (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback

Country life comes with beautiful scenery, adventure and murder…

Cassie Alberta loves her life in Little Leaf Creek. After her husband’s sudden death, she never thought she would live next door to two goats and an ornery neighbor, let alone develop a romance with a hunky local. She’s come to realize that life is full of unexpected surprises. But she’s still completely shocked when a fun day of kayaking ends in murder.

Cassie partners with her ex-cop next-door neighbor to help find the killer. With a little help from a collie mix, a budding actress and a love-sick artist they do a little sleuthing. With a torrent of suspects and clues, it is a race against time to find the murderer before the victim list gets even longer.

Can Cassie catch the true culprit before she, or someone close to her, becomes the next fatality?

Recipe included: Chocolate Brownies

Dead in Little Leaf Creek is the fast-paced fifteenth book in the Little Leaf Creek Cozy Mystery Series. If you like unexpected twists and turns, lively personalities, sweet treats, lovable animals and a never-ending list of suspicious characters, you’ll love this heartwarming whodunnit by USA Today and WSJ Bestselling Author Cindy Bell.

Buy Dead in Little Leaf Creek to start solving the murder today! (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback

Just as Patrick and Becky are about to celebrate their first wedding anniversary, something unthinkable happens. Can their magical love for each other survive this surprising new development?

That’s all I can tell you!

Join Becky and the gang in Asheville as they deal with the next family emergency and an overwhelmed Becky continues to help ghosts with their unfinished business. The author recommends that you read the series of books in order beginning with the first book, A Medium’s Birthday Surprise.

Fans of the TV series Ghost Whisperer, Medium, and The Dead Zone will enjoy this series.

The 12th book in this delightful cozy ghost mystery series is available for preorder now. If you love sweet clean mysteries with ghost stories, this is the series for you. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

a

A Valkyrie with Haphazard Magic

A Fallen Angel Seeking Redemption

An Unlikely Crime-Solving Duo

When Kara agreed to go to the Valentine’s Day parade with Zane, she didn’t think they’d end the night solving a crime–but that’s exactly what happened. When a local witch is found dead on the Ferris wheel, the two detectives spring into action. With the list of suspects piling high, Kara and Zane scramble to gather clues and solve the case. Between coming to grips with the fact her biological father may be an evil witch, figuring out what to do with her deepening feelings for Zane, honing her magical abilities, attending a Margarita Memorial, and discovering who wanted the body on Doc Treestone’s slab dead…Kara’s fighting for sanity. Good thing she has plenty of heart-shaped chocolates and peanut butter whiskey to keep her company. But just when the two detectives think they have everything figured out, a curveball they didn’t see coming takes them out at the knees. Can Kara figure out what’s really going on? Or will this Valentine’s Day be her last? (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback

A friend in trouble, a family secret, and unexpected revelation. Eira’s out to find the truth and save someone she loves.

Eira’s on the hunt for the truth about Fleur’s mother, so the last thing she needs is another murder on her hands. Even less so when her apprentice is accused of that murder.

The clock is counting down.

Can she save Fleur and find the truth before it’s too late?

Can she handle the truth if she does?

Join witch Eira Snow, her bubbly apprentice Fleur Evans, and a cast of quirky characters as they solve a new mystery in the quaint Welsh village of Caerleon.

Put Your Best Witch Forward is the fourth book in the Eira Snow series of paranormal cozy mysteries. If you like believable characters, fun mysteries with surprising clues, then you’ll love Victoria DeLuis’ delightful story.Grab ‘Put Your Best Witch Forward’ and cozy up with your new favourite witch today! (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s