New Releases For The Week Of July 10th, 2022–Part 2

Kitt Crowe’s second Sweet Fiction Bookshop mystery whips up an array of intriguing suspects and motives into a diabolically deft read, perfect for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Joanne Fluke.

It’s summer festival time in Confection, Oregon, and that means a barrage of tourists making cash registers ring at Sweet Fiction Bookshop. But what should be bookseller Lexi’s most lucrative time of year turns disturbing when a member of the chamber of commerce suddenly dies of a heart attack. Not entirely unexpected—considering her family history—but it’s a different story when another chamber member dies just one week later…also, presumably, of natural causes.
 
Something about this doesn’t read right to Lexi. And it gets more unfathomable when her friend Dash—who dated both women—stands accused of murder! With Cookie, her lovable border collie mix, at her side and countless volumes of inspiration on her shelves, Lexi opens the book on another perplexing case. Who could have murdered two prominent townspeople without leaving even a hint of evidence on the scene? And why is an irksome-but-intriguing detective always seeming to catch her and Cookie working the case?
 
Lexi’s Confection Rose-colored glasses come off when she learns of thorny discussions among the council members, involving a string of secretive real estate transactions. Enlisting her faithful fellow members of the Macaroon Book Club, Lexi sets out to bind the clues together and clear Dash’s name. But if she can’t devise a clever trap for the real killer, she may soon end up with a very unhappily ever after of her own. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Hardcover, Audiobook

Cat Latimer found her author career and her love of writing in a paranormal academy series so when the writers retreat gets a group of all paranormal authors, she’s over the moon. However, a local professor is causing waves since she doesn’t think the retreat or the authors it hosts is literary enough to be sponsored by Covington College anymore. And she’d taken her complaints to the Dean of the English department.

Cat knows she’ll have to fight for Covington’s sponsorship, but this week, she’s going to enjoy her retreat and the quirky guests. Shauna’s put together a coz-play part for the guests in conjunction with a local writers group that meets at the local bookstore. However, the night is cut short when they find the literary professor dressed up as a zombie in the barn. But the professor isn’t just playing dead. Can Cat solve the mystery before she’s framed in the investigation and Uncle Pete has to arrest her for the murder? (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback

Can Presley save the day for a charity Halloween ball that features her boutique’s merchandise, or will a murderer strike again before she can solve the crime?

Presley is excited to provide dresses for a charity Halloween ball that high-maintenance client Veronica Knapp is hosting. It’ll be great exposure for Silk. But when Veronica’s very expensive brooch is stolen from the safe at Silk, it brings on the kind of exposure Presley doesn’t want.

The brooch is found a couple of days later – on Veronica’s dead body and her husband is nowhere to be found. Is he the one who killed her?
But the show must go on and Presley is going to see that it does, dead body or not.

Previously published by Laina Turner. This new edition is reworked with new characters and even more cozy fun. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

Paige and her adventurous Aunt Glo inherit a country inn from eccentric GeeGee. They pack up and hit the road, arriving at the charming place they both loved since childhood. Finally! They can get into the secret room in the basement that GeeGee kept locked! They discover it’s a wonderful library filled to the brim with mystery books. But more than the room was a secret – it’s a magical place that houses enchanted books. Paige and Glo find themselves smack-dab in the middle of a murder mystery, along with a motley group of book club friends. The club will need to work together to solve the case in order to get out of the book and back to their home. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

Next time you rent a house, make sure you’re the only occupant.

If it wasn’t for a flamboyant, self-absorbed ghost occupying Katie Aubrey’s rental house, the thirtysomething former business tech turned charcuterie chef would be able to concentrate on her new sandwich shop and catering business. But as luck would have it, former food critic and septuagenarian Edith Ellory will not let go. Not until she convinces Katie to find out who killed her.

In spite of a coroner’s report stating Edith had died peacefully in her sleep, her apparition insists she was murdered. Not only that but she’s convinced she knows who did the dastardly deed. Vowing not to give Katie, or her laidback beagle a moment’s peace, Edith takes them on a wild goose chase through all the restaurants that received scalding reviews from her.

If Katie ever expects to have her new charcuterie business up and running, she’ll have to do more than arrange cured meats and cheeses. The real killer is closer than she thinks and no amount of culinary design sense will prevent her from the same fate as Edith’s. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

Captain Jim Agnihotri and his new bride, Diana Framji, return in Nev March’s Peril at the Exposition, the follow up to March’s award-winning, Edgar finalist debut, Murder in Old Bombay.

1893: Newlyweds Captain Jim Agnihotri and Diana Framji are settling into their new home in Boston, Massachusetts, having fled the strict social rules of British Bombay. It’s a different life than what they left behind, but theirs is no ordinary marriage: Jim, now a detective at the Dupree Agency, is teaching Diana the art of deduction he’s learned from his idol, Sherlock Holmes.

Everyone is talking about the preparations for the World’s Fair in Chicago: the grandeur, the speculation, the trickery. Captain Jim will experience it first-hand: he’s being sent to Chicago to investigate the murder of a man named Thomas Grewe. As Jim probes the underbelly of Chicago’s docks, warehouses, and taverns, he discovers deep social unrest and some deadly ambitions.

When Jim goes missing, young Diana must venture to Chicago’s treacherous streets to learn what happened. But who can she trust, when a single misstep could mean disaster?

Award-winning author Nev March mesmerized readers with her Edgar finalist debut, Murder in Old Bombay. Now, in Peril at the Exposition, she wields her craft against the glittering landscape of the Gilded Age with spectacular results. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Hardcover, Audiobook

From USA Today bestselling author Leslie Langtry comes Merry Wrath’s most wild case yet!

Ex-CIA agent turned scout leader, Merry Wrath, faces her greatest challenge yet when her cranky new neighbor is convinced Merry’s cat is melting her mind from across the street. But when Merry tries to extend an olive branch in the form of Girl Scout cookies, she finds the neighbor murdered! Worse yet, the security footage puts her not-too-bright nemesis, Kevin Dooley, at the scene of the crime.

Murder wears a tin foil hat…

In spite of the fact that Kevin has been a problem since elementary school, Merry doesn’t want him to go to prison. But before she can begin to investigate, a large group of conspiracy theorists arrive and set up camp outside of town. Between the Hitler Faked the Moon Landing folks, cryptic cryptozoologists, and the Lizard People, Merry isn’t sure what to believe. And when it turns out the victim was also into conspiracy theories and was investigating a local thirty-year old child abduction, the case veers wildly off the rails.

The truth is out there…somewhere…maybe?

Who’s There, Iowa is turned upside down with a panicked aluminum foil shortage, a slew of Big Foot sightings, a goat named Olaf, a troop of little girls with questionable motives who are capitalizing on the chaos, and a whole lot of hamsters (like, a LOT of hamsters). Merry has to move fast to unravel this tangled web of lies to find the truth before the truth itself becomes another victim.


What critics are saying about Leslie Langtry’s books:

“I laughed so hard I cried on multiple occasions! Girl Scouts, the CIA, and the Yakuza… what could possibly go wrong?”
Fresh Fiction

“Darkly funny and wildly over the top, this mystery answers the burning question, ‘Do assassin skills and Girl Scout merit badges mix…?'”
RT BOOKreviews

“Mixing a deadly sense of humor and plenty of sexy sizzle, Leslie Langtry creates a brilliantly original, laughter-rich mix of contemporary romance and suspense.”
Chicago Tribune

“Langtry gets the fun started from page one.”
Publisher’s Weekly (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

From USA Today Bestselling Author, P.D. Workman!
It all starts with a body.
Erin thought she’d seen and heard it all. In Bald Eagle Falls, everyone seemed not only to know everyone else’s business, but to discuss it at length. Yet she had always assumed that her neighbor Mrs. Peach, who had no man in her life, was widowed.
Mr. Peach’s unexpected reappearance, a prison breaking, and a body in the woods combine to form the toughest case yet for the gluten-free baker to solve!
⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ The author has the ability to pull you into her story and keep you firmly rooted there until the end. Her characters are interest and have depth. She isn’t afraid to explore the areas of our society that many would rather sweep under the rug.
Like baking mysteries? Cats, dogs, and other pets? Award-winning and USA Today Bestselling Author P.D. Workman brings readers back to small town Bald Eagle Falls for another culinary cozy mystery to be solved by gluten-free baker Erin Price and her friends.
Have your gluten-free cake and eat it too. Sink your teeth into this sweet treat now! (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Hardcover, Paperback

What do you do when all your troubles seem like they’ve unpacked their bags and have no intention of ever leaving? You pour a nice tall glass of sweet tea and relax out on the beach. Troubles can take care of themselves.

Allie may not know what she wants to do with her life since she lost her job, but she does have her priorities in order. Sweet tea on the beach fixes nearly everything. Well, everything except a new murder case.

Alec has gone back to his old job as a police detective and the next case tossed in his lap will keep him busy and off the beach. But that doesn’t mean Allie and her best friend Lucy won’t take time out from sweet tea and beach time to search for the killer on their own.

Welcome to Sandy Harbor, Maine, where small towns and murder go together. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s