New Releases For The Week Of August 14th, 2022–Part 1

When a thirty-one-year-old school custodian
Has a romantic relationship with a high school senior,
It may be legal, but people think it’s sleazy and wrong.
Wrong enough that someone killed him because of it?

Attending Holly’s high school graduation is a bittersweet day for Brigid. She’s proud of her daughter, but she knows how much she’s going to miss Holly, wherever life’s journey takes her.

What Brigid doesn’t factor into this special day is having to help Sheriff Davis solve the murder of the high school custodian. Although there are plenty of suspects, Brigid and the sheriff soon learn that all of them are lying, which makes solving the case ever so much more difficult.

Sometimes life is about adjusting to situations over which one has no control. This is what faces Brigid when she’s thrown a curve in both the man’s death and her daughter’s future.

This is the 20th book in the Cottonwood Springs Cozy Mystery Series by a USA Today Bestselling Author. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback

Cassie Gwynne—cat lover, bookworm and daring detective—takes on her most challenging case yet…

Florida, 1884. It’s a new year and Cassie Gwynne is determined to be done with the unseemly business of murder. She’s made her resolution and she’s going to stick to it. Unfortunately, fate has other plans… The very next day, she happens upon the body of a newcomer to town—customs collector Chester Pence—floating beneath the boardwalk.

Never one to shy away from a puzzle, Cassie can’t resist getting involved in the investigation. It’s no secret that Chester made a number of enemies in his short time in Fernandina: confiscating a beleaguered bride’s wedding dress and a bossy businessman’s cigars among many other mean acts. It’s even rumored a well-to-do lady with a pampered dog has been leaving him nasty little parcels on his doorstep, but would she stoop as low as murder?

But Cassie’s only just gotten started on her suspect list when a witness comes forward and accuses one of Cassie’s close friends, Mr. Hu, of the crime. Much to her surprise, he confesses. She is convinced he is innocent. Is Mr. Hu protecting someone?

Cassie continues to investigate, but when she returns home one day to find her aunt’s beautiful house completely ransacked, she knows it’s a warning. Can Cassie uncover the truth, or will the killer ensure this is her final case?

A warm and witty Gilded Age cozy mystery with a heroine you’ll be obsessed with! Fans of Deanna Raybourn, Verity Bright and T.E. Kinsey won’t be able to put this down.

Readers love the Cassie Gwynne mystery series!
Absolutely loved this book!! I was up all night reading and couldn’t put the book down! I highly recommend!!’NetGalley reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

A thoroughly delightful read!… It was just fun to read… It made me smile, and made me want to read the next one RIGHT NOW. If you’re looking for a cozy mystery to take along on vacation or to curl up with on a Saturday afternoon, I highly recommend this.’ The Plain-Spoken Pen,⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Gripping and fast paced… The best… Made me smile… Full of twists!’ Scrapping and Playing

Loved this totally charming cozy mystery full of murder, intrigue, and a cast of characters I adored. Many twists and turns!’ NetGalley reviewer (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback

Sleazy strip club owner, Chaz Wellington Smith, III is at it again with an all-male revue called the Cheeky Monkey, catering to girls’ nights out and bachelorette parties. Recently, his new venture has been plagued with annoying pranks that have turned costly, and of course, private eye Delanie Fitzgerald is the one he calls to find out who is center stage for all the mayhem.
In this fast-paced mystery, Delanie and her computer savvy partner, Duncan Reynolds, are hired to uncover the culprit who ordered five hundred mattresses for Chaz’s new club, the origin of a creepy, child-sized cowboy doll, and the instigator of rowdy mob protesting false claims of human trafficking. And if Chaz’s problems aren’t enough, Delanie has two attractive men vying for her attention and distracting her from signs of impending danger.
The team from Falcon Investigations has to connect the dots before it’s lights out for Delanie, and someone closes the curtains on Chaz’s new business. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Paperback

‘Tis the season for gold, frankincense and murder…
It’s winter in the small town of Dewstow, and Margery is preparing for her first Christmas as Summerview school’s kitchen manager. She’s supported by her wife, Clementine, and is trying to stay focused on the task at hand.

The pair are determined to stay out of the way of the Christmas concert planning that has gripped the rest of the staff. However, they are caught in the crossfire when the stage lights collapse at the first practice, killing Mrs Large, the music teacher.

Mrs Smith, the Head of Drama, is the prime suspect and is desperate for the Dinner Lady Detectives to clear her name. Mrs Smith is convinced that it’s sabotage by her rival, Mrs Blossom, the drama teacher at Ittonvale Secondary, but there’s evidence that points to her own misdeeds. Can Margery and Clementine trust their friend? And when things start to heat up in the kitchen, will they make it out in time?

A charming and festive British village mystery, perfect for fans of Robert Thorogood and Fiona Leitch.

Praise for The Dinner Lady Detectives
‘This cosy crime novel has some hilarious moments and is perfect to curl up with’ Heat

‘A brilliant read! Bella

‘A brilliant whodunnit!’ Closer

‘The plot is great, the character cast is spot on, and the dialogue and humor is so quick, smart, and addictive. Margery and Clem play off one another brilliantly. I cannot wait to read the next book (please say there will be one!!!!!!) and highly recommend this gem.’ NetGalley review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

If you are after a gentle and amusing read, this will not disappoint!’ Reader review⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Heaps of fun. I found myself laughing out loud at some of the absurdities and the chaos that surrounded Clementine and Margery.’ Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

‘A sparklingly delicious confection to satisfy the mystery reader’s appetite’ Helena Dixon, bestselling author of the Miss Underhay Mysteries

Jodie ‘Nosey’ Parker is back!

When popular TV baking contest and national institution ‘The Best of British Baking Roadshow’ rolls into town and sets up camp in the grounds of Boskern House, a historic stately home near Penstowan, former police officer Jodie ‘Nosey’ Parker finds herself competing to represent Cornwall in the grand final.

But with a fellow contestant who will stop at nothing to win and a drag queen host with secrets of their own, Jodie discovers that the roadshow doesn’t just have the ingredients for the perfect showstopper cake, but also for the perfect murder…

And when a body is found in the grounds of the house, Jodie is drawn into another high-stakes case along with local DCI Nathan Withers.

Can Jodie expose the culprit? Or will the murderer become the real showstopper? (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

A relaxing weekend at the spa involves handsome men, a snarky celebrity, and a blood-covered knife. With a murder mystery to solve, and no socks to be found, Sassy, the French Bulldog is on the case.

Lola Ramsay is having a well-deserved weekend break with her British friends. There is cake and gossip and long lazy afternoons until Sassy returns with what looks like a murder weapon.

Has there been a murder? While her friends wish to ignore the evidence, Lola and Sassy have other ideas. Who is missing?
Where is the body?
Has there been a murder or could the knife just be a joke played on her by her friends?

If you like smart women, loveable Frenchies, and intriguing puzzles in your cozy mystery series, then you’ll love Rosie Sams’s delightful British country adventure.

Get ready for lots of laughs as you join Sassy, the sock-loving Frenchie, to solve this murder mystery. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback

Attending your boss’s nephew’s wedding as a spy?
Zero stars. Do not recommend.

Ruby Ecco and the Melody Street Players are back in their home base of Bloomington, Indiana, to stage Little Shop of Horrors, their first production of the new year. When the cast receives a much-needed holiday gift of a full weekend off, Ruby is afraid she’ll be bored–until Margaret, her boss, invites her to do some sleuthing at a family wedding, where strangeness is afoot.

Henry, Margaret’s nephew and the groom’s younger brother, is dating a rather mysterious and elusive woman. Margaret is convinced he’s gotten himself in over his head. Ruby can’t help but think of Seymour in Little Shop of Horrors, the naive flower shop employee who buys a very strange plant that should have come with a warning label.

When Ruby finds out Henry’s mysterious girlfriend’s name is Audrey Tooe, she’s quite alarmed. In the musical, Seymour names his alien plant Audrey II. Since every new show seems to coincide with a murder, Ruby fears the horror on stage might suddenly spill over into real life…

The Musical Murder Mystery series follows plus-size chorus girl, Ruby Ecco, as she and her traveling theatre troupe visit cities all over the world to stage musicals. The problem? Everywhere the troupe goes, murder and mayhem seem to follow. Ruby might not be leading lady material, but she’s shaping up to be quite the amateur sleuth!

Here’s the suggested reading order:

Prequel: Panic at the Playhouse (Dangerous Curves Series #8)

Book 1: The Sound of Murder

Book 2: West Side Murder

Book 3: Little Shop of Murder

Book 4: Once Upon a Murder

(and more books to come!) (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s