New Releases For The Week of September 4th, 2022–Part 1

For fans of Ellery Adams and Paige Shelton, the wedding can’t go on when the bride is found murdered—but can love still win the day in this third installment of Laura Gail Black’s cozy series.

The birds are singing, books are selling, and the Hokes Bluff Inn has begun to host weddings on its property. Antiquarian bookseller Jenna Quinn loves the romance in the air—until her ex-fiancé, Blake Emerson, walks in with his bride-to-be, Missy Plott. Blake continues to profess his love for Jenna if she’ll have him back, no matter the consequences. And the consequences are grave, indeed, when Missy turns up dead.
 
All evidence points to Blake, who was the last one to see her alive. He begs Jenna to help him clear his name. Blake’s mother, Gwendolyn, is also bent on exonerating her son. Jenna doesn’t believe Blake could have killed Missy, and she starts digging for suspects. It could have been Missy’s ex-boyfriend, who proclaims a love for her he says only death could sever. Or might it have been Missy’s bitter little sister, who was secretly besotted with Missy’s ex.
 
Evidence turns up that links Missy’s death to embezzlement and another murder—crimes that had falsely implicated Jenna herself less than a year ago. As Gwendolyn continues to beg Jenna to help prove her son’s innocence, Jenna wonders if Blake could truly be innocent.
 
Jenna has to choose whether to risk it all—her reputation, her growing relationship with her boyfriend, and maybe her life—or let a possibly innocent man go to prison. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Hardcover, Audiobook

Hot fudge…cold body.

Fall has arrived in New England, and the summer tourist season has come to an end, which means Anna must get creative to drum up business for her ice cream shop. When a young Seagull Cove couple decides to host a celebration for their first wedding anniversary, Anna proposes a hot fudge sundae bar to sweeten up their house party.

However, she quickly learns that nothing ruins a sundae bar like a dead body. Anna is determined to figure out who ruined the young couple’s party and her first on-site event in the process.

Meanwhile, Anna’s quest to find her sister, Bella, continues with the help of her trusted sidekicks, Jeremy and Joe.

If you love small coastal New England towns, endearing characters, page-turner mysteries, and ice cream parlors, you’ll love the Seaside Ice Cream Shop Mysteries.

Grab your copy now! (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

Hailed as “impressively original” by Midwest Book Review, the Book Magic Mysteries celebrate the magic in books. In this enchanting new story, Pippin Lane Hawthorne hopes her gift of bibliomancy will be enough to finally stop the curse that has plagued her family for two thousand years. But for every question Pippin answers about the past, a new one arises…

Armed with new information about her family’s connection to Dagda and Morrighan, from the Tuatha dé Danann, bibliomancer Pippin Lane Hawthorne is more determined than ever to stop the 2000 year old Irish curse on her family.


When reporter Moira Quinn starts asking questions—and then ends up dead—Pippin discovers a personal connection that makes the quest for the truth even more personal.

With the help of her West Coast cousins, bookshop owner Jamie McAdams, and her twin brother, Grey, Pippin is determined to get to the truth once and for all. But the rumblings of the curse are close to home and the clock is ticking for more than one of the Lanes. Will Pippin be able to save her family or will she be too late? (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback

Things are about to get really strange!

A young child abandoned on a crowded beach.
A finger without a body found in a sand dune.
A call from Casper Cove’s chief of police.
This weekend is going to be wild.

Lucinda Sharpe and her inherited Boston Terrier, Steele, are back for round two in this follow up to bestselling clean mystery author Maisy Marple’s new series! (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

“A pleasing mélange of mystery and pet lore.” — Kirkus Reviews

In the second installment of this animal-themed cozy series, Dr. Kate Turner has one New Year’s resolution: Stop finding corpses…

All Dr. Kate Turner wants to do is get her life in order before ringing in the new year, but with bodies turning up left and right, she’ll have to trust her own instincts—and those of her beloved animals—to stop a killer in their tracks.

As the only veterinarian at Oak Falls Animal Hospital, Dr. Kate’s life is complicated. She’s swamped with hospital patients and house calls, a long-distance relationship with law student Luke Gianetti (that is less than perfect), and a handsome, flirtatious artist who sets his sights on her as his new muse.

When the body of Sookie Overmann is found outside the community center after her organization seminar, the entire town is hunting for answers. All of Kates hopes of quietly ringing in the new year are lost and when the body of Sookie’s assistant falls with the confetti at midnight, she has no choice but to sniff out the killer. (Amazon)

Edition Available: Kindle, Paperback, Audiobook

Julia Bird’s picturesque Cotswolds life is everything she’d dreamed of. Until, that is, she discovers a dead body in the library…

Julia Bird had imagined the quiet of rural life would be soothing after years in the city, but she finds she can’t just sit still.Determined to throw herself into village activities, she joins the library just in time to attend a talk by celebrated local author Vincent Andrews.

Charming, devilishly handsome and talented, Vincent teases the crowd with a reading from his forthcoming novel. Set in a village bearing strange similarities to Berrywick, with characters the audience start to recognise, Vincent hints of dark secrets to be revealed, to gasps of outrage from the room. The meeting ends in uproar, and, just hours later, Vincent’s dead body is discovered behind the bookshelves…

As one of the last people to see him alive, Julia feels morally bound to help the police investigate. With her trusty Labrador, Jake, at her side, she decides to do her own sleuthing and quickly discovers that Vincent’s personal life is messy, his finances are in disarray and his book sales are declining. But most of all, remembering her neighbours’ faces at the book reading, Julia wonders if one of them could have lost the plot enough to kill…

As Julia interrogates the suspects, she walks straight into another scene of murder and mayhem, and realises Vincent’s manuscript is now missing. There’s someone out there who’s deadly serious about keeping their secrets unpublished. Will Julia be able to stop them, before anyone else gets hurt?

Brilliantly twisty, this completely thrilling cozy mystery is perfect for fans of M.C. Beaton, Helena Marchmont and Clare Chase.

Readers love Katie Gayle:

Wow! I need to get my breath back after that!… Moves along at a break-neck pace.’ Fiction Books Blog

Fantastic… I can’t say enough good things about this book. I just loved every minute.’ Fireflies & Freekicks

‘Katie Gayle never fails to keep me laughing, entertained, and trying to figure out the mystery til the very end. I absolutely adore this book… 10/10… This book is absolutely perfect!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Undoubtedly rollicking good fun. If the need to escape reality for a few hours presents itself, I can highly recommend this hilarious hullabaloo of a read.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘There is so much I adored about this book!… The perfect mixture of humour and mystery makes this book an absolute page turner!’ Victoria Wilks Blog

Thrilling and immensely enjoyable… An absolute joy to read… Will have readers laughing out loud and keep them glued to the pages from beginning to end.’ Bookish Jottings

Uplifting, endlessly charming and highly original… Filled with drama, action, twists… A fabulous, and much-needed, piece of escapism in these times.’ Readers Retreat (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback, Audiobook

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Nicola Upson, Kate Shackleton’s first case in this cozy novella will take readers back to the early start of Kate’s investigative career.
 

Yorkshire, 1921. Kate Shackleton is having tea with her friend, Doris, who is visiting from London. In the lovely setting of Harrogate’s premier tearoom, violence is the furthest thing from anyone’s mind. But when Doris is attacked by a mystery assailant, it’s up to Kate to find out why – and in doing so, she soon develops a taste for detective-work.
 
In this exciting novella, Kate Shackleton, a heroine ahead of her time, became Yorkshire most tireless private investigator. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s