New Releases For The Week Of September 25, 2022–Part 1

For bibliophiles who love Rita Mae Brown and Alexander McCall Smith comes the latest witty story in the beloved series set at Virginia’s book-themed resort, Storyton Hall, from the New York Times bestselling author. In this latest literary mystery, a killer inspired by Lord Alfred Tennyson’s “The Lady of Shallot” doesn’t stanza chance with resort manager Jane Steward is on the case!

When corpses clutching poems begin turning up around Storyton Hall, Jane Steward is on the trail of someone exercising poetic license to kill and is determined to keep her fairytale resort from turning into a southern gothic…

 
As Jane eagerly anticipates the wedding of her best friend Eloise Alcott, Storyton Hall is overrun with poets in town to compete for a coveted greeting card contract. They’re everywhere, scrawling verses on cocktail napkins in the reading rooms or seeking inspiration strolling the Poet’s Walk, a series of trails named after famous authors. But the Tennyson Trail leads to a grim surprise: a woman’s corpse drifting in a rowboat on a lake, posed as if she were “The Lady of Shallot.”
 
When a second body is discovered, also posed as a poetic character, a recurring MO emerges. Fortunately, Jane is well versed in sleuthing and won’t rest until she gives the killer a taste of poetic justice…

“Readers will enjoy the plot twists and the literary frame.” —Booklist (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback, Audiobook

A tearoom owner. A Tarot reader. A murder. Solving this quirky case may take a Christmas miracle.

Tea and Tarot room owner Abigail is having a hard time getting into holiday mode. She’s working her assets off to make the tearoom a premier holiday destination, searching for an appropriate Christmas gift for her new boyfriend, and trying to forget her aggravating but oh, so tempting neighbor, Brik. But when one of the Tarot readers finds a nearby business owner dead, Abigail and her Tarot-reading partner Hyperion are on the case.

Now, with a cranky cop on their tails, the duo must find a way to solve the crime and stay out of the slammer before a killer cancels their Christmas.

Gingerbread Dead is a fast-paced and funny cozy mystery, packed with oddball characters, pets, and murder. Buy the book and start this hilarious caper today!

Tearoom recipes in the back of the book! (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback 

#1 New York Times bestselling author C. J. Box’s Treasure State finds Cassie Dewell in Montana on the trail of a con man.

Private Investigator Cassie Dewell’s business is thriving, and her latest case puts her on the hunt for a slippery con man who’s disappeared somewhere in the “treasure state”. A wealthy Florida widow has accused him of absconding with her fortune, and wants Cassie to find him and get it back. The trail takes Cassie to Anaconda, Montana, a quirky former copper mining town that’s the perfect place to reinvent yourself. As the case develops, Cassie begins to wonder if her client is telling her everything.

On top of that, Cassie is also working what’s easily one of her strangest assignments ever. A poem that promises buried treasure to one lucky adventurer has led to a cutthroat competition and five deaths among treasure-hunters. But Cassie’s client doesn’t want the treasure. Instead, he claims to be the one who hid the gold and wrote the poem. And he’s hired Cassie to try to find him. Between the two cases, Cassie has her hands full.

In Montana, a killer view can mean more than just the scenery, and Cassie knows much darker things hide behind the picturesque landscape of Big Sky Country. Treasure State, C. J. Box’s highly anticipated follow-up to The Bitterroots, is full of more twists and turns than the switchbacks through the Anaconda Range. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Hardcover, Paperback, Audiobook

An upset at the Harvest Festival , a Fright Night fundraiser with a deadly twist, and a realtor-turned-sleuth caught in the middle of both.

Tabby is finally ready to go on a casual fun date with Detective Jay Jameson at the local church’s Harvest Festival, but her witch friends are holding their Fright Night fundraiser that same night. She feels caught in the middle of a long-standing quarrel between the two groups, especially when a dead body shows up at the center of it all.

As blame-shifting grows, will Tabby be able to figure out who is responsible for the corpse while keeping all of her friendships intact?

Order your copy of Frightful Friday now to find out! (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback

The BRAND NEW installment in the Martha Miller Mysteries from bestselling author Catherine Coles!

Winteringham Village 1947

As a thank you for her previous brilliant crime solving, amateur sleuth, Martha Miller is guest of honour at the Winteringham Country Fair. However, this time she is looking forward to simply judging dog shows and eating cream teas rather than apprehending a killer!

And Martha is just beginning to enjoy spending quality time with Vicar Luke Walker away from the prying eyes and gossips of her own village, when disaster strikes, and the local teenage femme fatale is found stabbed to death behind the tea tent by Martha’s trusted red setter Lizzie!

But who would want to kill such a young girl and why? Someone in the village has secrets to hide and it seems Martha and Luke have another case to solve!

Let the investigation commence!

Find out if Martha and Luke can catch the killer in a brand new Martha Miller mystery from bestselling author Catherine Coles.

What readers are saying about Martha Miller!

‘An utterly charming 1940’s mystery. Definitely a new series addiction!’ Bestselling author Debbie Young.

“Poison at the Village Show” is pure mystery buff entertainment and has all the qualities expected of an English mystery.’ James Cox, Editor-in-Chief, Midwest Book Review

Perfect for fans of Lee Strauss and Beth Byers! (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback, Audiobook

Just when she’s ready for a new start,
a murder turns life on its head…


New beginnings abound in Wynona’s life as she plans her future with Rascal and rebuilds her shop from the ground up, all while her relationships continue to evolve with those closest to her.

With Celia out of the house, but a new roommate taking her place, Wynona feels as if she’s often walking on egg shells in her own home. Lusgu is a mystery that Wynona can’t quite unravel, though his proximity makes her more curious than ever.

When a dragon shifter, who happens to be an old friend of Lusgu’s, is accused of murder, Wynona realizes this might be her chance to peel back a few more layers of the brownie’s history.

With Violet and Rascal at her side, Wynona dives into a world of science and magic as she tries to clear the dragon’s name, and keep herself alive for her future wedding at the same time.

Join Wynona and her colorful band of misfits while she navigates a city of danger and magic in these light-hearted, paranormal mysteries!

Check out the entire Le Doux Series!
Murder by the Cup
Sugar, Cream and Murder
A Sip of Murder
Sweet Tea and Murder
Murder in the Tea Leaves
Chai Spice and Murder
Stir in a Murder
(Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

When an unexpected inheritance turns deadly…

Billie Halifax is not only new to Sea Glass Island, Florida, but also to the food truck business. After her late grandmother left her a non-functional fleet, Billie packed up and headed out on a new adventure, ready for anything. Or so she thought…

Her first task is to find a manager for the initial truck, so she narrows it down to three potential candidates from a local culinary school. They’ll show off their skills and she’ll pick the best of the best for her first truck, Taco the Town.

Billie’s off to a bit of a rocky start, having to deal with a cranky business partner she didn’t even know she had. Things go from bad to worse when one of the contestants competing for the manager position is found dead and the other two are at the top of the suspect list.

With her entire future at stake, it’s up to Billie to solve the crime before her taco truck’s next stop is failure.

Hostile Taco-ver is packed with mystery, food, and fun. This fast-paced culinary cozy will leave you turning the pages and begging for more. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

The unthinkable has happened to Victoria Fox!

While she works to solve the latest mystery, the weather in Belle’s Cove is not cooperating. It’s snowing in July when it should be sweltering hot!

Is Victoria’s latest mystery related to the strange weather? Who knows? But she might just have to don some snowy apparel and tie a Christmas tree to the top of her car to find out. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

Thrift shop til someone drops…

It’s time for Halloween, and that means costume sales at the Pine Grove Thrift Store. After Jessica Braun finds her aunt’s odd stash of disguises, she will have more than enough inventory for this holiday.

But where did the costumes come from? And why did Aunt Daphne collect them? When Jess and her friends reheat a cold case, they stir up dangers, old and new.
And when her suspicions about the killer lead her down roads she never expected to travel, another life will be lost in Pine Grove.

Which will Jess be more frightened of this Halloween—a murderer on the loose, or the things that go bump in the night? (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback

From the authors of the best-selling series CHERRINGHAM

Harry and Kat take the sleeper train to the Scottish Highlands for a New Year’s weekend, guests of an American movie mogul who’s bought himself a ‘real live castle’. But when a massive blizzard leaves them isolated, it soon becomes clear that the other guests who’ve made it through the snow all have secrets. And after an ‘accident’ that is clearly no accident, our two heroes wonder…could murder be ringing in the New Year? Can they discover – in time – who is in mortal danger, here in the snow-covered mountains, and most importantly…why?

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid-90s, creating innovative content and working on major projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and the best-selling mystery series Cherringham. Their latest series project is called Mydworth Mysteries. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s