New Releases For The Week Of October 16, 2022–Part 1

New PI Jade Cavendish’s investigation into a cheating husband takes a bizarre turn when she uncovers a plot to commit murder.

The Amorous Assailant has frustrated police for months. His MO is always the same. He binds his victims with red silk, kisses them, and leaves them with a red rose. Women throughout the city are worried they’ll be his next victim.

Novice PI Jade Cavendish isn’t one of them, though. After inheriting the Beachtown Detective Agency, she’s worried about landing a paying client. Any client. She’d even settle for a dognapping.

Gina Rose, a wealthy young heiress, has a problem. Her new husband, a man she thought was her perfect match, is bleeding her dry. When Gina hires Jade to prove her husband is defrauding her, Jade quickly learns he’s a terrible businessman. His investment properties are oozing money like open wounds.

On the surface, it appears Gina simply has bad taste in men. But Jade refuses to give up on her client so easily. Her investigation pulls her into a world filled with greed, one where secrets are a way of life, events are not always what they seem, and lies conceal deadly realities—including the Amorous Assailant’s true motive. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

Suppose you’re Bernie Rhodenbarr.

You’ve got a dream job, running your own cozy secondhand bookstore, complete with Raffles, your caudally challenged cat. It’s in Greenwich Village, and your best friend’s dog grooming salon is two doors away, and the two of you lunch together and meet for drinks after work.

And you’ve got another way to make a buck. Every once in a while you put your conscience on the shelf and let yourself into someone else’s residence, and you leave with more than you came with. You’re a burglar, and you know it’s wrong, but you love it.

And you’re good at it. You’ve got two ways to make a living, one larcenous, the other literary and legitimate, and you’re good at both of them.

Nice, huh?

Until the 21st Century pulls the rug out from under you. All of a sudden the streets of your city are so overpopulated with security cameras and closed-circuit TV that you have to lock yourself in the bathroom to have an undocumented moment. And locks, which used to provide the recreational pleasure of a moderately challenging crossword puzzle, have become genuinely pickproof.

Meanwhile, internet booksellers have muscled your legit enterprise into obsolescence. The new breed of customers browse your bookshop, find what they’re looking for, then whip out their phones and order their books online.

Wonderful. You had two ways to make a living, and neither of them works anymore.

But suppose you keep on supposing, okay?

Suppose you wake up one morning in a world just like the one in which you fell asleep—but with a couple of differences.

The first one you notice doesn’t amount to much. The Metrocard in your wallet has somehow changed color and morphed into what seems to be called a SubwayCard. That’s puzzling, but you swipe it at the turnstile same as always, and it gets you on the subway, so what difference does it make?

But that’s not the only thing that’s changed. The Internet’s up and running, as robust as ever, but nobody seems to be using it to sell books. Doors are secured not with pickproof electronic gizmos but with good old reliable Rabson locks, the kind you can open with your eyes closed. And what happened to all those security cameras? Where’d they go?

All of a sudden you’ve got your life back, and your bookshop’s packed with eager customers, and how are you gonna find time to steal something?

Well, just suppose one of the world’s worst human beings has recently acquired one of the world’s most glamorous gems. When the legendary Kloppmann Diamond is up for grabs, what can you possibly do but grab it?

And what could possibly go wrong? (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback, Audiobook

When the wedding of her oldest friend ends with a shocking murder, Dr Nell Ward is once again caught up in a web of subterfuge, secrets and lies…

Dr Nell Ward is delighted when her childhood friend Percy announces she’s engaged to handsome businessman Hawke McAnstruther – and rashly offers to host the wedding at Finchmere, her family’s estate. But she hadn’t anticipated Percy’s parents’ fiery disapproval of the groom.

The ceremony is barely over before Hawke’s shady personal and professional life starts to unravel, and tension ripples through the assembled guests. When the wedding night ends with a shocking death, Nell, best-friend Rav and DI James Clarke all find themselves embroiled in a murder mystery worthy of Agatha Christie.

Surviving a terrifying threat to her own life, Nell has to face up to the truth. Not just about murder at Finchmere, but about where her heart truly lies…

The second book in the Nell Ward cosy crime series – perfect for fans of Richard Osman, Fiona Leitch, Faith Martin and The Appeal. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback, Audiobook

The last time anyone saw Veronica Goodman was the night of February 14, 1995, the only clue to her disappearance a silver heart-shaped pendant, found in the parking lot behind the bar where she worked. Twenty-seven years later, Veronica’s daughter, Kate, just a year old when her mother vanished, hires Past & Present Investigations to find out what happened that fateful night.
Calamity (Callie) Barnstable is drawn to the case, the similarities to her own mother’s disappearance on Valentine’s Day 1986 hauntingly familiar. A disappearance she thought she’d come to terms with. Until Veronica’s case, and five high school yearbooks, take her back in time…a time before there were skeletons. (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback

When the Founder’s Day celebration forecast is cloudy with a chance of corpses, can one determined dog-mom track down a killer?

Carter Cash swears she’s going to mind her own business. Settling into her quiet community with her beloved canine companion, the reinvented widow looks forward to the upcoming Thanksgiving festivities. But when a paraglider is shot out of the sky and lands DOA at her feet, the TV-mystery fangirl tells herself one more investigation can’t hurt.

Delighted to have guests in town who have decades of detecting experience, Carter digs into the evidence with her faithful furry friend. And as the quirky quartet calls up old acquaintances and chews on the clues between prepping the pumpkin pies, they find an unsavory link to another unsolved death.

Can these amateur sleuths stuff a successful solution into their Turkey Day getaway?

A Trophy Tarnished is the festive fourth book in the Law & Carter cozy mystery series. If you like fast friends, crossover cameos, and all the whodunit trimmings, then you’ll love Scarlett Moss’s autumnal adventure.

Buy A Trophy Tarnished for a succulent slice of suspicion today! (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Hardcover, Paperback

a

After a busy summer carnival season, Robin Wildwood is trying to take it easy. Her job as Head Witch tends to make that challenging, but she’s keen to focus on her budding relationship with Harvey and her hopes of getting her dad and brother back in touch with one another.

When a sinister new enemy shows up in Wildwood Heath and attacks a group of camping badger shifters, the peace is shattered. Faced with an invisible adversary, Robin is forced to turn to outside help in the form of the mysterious Reaper who just showed up in town.

Maura and her ghostly brother Mart are undeniably hiding secrets, but Robin has no choice but to put her trust him them to find their unseen killer. Even her powerful magical sceptre might not be able to handle this one… (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

Welcome to Broomstick Bay! Here the electricity is glitchy, the townsfolk are witchy, and Ruby has a catastrophic secret that is clawfully twitchy.

Non-practicing witch Ruby Crosswell doesn’t plan on staying in her hometown of Broomstick Bay for long. She’s only back for her reunion and to see her high school crush.

The event starts with a dusting of romance. But too soon, the festivities curdle when Ruby’s rival is found murdered. Predictably, Ruby is at the top of cranky detective Lance Wolfton’s suspect list. It doesn’t help that they dated a few times, and then she left without saying goodbye.

Forced to stick around, and with her old life glazed in scandal, Ruby agrees to help in her family’s bakery. And that’s when things get weird.

First, she’s struck by a wayward spell and changed into a black and white tabby cat.

Second, as she’s cutting through the graveyard on four legs, she witnesses the murder victim dig herself out of the ground. Zombie-nemesis then tries to use Ruby as a midnight snack.

What the ever-loving fluff? It seems that some witch is out to destroy Broomstick Bay one zombified body at a time.

Between baking zucchini cake and trying to prove her innocence, Ruby is desperate to reverse the spell that changes her into a cat at the most inopportune times. But it’ll take all nine of Ruby’s lives to solve the case and rid Broomstick Bay of the zombie problem.
__________
BROOMSTICK BAY PARANORMAL COZY MYSTERY SERIES:
Zucchini Cake and Zombies
Wedding Cake and Werewolves
Vanilla Cake and Vampires
Upside Down Tart and Unicorns
Tiramisu and Trolls
Funnel Cake and Fairies
Eclairs and Elves
Donuts and Dragons
Apple Crisp and Angels (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle, Paperback

From bestselling clean mystery author, Maisy Marple, comes the eleventh book in the best selling Connie Cafe Mystery series.

There’s a lot going on in Coffee Creek.
The cafe and bookstore are under construction.
Spring business is picking up…so is the temperature!
Connie’s employees are after her to get air conditioning for the cafe.
A trip to the Herkimer Diamond Mines for a little camping might just be what the doctor ordered.
Then again…

The eleventh book in the Connie Cafe Mystery series is a ooey gooey sweet as a campfire roasted s’more…and just as messy! (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

Persistent thieving on the Sun Kissed Holiday Park forces proprietor Håkan Edström to take action. On the advice of Detective Inspector Kirsty Hinch, he calls in Joe Murray and his close friends, Sheila Riley and Brenda Jump, to investigate.

As always, things do not go according to plan, and while Joe and his friends anticipated a few easy days in sunny Skegness, they encounter a major surprise the moment they arrive. Things get worse when there’s a nasty murder on the first night.

Everyone is a suspect, and, slowly, the truth about the Sun Kissed holidaymakers begins to unravel. Why does Diane Randleson behave so curiously? What is her relationship with Vivienne Foulkes and Peter Brandon? And is Trevor Pollitt trying to con Joe & Co – or his own insurers?

And when the truth comes out, it’s anything but what the stalwarts of the Sanford 3rd Age Club imagine. All is laid bare in a…

NAKED MURDER! (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle

It’s not every day you get to sit on pristine blue water holding a beautiful, first edition Nadine Gordimer novel, and wondering if you’ll survive the day.

Poe Baxter has always wanted to go to Capetown, and when she hears that a rare book by a famous South African novelist has come on the market, she takes the opportunity to fly to the city. But as soon as she and her best friend Beattie begin researching the whereabouts of this supposed literary treasure, they come upon another mystery that takes their attention and puts them in peril.

What is a rare book worth? A human life or two? (Amazon)

Editions Available: Kindle