Review of A Doomful Of Sugar

A Doomful Of Sugar

Maple Syrup Mysteries, Book #1

Catherine Bruns

5 Stars

Synopsis:

First in the new Maple Syrup cozy mystery series from USA Today bestselling author Catherine Bruns.

There’s nothing sweet about murder…

Leila Khoury has always believed that everyone loved her father as much as they loved his artisanal maple syrup. But when he’s killed, and she returns to Sugar Ridge, Vermont to take over his business, she starts to realize how much of his life she’s left untapped.

With her brother under suspicion, her mother just barely holding it together, and police not producing any leads, Leila will have to investigate herself if she wants answers about her father’s sticky end. But the more she learns, the more she worries that there won’t be a sappy ending to the story.

A cozy mystery perfect for fans of Joanne Fluke, this edition includes 5 delicious maple recipes for mystery readers with a sweet tooth!

What readers are saying about A Doomful of Sugar:

“There’s no shortage of twists and turns”

“Memorable characters, a charming setting…a well-plotted mystery”

“Developed characters, a strong plotline, and a few red herrings”

Review:

The characters are well rounded and well developed.  Leila had gone home after the death of her father.  She thought that everyone loved her father, but obviously someone did not. Leila will have to figure out who killed her father but it will not be easy.   

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read. The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and it pulled me into the story from the very beginning.  Whether I was reading about maple syrup or Toast doing his cat things I was engaged and wanted to know more.  The mystery was well plotted and there were enough clues to sift through and suspects to consider.  The murder was not easily solved.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well written cozy mystery.  I cannot wait to see what mystery Leila has to solve next. 

I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book provided by the publisher, Poison Pen Press, and NetGalley, which I greatly appreciate.