Review of A Christmas Candy Killing

Synopsis: 

Their chocolates are to die for—but things aren’t so sweet when a real killer comes to town, in this debut mystery perfect for fans of Joanne Fluke and Laura Childs.

Identical twin sisters Alex and Hannah are the owners of Murder and Mayhem, a mystery bookshop that sells their famous poison-themed Killer Chocolates. But now, there’s a real killer in their midst. Shortly before Christmas, their septuagenarian neighbor, Jane, confides to Alex that a murderer from a true-crime show has taken up residence in the village. Unfortunately, she’s also shared her suspicions with town gossip Netta. The next morning, Alex shows up at Jane’s house to watch the show, but instead discovers Jane’s body, with a box of Killer Chocolates nearby.

The sheriff quickly zeroes in on two suspects: Alex, a beneficiary in Jane’s will, and Zack, a handyman who was seen leaving the crime scene. But Alex maintains her innocence and sets out to draft a list of other potential suspects—townsfolk who’d recently been seen arguing with Jane.

When Alex gets hold of Jane’s journal, she begins to understand the truth. But a bearer of ill tidings is arriving early this year—and Alex just might not make it to Christmas.  (Amazon)

Review: 

The characters are well rounded and well developed. Alex and Hannah are the owners of Murder and Mayhem, their mystery bookstore and candy shop the features poison themed candy.  When their neighbor is found murdered, Alexis considered a person of interest.  Alex and Hannah will have to find the real culprit before it is too late.

The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and these descriptions pulled me int0 the story and took me on an adventure.  The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read. The mystery is well plotted and not easily solved.  There are enough clues to sift through and suspects to consider.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.  I look forward to reading the next book.

I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book provided by the publisher, Crooked Lane Books, and NetGalley, which I greatly appreciate.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s