Review of Murder On The Mountain

Murder On The Mountain
Cottonwood Springs, Book #6
Dianne Harman
5 Stars

45720802. sy475

Synopsis:

A broken tree branch.
A dead body.
An ambitious personal assistant.
An unfaithful husband.

Was it murder or simply an unfortunate accident?

A lot of people resented Amelia Prescott, the grande dame of marketing agencies, because of her success. But did someone resent her enough to murder her?

That becomes the job of Sheriff Davis and Brigid – to find out if Amelia’s death was an accident or a carefully thought out murder.

Confrontations can get dicey. Good thing Brigid has a 125-pound Newfoundland to help her.

This is the sixth book in the popular Cottonwood Springs Cozy Mystery Series by a two-time USA Today Bestselling Author. (Goodreads)

Review:

The characters are well developed and well rounded. Brigid is a smart hardworking woman. She has passed the tests needed for her to work at the sheriff’s department and right away her assistance is needed. I really enjoyed getting to know her and her husband, Linc, and their other family and friends. They all seem to care about each other and are willing to do whatever is needed to help each other.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read. I really liked that the murder took place in the prologue and then the suspects were presented in the subsequent chapters. That allowed the reader to learn more about the suspects and their motives. The mystery was well plotted and carried on well throughout the entire book. I was not sure who the culprit was until the reveal.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy. Pick up a copy and enjoy.

 

Advertisements

New Releases For The Week Of July 14th, 2019–Part 3

Here is a list of some of the new releases for the week of July 14th, 2019. I am going to divide the list into 4 days because there are so very many of them for the week. Today is the third day of my list for this week. Hope you find some selections for your weekly reading. Enjoy and happy reading.

 

 

Scandal & Gretel: Bookish Adventures in Witch-Lit (Bohemian Lake Book 12) by [Stapleton, Rachael, Howe, DeAnn]“Fairytale fans get ready to hear the cuckoo clocks, taste the gingerbread and experience murder most Grimm—first of the Bookish Adventures in the new Witch-Lit mystery set.

As a half-breed witch who’s descended from one of the world’s most famous witch-hunters, Sera Popescu sticks out like a toothbrush on Halloween in Salem, Massachusetts. So, what does she do? She moves to Bohemian Lake to begin her magical new life and career, working for world-renowned mystery writer and owner of Gas Lamp Literary Tours, Nelle Storey.
Every other month Nelle’s book club spotlights a 19th century author. This month it just happens to be a duo—the Brothers Grimm and the adventure book club is off to explore the medieval magic of the Black Forest in South Western Germany. Sera, whose conflicting ancestry stems from Europe is excited to see the half-timbered homes, hear the cuckoo clocks and travel over the narrow cobblestone streets. But the fairytale scenario gets a little too real when one of the book club members opens up the cottage oven during the tours first Black Forest stops.
Could the charred remains belong to the Gingerbread Hag or is this just a prank for the tourists? As if things weren’t grim enough, when they return to town, they discover two children are missing and their host has been arrested for murder.
Now, holed up in a small German village full of riled up witch-haters, it’s up to Sera to find the story’s happy ending—or wind up on the end of a pitchfork.
Scandal & Gretel is the twelfth book in the Bohemian Lake Series, and it’s the first of the set dedicated to half-witch Sera Popescu and the Bohemian Lake’s Adventure Book club. While the series is best enjoyed in order, each book is a complete mystery on its own. For those of you who are new to my books, the Bohemian Lake series is a world comprised of multiple sets. Each set focuses on a different Bohemian resident(s), although all of the books intersect.

Bohemian Lake Reading Order:

Penning Trouble: Murder, She Floats,
Haunted House Flippers: Cookies, Corpses and the Deadly Haunt
Penning Trouble: Murder, She Slopes,
Haunted House Flippers: Candy Canes, Corpses and the Gothic Haunt
Bohemian Murder Manor: Gypsies, Traps & Missing Thieves
Bohemian Murder Manor: Make-Believes & Lost Memories
Haunted House Flippers: Crumb Cake, Corpses and the Run-of-the-Mill
Penning Trouble: Murder, Ye Bones
Bohemian Festival Fiasco: Nuttier than a Pecan Pie
Bohemian Murder Manor: Ouija, Death & Wicked Witchery
Bookish Adventures in Witch-Lit: Scandal & Gretel

Scroll up and start reading now!  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Death by Stiletto: A Cape May Cozy Caper by [Roberts, K. T. ]A jewel thief on the loose . . . a dead body in the closet . . . a good deed gone wrong, and the homecoming is just getting started!

When the McKall triplets return home to Cape May, New Jersey for their high school reunion, they never expected to be involved in a homicide on their first night in town. But after their former classmate Sissy Post bangs on their door and begs for help, they feel the need to become involved.

The misguided attempt to help places Shelby McKall at the murder scene, and lands both Shelby and Sissy in custody. When the victim turns out to be none other than the archenemy of both women, they find themselves in deep trouble with the evidence stacking high against them.

Now, the McKall sisters must prove Shelby’s innocence, and they’re looking to the newest detective on the force for help. Arrogant and stubborn, this former nerd—who sizzles hotter than the Arizona sun in August—gives the sisters a hard time at every turn. But as the crime spree continues, the sisters feel drastic measures are in order. Only this time, they’re in way over their heads!   (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Paperback

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Something Fishy by [Schmitt, Lois]Attorney Samuel (Sam) Wong goes missing, and wildlife magazine reporter Kristy Farrell is convinced that his disappearance is tied to her latest story. Twenty acres of prime beachfront property are up for sale, and the waterfront community is deeply divided much like the Hatfields and the McCoys. Environmentalists are lined up on the side of the local aquarium, and business owners are aligned with millionaire land developer Lucien Moray, Wong’s employer.
When a body is found in a nearby inlet, Farrell and her veterinarian daughter take up the mystery. They discover deep secrets among the aquarium staff – secrets that point to one of them as the killer. The aquarium is soon plagued with numerous accidents, one of which threatens the lives of our amateur sleuths. On top of all this, a second murder occurs, adding to the intrigue. Who in this small town is involved in the killings, and why?
Solving the murders and Wong’s disappearance aren’t Farrell’s only challenges. When her widowed, septuagenarian mother announces her engagement, Farrell suspects that her suitor isn’t on the up and up. Farrell races to discover his past while staying ahead of people whose dark secrets threaten her life.
Something Fishy is a fast-paced small-town mystery, full of suspense and humor.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Paperback

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A Criminal Celebration in Hillbilly Hollow (Ozark Ghost Hunter Mysteries Book 8) by [Baker, Blythe]

 

 

There’s a deadly occasion in Hillbilly Hollow…

It’s finally here. The week of Emma and Billy’s long-awaited wedding has arrived. There’s just one problem: a dead body has turned up and half the wedding party are suspects.

Can Emma use her ghost whispering powers to solve one last crime and still make it to the church in time for her vows? Or will the big day end in tragedy?  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Candlelit Madness: A 1920s Historical Mystery Anthology including Violet Carlyle by [Byers, Beth, Jane, Bettie, Dean, Carolyn L., Reid, C. Jane]Note: This is a short story collection that contains a Violet Carlyle short story as well as another Beth Byers short introducing new series. 

Welcome to a very flapper evening!

Are you ready for the roaring twenties? For spunky young women crafting their own lives? If so, you’ll love Violet, Julia, Edwina, Hettie, Ro, and Lola.

Inside, you’ll find several short stories with adventures, cocktails, kisses, and fun. With stories from The Violet Carlyle Mysteries, The Piccadilly Ladies Club Mysteries, the Lola Star series, as well as the brand-new Hettie and Ro Adventures.

For fans of Carola Dunn, Jacqueline Winspear, Georgette Heyer, and Lee Strauss. A light, cozy mystery with a fun peek into a an evening with bright young things.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ripe For Vengeance (A Greenhouse Mystery Book 5) by [Tyson, Wendy]It’s late spring in Winsome, and Washington Acres is alive with the sights and sounds of farm life. The flowers are blossoming, the vegetable gardens are thriving, the pollinators are buzzing, and the Pennsylvania countryside has fully awakened from its deep winter slumber. Only this season, rebirth comes with a price.

College friends of Megan’s beau, the handsome veterinarian Dr. Denver Finn, are in Winsome for a corporate volunteer event. They will be mentoring troubled kids from a nearby school during a hiking and camping trip. When one of Dr. Finn’s friends is murdered at the state park, a student—a boy with a brutal history—becomes the prime suspect.

With a teen’s life at stake, Megan digs into the victim’s past to clear the boy’s name. She learns that the victim sowed conflict wherever he went. As Megan worms her way closer to the truth, she realizes her own life is at stake, as well as the lives of those she loves.

– – – – – – – – – – – – –

RIPE FOR VENGEANCE by Wendy Tyson | A Henery Press Mystery. If you like one, you’ll probably like them all.   (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Hardcover, Paperback

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Finding a body washed ashore in Whitefall Cove was not how I wanted to start my day.

I much preferred to face the morning with a hot strong caffeinated beverage, but alas, we can’t always have what we want. Out on a morning stroll with my familiar, Archie, I couldn’t believe my bad luck when we stumbled upon the body of local teenager Emily Sherman washed up on the beach.

Unable to resist the lure of solving the mystery, I immediately set about finding her killer, but untangling a growing list of suspects isn’t as easy as I’d initially thought. With an election looming and Councilor Griffin’s nephew caught up in the net, the pressure is on to find out whodunnit and close the case.

Let’s not mention working side by side with newly single detective Jackson Ward. Murder, mischief, and mayhem I can take in my stride, but a date with Jackson? That’s enough to have my magic sparking in nervous anticipation.

This paranormal murder mystery will have you completely spellbound and laughing out loud!  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Paperback

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IThe Second-Worst Restaurant in France: A Paul Stuart Novel (2) (Paul Stuart Series) by [McCall Smith, Alexander]n this delightful sequel to the best-selling comedic novel My Italian Bulldozer, Paul Stuart’s travels take him to a French village, where the local restaurant’s haute cuisine leaves a lot to be desired.

Renowned Scottish cookbook writer Paul Stuart is hard at work on his new book, The Philosophy of Food, but complicated domestic circumstances, and two clingy cats, are making that difficult.

So when Paul’s eccentric cousin Chloe suggests that he join her at the house she’s rented in the French countryside, he jumps at the chance. The two quickly befriend the locals, including their twin-sister landladies, who also own the infamous local restaurant known to be the second-worst eatery in all of France. During their stay, the restaurant’s sole waitress gives birth mid-dinner service and the maître d’ storms off after fighting with the head chef. Paul is soon drafted to improve the gastronomy of the village, while Chloe, ever on the hunt for her next romance, busies herself with distracting the handsome but incompetent chef. Could he be husband number six?

With all this local drama to deal with, Paul finds it next to impossible to focus on his writing, and that’s before he learns that Chloe’s past is far more complicated than he’d ever imagined. Paul will have to call upon al his experience—with food and with people—to bring order back to the village. And he may just learn something about family—and about himself—along the way.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Hardcover, Paperback, Audiobook

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cirque du Fear (Brady Paranormal Investigations Book 4) by [Crowley, Harper]Nobody ever said a clown is a girl’s best friend.

Especially when it comes to Meredith and her sister, Jess. But even though Meredith doesn’t think  this case will be any easier than the others they’ve investigated recently, Russ convinces her that maybe, just maybe, this time they’ll get the break they deserve. Sure, the clowns are creepy, but they’re not paranormal. This should be an open and shut case. The living always leaves something behind, the dead tends to be a little trickier.

Except these aren’t your average circus clowns, and even though they’ve been sighted around the university, they’re definitely not living the college life. Not at all. These clowns aren’t messing around, and they’re not about to let anything, or anyone, get in their way.  Especially an intrepid group of paranormal investigators and their pint-sized canine companion.   (Amazon)

Editions Available”  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Shamed: A Kate Burkholder Novel by [Castillo, Linda]In this gripping thriller from New York Times bestselling author Linda Castillo, a devastating murder exposes an Amish family’s tortured past.

The peaceful town of Painters Mill is shattered when an Amish grandmother is brutally murdered on an abandoned farm. When Chief of Police Kate Burkholder arrives on the scene, she learns that the woman’s seven-year-old granddaughter is gone, abducted in plain sight. Kate knows time is against her—the longer the girl is missing, the less likely her safe return becomes. The girl’s family is a pillar of the Amish community, well-respected by all. But Kate soon realizes they’re keeping secrets—and the sins of their past may be coming back to haunt them. What are they hiding and why?

Kate’s investigation brings her to an isolated Old Order Amish settlement along the river, a community where family is everything and tradition is upheld with an iron fist. But the killer is close behind, drawing more victims into a twisted game of revenge. Left behind at each new crime scene are cryptic notes that lead Kate to a haunting and tragic secret. What she uncovers threatens to change everything she thought she knew about the family she’s fighting for, the Amish community as a whole—and her own beliefs.

As time to find the missing girl runs out, Kate faces a harrowing choice that will test her convictions and leave one family forever changed.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Hardcover, Audiobook

 

New Releases For The Week Of July 14th, 2019–Part 2

Here is a list of some of the new releases for the week of July 14th, 2019. I am going to divide the list into 4 days because there are so very  many of them for the week. Today is the second day of my list for this week. Hope you find some selections for your weekly reading. Enjoy and happy reading.

 

 

LOOSE LIPS COST LIVES.

It’s 1986, and Adam Cave, lead singer of the pop sensation Loose Lips, is struggling to stay in the closet, especially as his group is going through a messy split, and media speculation about the reasons behind it is rife.

Joe Stone has been assigned to Adam as a runner for the behind-the-scenes, warts and all expose of the recording of the band’s last album, and an unlikely friendship begins to form.

But when the band’s manager, Jack Eddy, is found dead in Adam’s hotel room in what looks like a sex game gone wrong, Joe feels compelled to help. He turns to his flatmate, Russell, to help him clear the pop star’s name, and keep his secret.

Russell, meanwhile, has a secret of his own. He’s just been for a test, the results of which may change his life forever.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Paperback

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Black Magic Is Taboo For Good Reason (Diva Delaney Mysteries Book 12) by [Jayde, Anni]

A mysterious mob boss from Chicago is hellbent on eliminating Diva Delaney and he’ll stop at nothing to get the job done. She’ll have to travel to the UK Council headquarters to speak to someone who might be able to shed some light on the coven her nemesis comes from.

During her meeting with the reclusive warlock, Diva accidentally triggers an event that will irrevocably shape her future. Any attempts to alter her fate will bring dire consequences. She’s going to have to let it run its course and see what the eventual outcome will be.

No one will be exempt from her war with the gangster. Any of her friends, family members and random acquaintances could become a target. Diva will need to discover her foe’s secret identity if she hopes to have a chance to take him down before he can destroy her. He’s so well guarded that the task won’t be easy, but no one can hide from her physic abilities forever.   (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Who Shot the Serif? (Hand Lettering Mystery Book 1) by [Archer, Jessa]When Jamie Lang finds one of her hand lettered quotes on the window of her shop, Flourish, with a hole shot through a serif, she knows someone’s trying to drive her business into red ink. Jamie confronts Earleen Culp, the ruthless owner of the local stationery shop, in front of the most popular breakfast spot in the small town of Cedar Valley. Of course, Earleen professes shock and innocence, so when she’s found dead in front of Jamie’s home the next morning, Jamie becomes the prime suspect.

Jamie’s one cross-stroke short of acquittal, and even her best friend has her doubts. But Jamie’s not the only one in town with a motive for wanting Earleen silenced for good. To clear her name, Jamie’s going to need every last drop of ink in her quill.

With the hot police chief Ridge, and her makeup artist friend Nora on her side, she’s prepared to go out with a flourish if that’s what it takes to catch the real murderer. She’s desperate to save her hand lettering business, but will her quest lead her right into a killer’s snare?  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Paperback

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe by [Webber, Heather]Heather Webber’s Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe is a captivating blend of magical realism, heartwarming romance, and small-town Southern charm.

Nestled in the mountain shadows of Alabama lies the little town of Wicklow. It is here that Anna Kate has returned to bury her beloved Granny Zee, owner of the Blackbird Café.

It was supposed to be a quick trip to close the café and settle her grandmother’s estate, but despite her best intentions to avoid forming ties or even getting to know her father’s side of the family, Anna Kate finds herself inexplicably drawn to the quirky Southern town her mother ran away from so many years ago, and the mysterious blackbird pie everybody can’t stop talking about.

As the truth about her past slowly becomes clear, Anna Kate will need to decide if this lone blackbird will finally be able to take her broken wings and fly.

At the Publisher’s request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Hardcover, Paperback, Audiobook

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Horseman’s Word by [Obey, Erica]

It is July of 1865, and in Saratoga Springs, the wealthy racegoers wish, in the words of General Daniel Sickles, who left a leg at Gettysburg, “to let bygones be bygones” and put the war behind them. But Rose Adair cannot forget Lane Fallon, the Englishman she last saw being dragged off to be hanged as a Confederate spy. Cole Washington III, a former slave and jockey, refuses to forget about the family he lost in the New York City draft riots, and has come to Saratoga to seek justice for them. And Declan Sullivan is an Irish stable hand who hides his mysterious ability with horses in order to escape his past – and his titled, English half-brother, Lane Fallon. When Fallon is pulled from Congress Spring, after apparently having killed a man over a mysterious, smuggled artifact, these unlikely allies must team up to sort through conflicting tales of Fenian rebels and the occult Society of the Horseman’s Word, to discover the truth about a very real and very dangerous conspiracy that threatens not just the racing season, but the entire future of the country.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMPOSTER: Book Eleven: The Blackfriar Mysteries by [MOORECROFT, M'LISSA]WHO IS HE?

He says he’s an author and his name is Ryan O’Flaherty. And he almost looks like O’Flaherty’s publicity photos. But something isn’t quite right, and when he moves into The Blackfriar Apartments, some of the tenants think he reminds them of somebody – they just don’t know who.

When Black Rock’s new Deputy Police Chief catches O’Flaherty staring at Gloria Beardsley with hate, the lawman’s spider senses go on high alert and he begins to investigate a man he’s sure is an impostor.

But what’s the man motive? Why did his chose The Blackfriar Apartments? And can his evil plans be thwarted?

If you like short mystery reads with twists and turns, you’ll love Book Eleven in M’Lissa Moorecroft’s series, The Blackfriar Mysteries.

Get it now and discover the new tribulations facing the tenants of the beleaguered Apartment Building…  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Monster Magic in Witchwood (Witchwood Cozy Mystery Book 3) by [Lancaster, Jessica]BOOK THREE in the Witchwood Cozy Mystery series

As magic activity increases in Witchwood, the disappearance of a young boy raises alarms.

The local police can only do so much, claiming children go missing all the time. This time, it was different, this time, the family lived near a witch, Evanora Lavender, and she senses something isn’t right.

Following her gut, Nora sets out to find him. But what she uncovers might kill her, and the boy.

A paranormal cozy mystery set in a small English town, featuring a witch detective and her talking familiar as they sleuth around Witchwood. Written in British English. *previously published book*

Witchwood Cozy Mystery series
1. Cryptic Curses in Witchwood – SOON
2. Secret Spells in Witchwood – JULY 8
3. Monster Magic in Witchwood – JULY 17
4. Reaper Rituals in Witchwood – JULY 31
5. Bad Blood in Witchwood – AUGUST 7
6. Wicked Witches in Witchwood – AUGUST 14  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Devil's Swamp: A LaShaun Rousselle Mystery by [Emery, Lynn]

Devil’s Swamp holds three hundred years of deadly secrets and the blood of murder victims beneath its murky waters according to legends. What’s the connection to psychic LaShaun Rousselle’s latest case?
Two leaders of the Third Eye Association die under suspicious circumstances, throwing the global paranormal research and investigative organization into turmoil. LaShaun is brought in to help figure out what is going on when a Louisiana connection is uncovered. When a third TEA member is murdered, a local man LaShaun knew well, it hits close to home. A powerful rare earth mineral being extracted from Devil’s Swamp, a suspected serial killer, murder, and the supernatural. LaShaun must make sense of dangerous pieces of the puzzle before more lives are lost and a destructive paranormal power is unleashed on the world  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hijinks at Highgate Cemetery: Piccadilly Ladies Club Mysteries by [Jane, Bettie]

While attending a celebration at Highgate Cemetery to honor literary hero George Eliot, Julia is eager to gather information and write a story for The Daily News honoring both the author and the historical cemetery. When an uninterred body becomes the center of attention, Julia puts on her investigative hat and attempts to determine the identify of the body and get the literary celebration back on track.

Much to her dismay, the body belongs to someone she knows and worse, implicates a close friend. Can she solve the murder before it’s too late?  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cliff Hanger (A Maggie McDonald Mystery Book 5) by [Feliz, Mary]When a hang-gliding stranger is found fatally injured in the cliffs above Monterey Bay, the investigation into his death becomes a cluttered mess. Professional organizer Maggie McDonald must sort the clues to catch a coastal killer before her family becomes a target . . .

Maggie has her work cut out for her helping Renée Alvarez organize her property management office. Though the condominium complex boasts a prime location on the shores of the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary, aging buildings and the high-maintenance tenants have Renée run ragged. But Maggie’s efforts are complicated when her sons attempt to rescue a badly injured man who crashed his ultra-light on the coastal cliffs.

Despite their efforts to save him, the man dies. Maggie’s family members become the prime suspects in a murder investigation and the target of a lawsuit. Her instincts say something’s out of place, but solving a murder won’t be easy. Maggie still needs to manage her business, the pushy press, and unwanted interest from criminal elements. Controlling chaos is her specialty, but with this killer’s crime wave, Maggie may be left hanging . . .

“A skillful amateur detective with an impressive to-do list.”
Kirkus Reviews, STARRED REVIEW, Address to Die For  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Paperback

 

Review of A Whale Of a Tail

A Whale of a Tail
Whales and Tails Mystery, Book #18
Kathi Daley
5 Stars

45445477. sy475

 

Synopsis:

Visiting author Winnifred Westminster turns up dead after a speaking engagement at Coffee Cat Books where she tells those in attendance the story of the very real murder her book is based on. A murder she assures them that local law enforcement were never able to solve, but after years of research, she assured them she’d found the answer they couldn’t. During the speaking engagement, Winnie tells the story of the murder but doesn’t share the ending. She tells the group that they will have to buy the book if they want to see how it all turns out. When Winnie turns up dead, Cait and Tara suspect that someone must have wanted to prevent her from telling the end of the story and unveiling a secret that the killer obviously doesn’t want revealed.

Cait and the gang set out to solve not one but two murders amongst homecoming festivities and a Halloween celebration. (Goodreads)

 

 

Review:

The mysteries are well plotted and carried on well throughout the entire book. As is typical from this author, there is more than one mystery to solve. One is who killed the author, Winnifred, and the other is who killed Amy, a girl that was murdered years ago. At first look, it seems as if the murders are related, but are they or not?

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read. The authors is very talented in her descriptive writing and these descriptions pulled me into the story from the very beginning.

The characters are well developed and well rounded. I like how Cait and her family and friends are so close knit and you can tell how much they love each other. It is great how Cait and Cody’s relationship has grown, just like in real life.

I would recommend this book, and series, to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy. I cannot wait to see what Cait and Cody get into next.

 

New Releases For The Week Of July 14th, 2019–Part 1

Here is a list of some of the new releases for the week of July 14th, 2019. I am going to divide the list into 4 days because there are so very  many of them for the week. Today is the first day of my list for this week. Hope you find some selections for your weekly reading. Enjoy and happy reading.

 

 

The Body in Griffith Park (An Anna Blanc Mystery Book 3) by [Kincheloe, Jennifer]

 

Los Angeles, 1908. Anna Blanc is a former so-so socialite, a flailing police matron, and a killer detective.  

Ex-heiress, Anna Blanc, is precariously employed by the Los Angeles Police Department, reforming delinquent children and minding lady jailbirds. What she really wants is to hunt criminals and be alone with Detective Joe Singer–both no-nos that could get her fired. On a lover’s tryst in Griffith Park, Anna and Joe discover the body of a young gambler. Anna can’t resist. She’s on the case. As her murder investigation stalls, and her police matron duties start piling up, strange floral arrangements begin arriving from an unknown admirer. Following the petals leads Anna to another crime–one close to home. Suddenly pitted against Joe, Anna must examine her loyalties and solve the crimes, even if it means losing the man she loves.   (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Paperback

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Charm His Pants Off: A Witches Three Cozy Mystery (The Witches Three Cozy Mysteries Book 4) by [Martin, Cate]A surprise ring at the doorbell on Valentine’s Day confirms Amanda Clarke’s suspicions. Her friend Sophie DuBois left someone behind when she came to Miss Zenobia Weekes’ Charm School for Exceptional Young Ladies.
But the happy reunion grinds to a confusing halt when he asks about Sophie’s quest to find her mother. And Amanda remembers she too came in search of answers about her own mother. Brianna Collins as well.
All of them forgetting their mothers the moment they showed up at the charm school? Someone, somehow, put a spell on them. But why?
Unless they find the witch who stole their memories, they may never know.
“Charm His Pants Off”, Book 5 in the Witches Three Cozy Mystery series. If you’re a fan of Amanda M. Lee, N.M. Howell, or Amy Boyles, this mélange of magic and murder mystery is sure to charm you.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Siren Song Gone Wrong (Wicked Good Mystery Series Book 6) by [May, Lucy]Summer is upon Charm Cove, and Moira Wicked is busy as ever. With her nosy family in the thick of wedding planning, and every witch and warlock in town on the guest list for her destined marriage to Liam Good, she’s succumbed to the twists and turns of fate.

Just as she’s wishing she could use a distraction, a fishing boat runs aground on a small island off the coast of Charm Cove. Oh, and the men on said fishing boat claim, of all things, they were lured to the island by a woman singing to them. A siren.

Le sigh. Moira might’ve hoped for a distraction, but not specifically a siren.

The witches and warlocks of Charm Cove are a tad out of practice with thwarting a siren. That doesn’t dissuade Moira and the lot of them from turning their powers to solve the mystery.

With Charm Cove at the height of summer tourist season, it’s teeming with people happily buying up magic by the bottle. Moira’s destiny is also racing toward her. To keep a centuries old witchy feud from bubbling up again, she must marry Liam in time. The shores of Scotland beckon while she fends off a siren’s mayhem in Maine.

Take a visit to Charm Cove, where Wicked meets Good and where you just might find there’s almost always more than meets the eye.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Seven O'Clock Target: An Inspector Rebecca Mayfield Mystery (The Rebecca Mayfield Mysteries Book 7) by [Pence, Joanne]A murder. Missing children. And the crimes have only begun.

When Homicide Inspector Rebecca Mayfield investigates the murder of a delivery man and the disappearance of his two children, she suddenly finds herself a target. Boyfriend Richie Amalfi is convinced someone with position and power in the city’s government wants Rebecca out of her job … or dead. But who? And why?

As Rebecca becomes increasingly embroiled in a murder investigation with surprising and far-reaching tentacles, Richie intervenes on his own to keep her safe. He must use every weapon he has, including people with dubious ties to well-placed politicians, to learn about the sinister, unseen forces against her, and what to do about them.

But when the very people he thinks are targeting Rebecca become targets themselves, the situation turns even more deadly.

Don’t miss Seven O’Clock Target as Rebecca and Richie deal with one of the most personally dangerous cases in her career.

The best-selling Inspector Rebecca Mayfield series combines fast-paced mysteries with a touch of humor and a hint of romance. Starting with One O’Clock Hustle, you’ll find the hours just seem to fly by.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Paperback

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mississippi Mud Pie Madness (Menu for Murder Book 3) by [Crow, Carole ]

 

Three coeds have disappeared from Davis University in Vicksburg, and President George Pemberton is counting on economics professor Faye Winters to find out why. On leave from Huntington University, Faye has enough on her hands to teach a fast-paced three-week course, but her real mission is to find out what happened to the missing women. Roberta’s dead body has floated up in the Mississippi River. Where are Cynthia and Monica? Three women, three mysteries, and three weeks to find out what happened. Is Faye up to the task?  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Paperback

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Witch out of Time (A Blair Wilkes Mystery Book 7) by [Adams, Elle]As the town of Fairy Falls holds the paranormal world’s annual Halloween celebrations, Blair finds herself playing host to the leaders of the region’s most prestigious witch covens. Donating her room to a grumpy elderly witch is bad enough, but when a valuable sceptre is stolen from Blair’s house, Blair is tasked with finding the thief.

Blair attempts to track down the sceptre while juggling witch lessons with her stubborn familiar, an apprentice dealing with school bullies, and a plague of random hauntings all over town. Her long-lost family might be among the visiting spirits, but Blair has no time for ghost hunting. Bodies are turning up, apparent victims of the sceptre’s magic, putting the entire magical community in danger.

Can Blair stop the thief’s killing spree and return the sceptre to its owner before the town pays the price — and she loses her last chance to speak with her family?  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A Murder on Jane Street by [Cash Spellman, Cathy]A brutal murder.
A heinous secret.
A deadly conspiracy. 

The brutal murder of the little old lady next door puts FitzHugh Donovan on the case. A retired New York City Police Chief, he knows a cover-up when he sees one and his Irish Cop conscience can’t let that happen.

Now, Fitz, his family and his quirky band of Bleecker Street Irregulars are ensnared in the bizarre secret the woman died to protect.

Is this a cold case turned hot again, or an unspeakable conspiracy that could alter the course of history?

Fitz doesn’t yet know how high the stakes are, that failure isn’t an option, and that the little old lady was so much more than she appeared. But he’s trying to keep everyone alive long enough to find out.

Characters you’ll care about, dark shocking secrets, and disturbing similarities to today’s political scene, will keep you turning pages to an ending you won’t see coming.

Praise for Cathy Cash Spellman’s books:

About A Murder On Jane Street
“A MURDER ON JANE STREET is a gripping summer thriller filledwith history, adventure, and an intriguing mystery. Cathy Cash Spellman willkeep readers on the edge of their seat”
Charles Brokaw, NYTimes Bestselling author of The Atlantis Code

About Bless the Child
“Suspense that rivals that of Stephen King…”
West Coast Review of Books

About Lark’s Labyrinth
“The author constructs a blistering story that will keep readers turning pages of this spectacular thrill ride.”
Publisher’s Weekly

About So Many Partings
“Almost impossible to put down.”
Publisher’s Weekly  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Paperback

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chocolate Covered Death (Wine & Dine Mysteries Book 2) by [Halliday, Gemma]From #1 Amazon, New York Times & USA Today bestselling author Gemma Halliday comes deliciously deadly decadence in wine country…

In order to boost her struggling family winery’s reputation, Emmy Oak throws a Wine and Chocolate party for the Sonoma Valley elite—featuring her delicious drinks alongside her friend Leah’s decadently chocolaty desserts. But when Leah’s ex-husband’s new trophy wife turns up dead after the party, the police paint Leah in the role of main suspect and the only thing anyone in town can talk about is the murder at the Chocolate Bar.

In order to save face and her friend, Emmy finds herself infiltrating high society and sorting among the catty and cantankerous for her killer. Did the victim’s rare-wine brokering business have anything to do with it? Or was it the hot new golf pro at the club or the frenemy with a jealous streak? Or maybe her husband found a less messy way than divorce to end their short and unhappy marriage? Emmy isn’t sure, but she knows a mysterious man in a cowboy had has something to do with it, and the deeper she digs, the more trouble seems to follow her. Between crashing the country club, dodging danger, and trying to stay one step ahead of the sexy Detective Christopher Grant, Emmy has her work cut out for her to catch a killer…before hers is the next death by chocolate!

**Simple and delicious recipes included!**

“Ms. Halliday is the undisputed queen of the genre: she knows how to blend fashion, suspense, laughter, and romance in all the right doses.”
~ Fresh Fiction

“Gemma has a natural flow to her writing, a vibrant, witty voice that makes you want to keep reading. 5 stars!”
~ Futures Mystery Anthology Magazine

“Halliday is on top of her game!”
~ Booklist

Wine & Dine Mysteries:
A Sip Before Dying – book #1
Chocolate Covered Death – book #2
Victim in the Vineyard – book #3, COMING in September!
Marriage, Merlot & Murder – book #4, COMING in January 2020!

Rating: This story does not contain any graphic violence, language, or sexual encounters. It’s rating would be similar to PG-13 or what you would find on a Hallmark Channel movie or TV series.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Paperback

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A-Spying We Will Go (The Accidental Cases of Emily Abbott Book 5) by [Kirkpatrick, Perry]Camping doesn’t lead to kidnapping… usually.

When Emily goes on a group camping trip in Northern Arizona, she suspects her biggest danger will be mosquito bites and bear-sightings. The trip becomes far from relaxing, however, when she hears from a family friend that they can’t get in touch with her dad. Unable to call, due to spotty cell phone reception, she manages to send a text asking for Brent’s help in checking on her dad.

But the spy has been incommunicado for several days, and it turns out he’s up North too–trying to locate a missing ICS agent with information about the Ten Thousand.

Not everything is as it seems. More than bears roam the woods, and information could cost a life.

“The Accidental Cases of Emily Abbott” is a series of clean spy-comedies set in Phoenix, Arizona.
1. Red Rover, Red Rover – May 6, 2019
2. Plan to Fail – May 13, 2019
3. Bad Things, Small Packages – May 27, 2019
4. Tutor, Nanny, Spit-up, Spy – June 17, 2019
5. A-Spying We Will Go – July 15, 2019
6. Once Upon a Dime – August 26, 2019  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leger's Prank (The Leger Cat Sleuth Mysteries Book 30) by [Dearie, Lacey]

April Fools’ Day has arrived and Leger can’t help himself from playing tricks. With his new-found reading skills, as basic as they are, he manages to fool Isabella’s humans into believing he is a psychic cat who can predict the winners of horse races. He heads to the betting shop to get some tips but accidentally witnesses a vile crime while there. He has no choice but to do everything he can to unmask the culprit but Isabella’s humans have other ideas now and Leger is kidnapped in the middle of his investigation.

Can he get home before the the victim is accused of fabricating their story for money? Can he communicate to Annabella what has happened to him and have his kidnappers arrested?

Leger’s Prank is the 30th story in the Leger Cat Sleuth Mysteries and will be available to pre-order from 30th March 2019.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pushing Up Daisies (A Pet Psychic Mystery Book 5) by [Esposito, Shannon]The dog days of summer are back, and Darwin Winters, pet psychic, is excited to attend the St. Pete Seafood Festival with her sister. Unfortunately, the festival gets shut down early when a despised, local food critic dies from ingesting pufferfish toxin while judging the Chef’s Golden Lobster Contest.

When Hana Ishida, the chef who served pufferfish to the victim, is taken in for questioning, Darwin agrees to dog-sit the woman’s dachshund, Daisy. Darwin receives a vision from Daisy showing Hana in a heated argument, but for Daisy’s sake, Darwin desperately wants to dig up the truth and help her boyfriend, Detective Will Blake, prove Hana’s innocence.

Though Will does have a few fishy restaurant owners on his suspect list, none of the clues are pointing to anyone but Hana. Can Darwin help him reel in the right suspect? Or will this killer be the one that got away?  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours–Guilty As Charred

 

 

 

I’m so excited to be a stop on the blog tour for author Devon Delaney and her new release Guilty As Charred.  This is the third book in her A Cook-Off Mystery series.

Guilty as Charred (A Cook-Off Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
3rd in Series
Kensington (June 25, 2019)
Mass Market Paperback: 304 pages
ISBN-10: 1496714474
ISBN-13: 978-1496714473
Digital ASIN: B07HVYY7KN

 

Purchase Links – Amazon – B&N – Kobo – Google Play – IndieBound

 

Related image

 

 

Sherry Oliveri has attained celebrity status after winning the America’s Good Taste Recipe Contest with her delectable New England Crab Cake Sliders. But now that she’s back home in Connecticut, she’s got to deal with something else fishy . . .

Sherry’s making a guest appearance on a local radio show when the news comes in: Poppy Robinson has been found dead in the town’s community garden. Sherry was supposed to be taking questions about her win in the national cooking competition, but instead the callers start dishing dirt.

Poppy and Sherry were both involved in the vegetable garden, and while Poppy may have been a bit priggish, it wasn’t anything that called for a shovel to the back of the head. There was already trouble brewing, with the owner of the land threatening to renege on their agreement, and this murder has taken tensions to a new level. Now while Sherry’s organizing a Fourth of July cook-off event, she’s also got a murder investigation on her plate . . .

Includes Recipes from Sherry’s Kitchen!

 

 

 

Image result for community garden clipart

 

 

 

Devon Delaney is a wife, mother of three, accomplished cooking contester, recent empty nester, and lifelong resident of the Northeast. She has been handsomely rewarded for her recipe innovation over the last twenty-plus years, including a full kitchen of major appliances, top cash prizes, and four trips to Disney World. She has also won the Grand Prize in a national writing contest for her “foodie” poem “Ode to Pork Passion.”

Check out Devon’s website at: www.devonpdelaney.com and find her on Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/devonpdelaney/

 

 

 

 

 

When did you know that you wanted to be an author?  What things, if any, influenced that decision?

I’ve loved writing stories since I could put pen to paper. I began submitting stories to magazines when my children were very young and that led to longer stories and eventually attempts at books. Growing up, my father was very supportive of my writing ambitions. My mother was an editor before she had children. When I began my cooking contesting hobby I taught myself to write clear, concise recipes and was rewarded with many grand prizes.

 

With so many cozies being written today, what makes your books stand out from the crowd?

Years of cooking contest success are the foundation for my cozies. My experience at cook-offs has given me a unique perspective that I’m so excited to share throughout my series. Sharing my inside knowledge of a competitive hobby not many know well, makes for a fantastic backdrop for the murder, mayhem and mystery I write about. The heat in the cook-off kitchen can bring out the best and the worst in everyone involved. From there, sky’s the limit for mystery and intrigue. I also include my love of hooking rugs. Since I was in college, I’ve dyed my own wool, drawn my own canvases and competed over a dozen rugs.

Image result for cooking competition clipart

 

Do you work from an outline or plot or do you just see where the characters take you?

I work from a detailed outline, so I can stay on task. The outline is a sweaty procedure for me and requires lots of revisions and rethinking to get it to the point where I can start writing the book, in full confidence. That being said, I do leave gaps in the storyline. That way the characters can organically take me places I didn’t know the story needed to go. That’s the process that works best for me.

 

Do you read your reviews?  Do you respond to them, good or bad?  Do you do anything special to get those reviews?

I read a fair number of the reviews. My skin has thickened and I can absorb the comments more meaningfully than I could when I was a newbie. While every writer wishes for the best reviews, I do learn a lot from criticism. I’ve come to appreciate when people take the time to thoroughly review my books. The more I share about myself through interviews and appearances, the more readers are apt to share thoughtful comments and reviews. When they understand where my writing comes from they understand my characters and storylines better.

 

What advice would you give to your younger self?

My advise to my younger self would be, live in the moment. Cliché, but beyond important. Treat every experience as a piece of the puzzle that makes up you. Be the best you can be at a few diverse things. Practice what you love to do one thousand times. Breath.

Image result for live in the moment clipart

 

Do you think that the cover plays an important part in someone buying your book(s)?   Who designs your book covers?

I have the most fantastic covers drawn by an artist at Kensington Publishing. I know it plays an important part in selling my books. Many readers have told me so.

 

Please give us an insight into your main characters.  What do you think makes them special?

Sherry Oliveri is my cooking contester/amateur sleuth. She’s a caring, thoughtful, cautious character with room for personal growth. Sherry is just not sure in what direction. Her social life is a challenge, as she is busy with three part-time jobs, or at least that’s her excuse. She’s slowly evolving and pleasantly surprised at the results.

Amber Sherwin is Sherry’s friend, co-worker and confidante. She is funny, self-deprecating, independent and adventurous. Amber pushes Sherry to be her best self, which is a difficult task.

Detective Ray Bease is a sixties throwback. While he is curt in his delivery, he is, also, sensitive and street smart. He is showing a softer underside as each book in the series reveals more of his make-up.

 

What have you learned about yourselves since becoming an author?

I didn’t know I could produce three books in two years. I have since learned I can. I have discovered a new capability for discipline and organization I never knew I was capable of. Who knew I was capable of sitting down and writing for three straight hours? I would never have guessed I would become obsessed with my plots and characters to the point I think about them 24/7.  I learned I have the endurance to see a bucket list item, writing a book, from inception to fruition and that’s an amazing passion!

Image result for 24/7 clipart

 

Do you write full-time or part-time?

I strive for 3 hours a day, every day, even weekends.

 

What do your plans for future projects include?

I would love to pitch a new series when this one runs dry.

 

What do you think the hardest part of writing is? 

Finishing the first chapter and feeling fully satisfied. Second hardest is writing the detailed outline.

What is the easiest?

Easiest for me is the revision stage. Once I have words on paper I have a nice flow going and revisions come quickly.

 

What type of books do you like to read?

I read cozy mysteries, biographies and cookbooks.

Related image

 

Who are some of your favorite authors?

Ryhs Bowen, Alexander McCall Smith, Laura Childs

 

What is the one thing you would like your readers to know about you?

I became a published author late in life and I’m learning as I go along. I do it because I feel I have something interesting to share in an entertaining and humorous way. If I could do it over again I would have started writing in earnest ten years earlier, so, by now, I would have that experience under my belt.

 

Do you have anything specific you would like to say to your readers?

Cooking contests have brought me so much joy and many friendships over the years. My experiences at cook-offs, combined with my love of writing, has brought me to my happy place. I hope people enjoy my books as much as I enjoy writing them.

Image result for cooking contest clipart

 

 

How can readers discover more about you and your work?

    Website: http://www.devonpdelaney.com

     Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Devon-Delaney/e/B0759J7Q9H/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

 

 

Image result for giveaway clipart

To enter the Rafflecopter Giveaway, please click on the link below:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/02887792901/?widget_template=56d5f80dbc544fb30fda66f0

 

 

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

July 8 – The Avid Reader – REVIEW, EXCERPT

July 8 – Babs Book Bistro – SPOTLIGHT

July 8 – Author Teresa Watson – SPOTLIGHT

July 9 – Mysteries with Character – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

July 9 – Because I said so — and other adventures in Parenting – REVIEW

July 9 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW

July 10 – A Wytch’s Book Review Blog – REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW

July 10 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT

July 10 – The Pulp and Mystery Shelf – GUEST POST

July 11 – I’m All About Books – SPOTLIGHT, EXCERPT

July 11 – Baroness Book Trove – REVIEW, EXCERPT

July 11 – A Blue Million Books – CHARACTER GUEST POST

July 12 – Brooke Blogs – SPOTLIGHT, RECIPE

July 12 – View from the Birdhouse – SPOTLIGHT

July 12 – T’s Stuff – SPOTLIGHT

July 13 – MJB Reviewers – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

July 13 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT, RECIPE

July 13 – Reading Is My SuperPower – REVIEW

July 14 – Handcrafted Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

July 14 – Laura’s Interests – SPOTLIGHT, EXCERPT

July 15 – Socrates Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

July 15 – StoreyBook Reviews – GUEST POST

July 15 – Cassidy’s Bookshelves – SPOTLIGHT, EXCERPT

July 16 – Cozy Up With Kathy – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

July 16 – The Book’s the Thing – REVIEW, RECIPE

July 16 – Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews – SPOTLIGHT, EXCERPT

July 17 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW

July 17 – Literary Gold – SPOTLIGHT

 

Related image

 

Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours–Peach Clobbered

 

I’m so excited to be a stop on the blog tour for author Anna Gerard and her new release Peach Clobbered.  This is the first book in her A Georgia B&B  Mystery series.

Peach Clobbered: A Georgia B&B Mystery
Cozy Mystery
1st in Series
Crooked Lane Books (July 9, 2019)
Hardcover
ISBN-10: 1643850067
ISBN-13: 978-1643850061
Digital ASIN: B07JMK2JRD

 

Purchase Links

AMAZON     BARNES & NOBLE

 

Image result for penguin suit clipart

 

What’s black and white and dead all over? Georgia bed and breakfast proprietor Nina Fleet finds out when she comes across a corpse in a penguin costume.

Nina Fleet’s life ought to be as sweet as a Georgia peach. Awarded a tidy sum in her divorce, Nina retired at 41 to a historic Queen Anne house in quaint Cymbeline, GA. But Nina’s barely settled into her new B&B-to-be when a penguin shows up on her porch. Or, at least, a man wearing a penguin suit.

Harry Westcott is making ends meet as an ice cream shop’s mascot and has a letter from his great-aunt, pledging to leave him the house. Too bad that’s not what her will says. Meanwhile, the Sisters of Perpetual Poverty have lost their lease. Real estate developer Gregory Bainbridge intends to turn the convent into a golfing community, so Cymbeline’s mayor persuades Nina to take in the elderly nuns. And then Nina finds the “penguin” again, this time lying in an alley with a kitchen knife in his chest.

A peek under the beak tells Nina it’s not Harry inside the costume, but Bainbridge. What was he doing in Harry’s penguin suit? Was the developer really the intended victim, or did the culprit mean to kill Harry? Whoever is out to stop Harry from contesting the sale of his great-aunt’s house may also be after Nina, so she teams up with him to cage the killer before someone clips her wings in Peach Clobbered, Anna Gerard’s charming first Georgia B&B mystery.

 

 

 

Image result for book review clipart

 

Sometimes when you read a book, something just clicks and you really enjoy it.  That is what happened when I started reading this book. I really enjoyed the characters, the setting was great and the mystery was intriguing.

The characters are well developed and well rounded.  Nina is spunky, smart and feisty. I enjoyed getting to meet her and spend time with her.  The nuns that stayed in the Bed and Breakfast added so much to the story, they were funny and quirky.  The jury is still out on Harry, I am not really sure if he is a good guy or not. Hopefully I will find out in future books.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read.  The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and I was drawn into the book from the very first page.  The mystery was well plotted and carried on well throughout the entire book. There were a lot of clues to sift through and suspects to consider and it was not easily solved.  I was surprised at who the culprit was, I was sure it was someone else.

This book is a great start to a new series.  I highly recommend this book to everyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.  I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book provided by the publisher, Crooked Lane Books , and NetGalley, which I greatly appreciate.

 

 

 

Image result for b & b clipart

 

 

DIANE A.S. STUCKART is the New York Times bestselling author of the Black Cat Bookshop Mystery series (writing as Ali Brandon). She’s also the author of the award-winning Leonardo da Vinci historical mysteries, as well as several historical romances and numerous mystery, fantasy, and romance short stories. The first book in her Tarot Cats Mystery series is FOOL’S MOON, available in trade, large print, and Kindle versions. Her Georgia B&B Mystery series from Crooked Lane Books launched July 2019 with PEACH CLOBBERED, written as Anna Gerard.

Diane is a member of Mystery Writers of America and has served as the 2018 and 2019 Chapter President of the MWA Florida chapter. In addition to her mystery writing affiliations, she’s a member of the Cat Writers’ Association and belongs to the Palm Beach County Beekeepers Association. She’s a native Texan with a degree in Journalism from the University of Oklahoma, but has been living in the West Palm Beach FL area since 2006. She shares her “almost in the Everglades” home with her husband, dogs, cats, and a few beehives. Learn more about her books at www.dianestuckart.com

Author Links
Website – www.dianestuckart.com / www.georgiabbmysteries.com

Facebook – www.facebook.com/blackcatmysteries

 

 

 

 

When did you know that you wanted to be an author?  What things, if any, influenced that decision?

 I’ve been a reader since early childhood, but I didn’t really click with writing as being something a regular person could do until junior high, when I started getting high marks for my papers I wrote. I joined the school newspaper in high school and went on to major in journalism in college.  My plan was to be a full-time writer once I graduated, but then I discovered you still had to pay the bills. So I worked days and worked on my great American novel at night…which is still how I write even after 16 book being published.

Image result for school newspaper clipart

 

With so many cozies being written today, what makes your books stand out from the crowd?  

I consider my books to be serious cozies. Not that they don’t have a bit a humor and a few off-beat characters (not to mention my Tarot Cat series, which has talking cats and dogs…and roosters, and koi). But my victims don’t die in a jokey way, and my characters all consider murder a terrible crime that tears up the fabric of their lives. And they see solving the crime as a way to somewhat put things back to right. Plus my feline and canine sleuths are real characters, not just cozy window dressing.

 

Do you work from an outline or plot or do you just see where the characters take you?

I know in general how the story goes, and I try to outline each chapter with a couple of sentences to keep me on track, but I’m definitely a “pantser” when it comes to plot. Sometimes even I don’t know who the killer is until almost the end of the book.

Image result for flying by the seat of your pants clipart

 

Do you read your reviews?  Do you respond to them, good or bad?  Do you do anything special to get those reviews?

Ah, yes, reviews. I definitely read the PW and LJ and Kirkus reviews, which my editor usually sends to me. And, of course, I read the reviews of those bloggers who I know have requested ARCs. I stay off of Goodreads because there are a few (very few, luckily) nasty types who love to post negative reviews and I don’t need to see that. As for responding, if there’s a place on a blog site for comments I’ll usually post a thank you, especially if the reviewer seems to “get” what I do. And if the review isn’t all rosy but is still thoughtful in its critique, I’ll often reply to that, too. But I don’t ever get into a war of words with a reviewer, be they professional or a reader.

 

What advice would you give to your younger self?  

Vampire fiction is not a flash in the pan. Seriously, finish that Dracula spin-off and submit it…now! Or you’ll regret it.

Image result for vampire fiction clipart

 

Do you think that the cover plays an important part in someone buying your book(s)?   Who designs your book covers?  

I hear both things from readers, but I know that a pretty or compelling or unusual cover will draw me in. For my traditionally published work, the publisher handles the covers, though they usually ask for my input (not that they necessarily follow my suggestions).  For my “vintage” historicals that I’ve republished myself, I paid cover designers to make those covers.

 

Please give us an insight into your main characters.  What do you think makes them special?

My amateur sleuth in PEACH CLOBBERED, Nina Fleet, is pretty much me if I were single. (Though she is younger and thinner.) She’s goal-oriented, a bit sassy, loves her pup Mattie, and isn’t afraid to take charge when she needs to. Her combination nemesis and partner-in-crime-solving, Harry Westcott, is a chameleon personality, which makes him a good actor. He’s something of a bad boy and a bit self-centered at times, but basically has a good heart (hey, Mattie likes him).

 

What have you learned about yourselves since becoming an author?

That if I can write (more than once!) 80,000 plus words of a good, saleable book that readers love and reviewers give a thumbs up to, I can do anything.

Related image

 

Do you write full-time or part-time?

I work a full-time job days, and write nights and weekends and holidays and lunch hours and…

 

What do your plans for future projects include?  

Book 2 in the Georgia B&B Mystery series, PEACHY SCREAM, should be out in Summer 2020, with at least one more in the series to follow. And hopefully my Tarot Cats Mystery series (originally published with the now-defunct Midnight Ink) can be rebooted with a new publisher.

 

What do you think the hardest part of writing is? 

Pretty much the obvious – writing a book and getting it sold. And, making sure that, with all the promoting and answering email and social media, I actually make time to write a few pages each night.

What is the easiest?

Typing THE END! By that point, I’m ready to move onto the next project…though of course there are still revisions to come once my editor gets hold of the book.

Image result for the end clipart

 

What type of books do you like to read?  Who are some of your favorite authors?

I like other cozy mysteries, historical and celebrity biographies, some true crime (not the spy stuff), and “vintage” gothic and romantic suspense a la Barbara Michaels and Mary Stewart. And good, straightforward fiction…not the “literary” kind with its self-conscious styling and experimental points of view but books that tell a satisfying tale.

 

What is the one thing you would like your readers to know about you?

That I love hearing from them and appreciate their opinions on my work. And that I am also a paranormal researcher and I raise bees and have a few tattoos. (I guess that’s more than one thing, LOL.)

Related image

 

Do you have anything specific you would like to say to your readers?

With my books, I want to give my readers a kinder and gentler place where they can spend a few hours with likeable characters and interesting situations. And, always, they know that when they finish one of my stories, justice will have been served, and the good guys (and gals…and cats) will have learned and grown from whatever situation they found themselves in.

 

 

How can readers discover more about you and your work?

    Website: www.georgiabbmysteries.com

    Blog:  www.Bookloversbench.com  

    Facebook:  www.facebook.com/blackcatmysteries

    Twitter:   @dianestuckart

     Amazon Author Page:  Diane A.S. Stuckart, Ali Brandon, Alexa Smart, Anna Gerard

Related image

 

 

Image result for giveaway clipart

To enter the Rafflecopter Giveaway, please click on the link below:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/02887792903/?widget_template=56d5f80dbc544fb30fda66f0

 

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

July 8 – The Book Decoder – REVIEW

July 8 – 4covert2overt ☼ A Place In The Spotlight ☼ – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

July 9 – Baroness’ Book Trove – REVIEW

July 9 – Socrates Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

July 10 – Author Teresa Watson – REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW

July 10 – Island Confidential – GUEST POST

July 10 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW, AUTHOR INTERVIEW

July 11 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW

July 11 – A Wytch’s Book Review Blog – REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW

July 11 – Reading Reality – REVIEW

July 12 – The Avid Reader – REVIEW

July 12 – The Book’s the Thing – REVIEW, CHARACTER GUEST POST

July 12 – MJB Reviewers – REVIEW, AUTHOR INTERVIEW

July 13 – The Power of Words – REVIEW

July 13 – Literary Gold – SPOTLIGHT

July 14 – Brooke Blogs – CHARACTER GUEST POST

July 14 – Eskimo Princess Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

July 15 – Babs Book Bistro – GUEST POST

July 15 – Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

July 16 – Reading Is My SuperPower – REVIEW

July 17 – Moonlight Rendezvous – REVIEW

July 17 – Books Direct – SPOTLIGHT

July 17 – I’m All About Books – REVIEW

July 18 – StoreyBook Reviews – REVIEW

July 18 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

July 19 – Melina’s Book Blog – REVIEW

July 19 – Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW, AUTHOR INTERVIEW

 

 

Image result for peach clipart

 

Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours–Deadline With Death

 

 

I’m so excited to be a stop on the blog tour for author Zara Keane and her new book Deadline With Death.  This is the first book in her A Time-Slip Mystery Series.

Deadline with Death (Time-Slip Mysteries)
Cozy Mystery
1st in Series
Beaverstone Press (June 21, 2019)
Number of Pages: ~ 320

 

 

 

 

 

Related image

Dee Flanagan loves Irish history, bad rom-coms, and red lipstick. Dead clowns, injured time travelers, and shootouts don’t make it onto the small town reporter’s Top Ten list. After the bullets stop flying in Dunleagh Castle’s courtyard, it’s up to Dee to convince people she didn’t imagine a gunfight played out between two centuries. With the body count rising, and no one willing to believe Dee’s time travel theory, she’s forced to team up with a man who’s either a bona fide fruit cake or a police officer from the year 1919. Using her expert knowledge of the Irish War of Independence, Dee sets out to solve a century-old crime, plus a modern-day murder.

 

 

 

 

 

CHAPTER ONE

Dunleagh, Ireland

 

The morning the clown croaked at my feet began with a cockfight and ended with a corpse. Neither covering the fight nor discovering the body was on my ToDo list. After five months of juggling my job at the Dunleagh Chronicle, a volunteer position at the museum, my history video blog, and looking after my grandmother, I finally had a free day.

Until I didn’t.

Courtesy of a virus sweeping through our offices, two of the Chronicle’s reporters were out sick. With press day looming, my penny-pinching editor was desperate enough to pay me time-and-a-half, and with a mountain of bills on my nightstand, I was desperate enough to agree. I swapped my cozy bed for Mavis, my scarlet scooter, and faced the elements of an Irish winter morning.  

Under different circumstances, a spin through the countryside might have been pleasant. Today’s ride was anything but. I steered Mavis through driving rain, gale-force wind, and potholes the size of mainland Europe. The crowning glory was a near collision with a herd of cattle who’d taken up residence in the middle of the road. I seriously should have held out for double pay.

By the time I pulled up outside the tumbledown farm where the cockfight was being held, the organiser had got wind that the cops were on the way. In a spectacle of flying feathers and bouncing beer bellies, both the contestants and the spectators were fleeing the coop. I dry-heaved my way through the stench of birds and unwashed men, snapped a few shots of the mayhem, and hopped back onto my scooter. I now had less than an hour to reach my desk and write an embellished account of the non-event, and Mavis and I broke several rules of the road on our return journey.

The clock in the town square chimed ten as I hung a right and chugged up the steep road that led to Dunleagh Castle. In fifteen minutes the Chronicle’s grumpy sub-editor would emerge from his lair, demanding to know why my article wasn’t on his desk. I swore under my breath and pressed hard on the Mavis’s sluggish accelerator.

At the top of the hill, the castle loomed, dark and magnificent against the stormy sky. The sight of its grey walls and tall towers never failed to thrill my inner historian, even when I was in a hurry. From its clifftop perch, Dunleagh Castle had cast a menacing glare over the harbor for the last six centuries. While most of its original outer wall was gone, and the outer courtyard had been repurposed as a parking lot, both the castle itself and its generous gardens remained intact. Today, it housed the newspaper, the mayor’s office, the museum, a small café, and several lovingly restored rooms that were open to the public. Working for a penny-pinched weekly rag wasn’t the glamorous career I’d envisioned at university, but it paid the bills—well, some of them—and I had the privilege of working within the castle walls four days a week.

I wasn’t alone in my admiration for the castle. It had earned a well-deserved place as one of Ireland’s most popular tourist attractions. Even at low season, buses braved the steep incline and disgorged tour groups in front of the wooden drawbridge.

One such bus spluttered its way up the road in front of me, moving at a painful pace. I swerved to overtake it, and narrowly missed mowing down a man who was crossing the street. He leaped sideways to avoid me, and landed in a puddle.

“Hey,” he roared, glowering at me under bushy red eyebrows, “watch where you’re going.”

“Sorry,” I said on autopilot. 

The word caught in my throat when I recognised the guy I’d almost rendered road kill. Charles O’Rourke, better known as Mr. Chuckles, was a popular street performer whose clown routine delighted children and tourists alike. He was also the dude I’d kneed in the nuts the previous month. I doubted I’d make it onto his Christmas card list, but then, he wouldn’t make it onto mine.

Ignoring Mr. Chuckles’s squawks about my reckless driving and general tendency to harm his person, I zoomed into the parking lot and deposited Mavis in a free space. I pulled off my helmet and yanked up the hood of my jacket. The downpour was turning into a deluge, and the brief moment between removing my helmet and getting my hood in place was all it took to turn my hair into a sodden mess.

As I exited the parking lot, my phone vibrated with an incoming call. My hand went to my pocket on reflex, but I pulled it back and kept moving. It was wet and I was late. Whoever was calling me could wait.

Before I stepped onto the road, a second tour bus pulled up to the kerb opposite. If I wanted to dodge a swarm of geriatrics, I needed to pick up my pace. I speed walked across the road and then broke into a run. With a wave of greeting to the guard on duty, I bounded over the castle’s wooden drawbridge and entered the courtyard. The cobblestoned ground was slick with rain, and puddles formed in patches where the stones needed to be replaced. Standing beside one such puddle was none other than my good pal, Mr. Chuckles. I swallowed a groan. He must have reached the courtyard just before me. Seriously, why couldn’t I catch a break this morning? With my deadline imminent, the last thing I needed was an argument with the clown.

I surveyed my surroundings. A gaggle of elderly tourists huddled in front of the castle’s main entrance, all wearing bright orange raincoats emblazoned with the name of their nursing home. If I zigzagged past them, and ran the rest of the way, I’d be at my desk in five.

In spite of the slippery surface, I accelerated into a sprint. I’d almost reached the door when the clown stepped in front of me, forcing me to stagger to a standstill. He was dressed in his full clown regalia: baggy polka dotted pants, luminous green shirt, wide yellow sash, fire-engine red wig, and a shiny red plastic nose. The addition of a leopard print rain poncho completed the look. I tried to dodge the guy, but at that moment, the second influx of tourists trundled over the drawbridge and swarmed into the courtyard en masse, nixing the option for me to sidestep my adversary. Before I’d had time to react, Mr. Chuckles was up in my face, yelling and shaking a fist.

To the casual observer, we must have appeared a comical pair. Last time I’d checked, the average Irish male stood five-feet-nine-inches tall. I barely missed the six-feet mark. I’d inherited my considerable height, sturdy build, and masses of blonde hair from my father, an American with Swedish roots. The clown, in contrast, must have been descended from leprechauns.

The little man gesticulated wildly, jumping up and down to emphasise his points, none of which were flattering, and several of which would have required a bleep censor.

“You came through the incident unscathed.” My gaze dropped to his mud-strewn legs. “Apart from your pants.”

“I ought to call the cops on you, Flanagan,” he snarled, eye level with my chest. “You’re a menace, on and off the roads.”

A hushed silence fell over the elderly tourists and I sensed several pairs of eyes upon me. I ignored them and focused on the clown. “Calling the cops didn’t work out so well for you the last time. As I recall, the encounter ended with you receiving a formal warning for sexual harassment.”

A gasp of excitement rose from our audience but the clown appeared to be oblivious to the onlookers. “That cop is your friend,” he muttered. “She’d believe any pack of lies you fed her.”

I rolled my eyes. “Dude, there was CCTV footage of you groping my butt before I kneed you in the groin. Sergeant Healey didn’t have to take my word for it.”

The clown moved closer and my stomach roiled. Everything about this creep made my skin crawl. I took a step back to regain some semblance of personal space and sought an escape route. The old folks spilling over the drawbridge surged toward the main door. Unless I wanted to shove octogenarians out of my way, my best bet was to take a detour via the museum and use their stairs to reach the corridor that connected the museum to the main castle and the offices of the Dunleagh Chronicle. First, I had to get the clown to back down and let me past.

“Look, I’m in a rush…” I tried to push past but he blocked my attempt and jabbed me in the chest with a chubby finger. 

“If Dunleagh had a proper cop in charge,” he snarled, “you’d have been arrested for assault.”

“If by ‘proper’ you mean ‘male’, I doubt even the most chauvinistic man on the force could ignore the evidence on the tape.” 

A churning panic warred with my rising anger, but the sneer that stretched his painted lips tipped the balance. I gritted my teeth and cast an exaggerated glance at my watch. 

“Fun though this has been, I gotta get to work. Unless you want a replay of last month’s nut-crushing incident, you’d better let me past.”

Red-hot rage flickered across his face and the knuckles of his fists turned white. The misogynistic pig would love to hit me, but he didn’t have the guts to do it in front of witnesses. What he did have the guts to do was to keep blocking my way.

I bit back an oath and thought fast. In a flash, I opened my backpack and extracted a small can, being careful to conceal the logo. “Well, now, would you look at that. Is this pepper spray lurking in my bag?”

My words had an instant effect. The clown’s beady eyes widened. He leaped back, colliding with a  group of tourists.

“Why don’t you juggle a few balls for our visitors?” I winked at the open-mouthed seniors. “No pun intended.”

Giving the clown a look laced with contempt, I squeezed past. This time, he didn’t try to stop me.

 

 

 

 

Image result for "time travel"clipart

USA Today bestselling author Zara Keane grew up in Dublin, Ireland, but spent her summers in a small town very similar to the fictional Ballybeg and Smuggler’s Cove.

She currently lives in Switzerland with her family. When she’s not writing or wrestling small people, she drinks far too much coffee, and tries – with occasional success – to resist the siren call of Swiss chocolate.

Author Links

My Website: https://zarakeane.com/                                                
My Newsletter: https://zarakeane.com/newsletter/
Reader Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/ballybegbelles/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/zarakeaneauthor     

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/zarakeaneauthor/  
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7729304.Zara_Keane

 

 

 

When did you know that you wanted to be an author?  What things, if any, influenced that decision?

I’ve loved writing since I was a child, but I didn’t seriously consider trying to get published until I was a stay-at-home mum with two small kids. I needed a creative outlet. In November 2009, I participated in the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) challenge and completed the first draft of a truly terrible book. On the plus side, it got me into a writing routine, and I never looked back.

 

With so many cozies being written today, what makes your books stand out from the crowd?

They have my voice and sense of humour, plus an Irish setting. I’m Irish and I love bringing my home to life for others.

Image result for irish clipart

 

Do you work from an outline or plot or do you just see where the characters take you?

I start with a rough outline for the entire book and detailed notes for Act I. Once I finish writing Act I (roughly 20% of the book), I stop, revise what I’ve written, and tweak my outline. Then I write detailed scene notes for the next act and rinse and repeat until I reach the end. This gives me the reassurance of having an idea of where I’m going with the story but also the freedom to make changes as inspiration hits. I find that the magic—the bits in the story that elevate it from okay to great—always come to me while I’m writing.

 

Do you read your reviews?  Do you respond to them, good or bad?  Do you do anything special to get those reviews?

I read my reviews, but I pick my moment to do so. ☺ Unless a reader emails me with a review, I don’t respond to reviews. Reviews are fabulous for helping readers to decide which books to buy, and they’re written for readers, not authors. Before I was published, I had a review blog for several years. I noticed that when an author commented on a review it pretty much ended the discussion. (Unless, of course, the author said something outrageous that got everyone riled up, but that’s definitely NOT what I want to do!)

I have a small review team and I send them review copies of my books. I occasionally use Netgalley. Blog tours are another great way to get reviews.

 

What advice would you give to your younger self?

Don’t confuse your goals with other people’s. 

Related image

 

Do you think that the cover plays an important part in someone buying your book(s)?   Who designs your book covers?

Definitely. A cover needs to convey the genre and tone of the book. I’ve used several cover designers for my various series. For the Time-Slip Mysteries, I came up with the concept and a graphic designer friend helped me to make it a reality.

 

Please give us an insight into your main characters.  What do you think makes them special?

In Deadline with Death, Dee is torn between her sense of duty and her longing for adventure. She tells herself she wants a steady job, marriage, and a home of her own, yet convention bores her. What she needs is a healthy combination of growing roots and excitement, but she feels life can only be one or the other. In the Time-Slip Mysteries, Dee’s expert knowledge on the Irish War of Independence makes her the ideal person to team up with her time traveller sidekick.

 

What have you learned about yourselves since becoming an author?

My mood affects my writing, and the emotions I write about affect my mood. If I’m having a stressful day, it’s an ideal time to write a tense scene, even if it’s out of order. And if I want to end my day on a happy note, I write a comedic scene.

Image result for "mood" clipart

 

Do you write full-time or part-time?

Part-time at the moment, but full-time is the dream!

 

What do your plans for future projects include?

I’m currently working on the sixth book in the Movie Club Mysteries. Once that’s finished, I’ll write Fatal Front Page, the second book in the Time-Slip Mysteries.

 

What do you think the hardest part of writing is?  What is the easiest?

The hardest part of writing is getting new words on the page, especially at the start of a book. That’s the time my inner editor comes out to play and second guesses every word I write. I have to push through this phase and trust that it’ll pass. It always does. The easiest part for me is the revision phase. I revising a story and polishing it until it shines.

Image result for revising clipart

 

What type of books do you like to read?  Who are some of your favorite authors?

I love all types of crime fiction. Also historical fiction, women’s fiction, sagas, and some fantasy. My favourite authors include Mary Stewart (she wrote fab romantic suspense back in the Fifties and Sixties), Agatha Christie, Val McDermid, Adrian McKinty, Jana DeLeon, and Rhys Bowen.

 

What is the one thing you would like your readers to know about you?

My lipstick collection rivals Dee’s in Deadline with Death.

 

Image result for lipstick clipart

 

Do you have anything specific you would like to say to your readers?

If you’d like to read the complete Chapter One of Deadline with Death, I’ve posted it on my website: https://zarakeane.com/deadline-with-death/

 

How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Website: https://zarakeane.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/zarakeaneauthor/

Reader Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/ballybegbelles/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/zarakeaneauthor/

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Zara-Keane/e/B00KEA23XS/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7729304.Zara_Keane

 

Image result for social media clipart

 


Thanks so much for having me on your blog!

 

 

Image result for giveaway clipart

To enter the Rafflecopter Giveaway, please click on the link below:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/02887792905/?widget_template=56d5f80dbc544fb30fda66f0

 

 

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

July 10 – A Wytch’s Book Review Blog – REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW

July 10 – Baroness’ Book Trove – REVIEW

July 11 – MJB Reviewers – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

July 11 – Socrates Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

July 12 – Babs Book Bistro – GUEST POST

July 13 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

July 14 – Author Teresa Watson – REVIEW,

July 15 – Literary Gold – SPOTLIGHT

July 16 – The Book Decoder – REVIEW

July 17 – Ascroft, eh? – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

July 18 – I’m All About Books – REVIEW

July 18 – Cozy Up With Kathy – CHARACTER GUEST POST

July 19 – Eskimo Princess Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

July 19 – ebook addicts – REVIEW

July 20 – Elizabeth McKenna – Author – SPOTLIGHT

July 21 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW

July 21 – The Avid Reader – REVIEW

July 22 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

July 22 – StoreyBook Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

July 23 – Books Direct – GUEST POST

July 23 – Author Teresa Watson – CHARACTER INTERVIEW

 

 

Related image

 

 

 

New Releases For The Week Of July 7th, 2019–Part 4

Here is a list of some of the new releases for the week of July 7th, 2019. I am going to divide the list into 4 days because there are so very  many of them for the week. Today is the fourth and final day of my list for this week. Hope you find some selections for your weekly reading. Enjoy and happy reading.

 

 

Killing with Confetti (A Detective Peter Diamond Mystery Book 18) by [Lovesey, Peter]Peter Lovesey, MWA Grand Master and titan of the English detective novel, returns readers to Bath with the eighteenth mystery in his critically acclaimed Peter Diamond series. 

As a New Year begins in Bath, Ben Brace proposes to his long-term girlfriend, Caroline, the daughter of notorious crime baron Joe Irving, who is coming to the end of a prison sentence. The problem is that Ben’s father, George, is the Deputy Chief Constable. A more uncomfortable set of in-laws would be hard to imagine. But mothers and sons are a formidable force: a wedding in the Abbey and reception in the Roman Baths are arranged before the career-obsessed DCC can step in.

Peter Diamond, Bath’s head of CID, is appalled to be put in charge of security on the day. Ordered to be discreet, he packs a gun and a guest list in his best suit and must somehow cope with potential killers, gang rivals, warring parents, bossy photographers and straying bridesmaids. The laid-back Joe Irving seems oblivious to the danger he is in from rival gang leaders, while Brace can’t wait for the day to end. Will the photo session be a literal shoot? Will Joe Irving’s speech as father of the bride be his last words? Can Diamond pull off a miracle, avert a tragedy and send the happy couple on their honeymoon?  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Hardcover, Audiobook

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yule Log Eulogy (MURDER IN THE MIX Book 16) by [Moore, Addison]A baker who sees the dead. One too many suitors.
And a killer. Living in Honey Hollow can be murder.

*A laugh out loud standalone cozy mystery by New York Times Bestseller Addison Moore* All books in the series can be read individually but are best enjoyed in order.

My name is Lottie Lemon, and I see dead people. Okay, so I rarely see dead people, mostly I see furry creatures of the dearly departed variety, aka dead pets, who have come back from the other side to warn me of their previous owner’s impending doom. 

The holidays are upon us, Christmas day is within reach and there are so many parties to cater. The very first one is on the ritzy side of town, and if the snobby socialites weren’t enough to make me squirm, stumbling upon a body takes the joy right out of the season. But I’m determined to find the killer and salvage what I can of this holiday fiasco. However, with the ghost of a reindeer who happens to have a hankering for whiskey, and a convict on the loose, it’s going to be tougher than it looks. To top it all off, I’m quickly burying myself in an avalanche of lies.

The snow is falling, the sugar cookies are baking and mistletoe abounds. The holidays have hit Honey Hollow. And it’s beginning to look a lot like murder.

Lottie Lemon has a brand new bakery to tend to, a budding romance with perhaps one too many suitors, and she has the supernatural ability to see dead pets—which are always harbingers for ominous things to come. Throw in the occasional ghost of the human variety, a string of murders, and her insatiable thirst for justice, and you’ll have more chaos than you know what to do with.

Living in the small town of Honey Hollow can be murder.   (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cupcakes, Crystals, and Chaos (Cowan Bay Witches Cozy Mystery Book 2) by [Lancaster, Jessica]BOOK TWO in the Cowan Bay Witches Cozy Mystery series.

When a dead man is found on the Cowan Bay shores, Doctor Oscar Raymond reveals the man choked on a crystal – a witch’s crystal.

With fingers pointed at them in all directions, the Cowan Bay coven realise the odds aren’t in their favour. Add the appearance of another witch, Gwen’s mother, and it becomes too coincidental for Detective Hodge.

It’s a race against time to find out the truth before someone is imprisoned for a murder they didn’t commit.

A paranormal cozy mystery set in a coastal English village. An amateur female sleuth, a coven of witches, and an anxious pet cat. Written in British English. No swearing or gore. *previously published under Crystal Cafe*

COWAN BAY WITCHES SERIES
1: Muffins, Magic, and Murder – SOON
2: Cupcakes, Crystals, and Chaos – JULY 10
3: Pies, Palmistry, and Poison – JULY 24
4: Treats, Tarot, and Trouble – AUG 21  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

AThe Viking Horn Spell (Pentacle Pawn Book 2) by [Hartford, Amanda]n ancient drinking horn causes chaos in witch Maggie Flournoy’s pawn shop for magical objects.

The Viking Horn Spell is the second book in Amanda Hartford’s Pentacle Pawn paranormal cozy mystery series set in Scottsdale, Arizona.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Witch Who Mysteries 4 to 6 : Box Set: Penzi and Felix to the Rescue (The Witch Who Mysteries Box Sets Book 2) by [Penryn, Katie]Super talented white witch Penzi Munro is back again to fight evil in another three magical mysteries.

As ever, her handsome sidekick, Felix the shape shifting leopard, is here by her side to lend support and protection.

Just when Penzi thought she could take life easy and settle down with her two brothers in the little French seaside town of Beaucoup-sur-mer, the powers of wickedness and greed strike the human heart again.

The Witch who Found a Pearl – Penzi thinks herself lucky when she finds a beautiful pearl in her lunchtime oyster. Her friend Izzy suggests they visit the oyster farm from which the pearl came. She has no idea she is launching Penzi and Felix on a perilous investigation into the murky history of a region torn by war throughout the ages.

Penzi’s self-confidence falters when she stumbles upon a second dead body, but with Felix and her friends Izzy and Garth beside her, she adds the wisdom her lucky pearl brings her to her developing skill as a white witch and surges ahead in her determination to bring the perpetrators to justice.

The Witch who Saved Christmas – Penzi and Felix are once again called upon in the fight of good against evil. This time it’s Christmas Eve. A vile and evil monster is trying to sabotage Santa’s delivery of Christmas presents to the children of the world. Penzi wants to stay home and have a family dinner, but Felix reminds her that a witch has to do what a witch has to do. Of course, Penzi does what she has to do with the help of the High Council of the Guild of White Witches.

(This story was written for the Christmas season 2016 and is not a true cozy mystery as there is no murder. It is rather a tale of how-to-do-in a nasty monster and is suitable for reading to or with children. However, the vocabulary is set at an adult level so children may need some simplification, which in itself leads to interaction between parent and child at Christmastime. The royalties for the first eight months were donated to UNICEF for the children of Syria.)

The Witch who Foiled the Plot – At last Felix can keep Penzi out of danger. Or can he? With enough to live on for the rest of their lives, they no longer need to work for a living. However, when evil comes knocking at the door again, Penzi once more has to choose whether to take up the fight for good or rest on her laurels.

Her new friends who own vineyards and a distillery in Cognac have fallen foul of the powers of greed and wickedness. Well, you know our Penzi. What do you think she’ll do? Let it go, or throw herself into the battle?

It’s here at last – the second box set you’ve been waiting for.

If you love stories about witches, magic, and talking cats and dogs, all spiced up with a dollop of danger, you’ll love following along with Penzi and Felix as they fight the good fight against evil in the little French seaside town of Beaucoup-sur-mer.

Available in Kindle Unlimited – Download these three great stories now and get comfy, because once you start reading these exciting adventures you won’t want to put them down.

(All three are stand-alone novels, but your enjoyment will be enhanced by reading the series in order.)  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tightrope: A gritty crime thriller with a darkly funny heart by [Riches, Marnie]A gripping page-turner of a plot’ ROZ WATKINS
‘A corking thriller’ ED JAMES

What happens when a private investigator ends up being the one uncovered?

Having lost everything after a failed marriage, Beverley Saunders now lodges in the basement flat of a house owned by her best friend Sophie and her husband, Tim. With Bev’s former glittering marketing career in the gutter, she begins to do investigative work for other wronged women, gathering dirt on philanderers, bosses and exes.

But when Beverley takes on the case of Sophie’s friend Angela, who is seeking to uncover grounds for divorce from her controlling husband, Jerry, the shadow Science Minister, she soon discovers that she isn’t the only one doing the investigating…

Beverley has a secret history she doesn’t want coming out – but will she manage to stay hidden long enough to give Angela the freedom she deserves?

Marnie Riches is back in this darkly comic thriller, perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers.

Praise for Marnie Riches:

‘Gritty and gripping’ Kimberley Chambers, Sunday Times No.1 Bestseller

‘Marnie Riches is already a leading light in the field of Mancunian noir.’ The Guardian

‘Gritty and great fun.’ The Express

‘Pacy, poignant, funny and violent, it grabs you by the hand and drags you down the mean streets of Manchester with such verve and authenticity that you can almost smell the rain and blood as you turn the pages.’ Simon Toyne

‘Fast-paced and enthralling’ C. L. Taylor

‘Fast, furious, fantastic…One killer thriller!’ Mark Edwards

‘Edgy’ Clare Mackintosh  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Audiobook

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A stunning collection of seven brand-new novellas featuring the redoubtable Sherlock Holmes and his chronicler Dr John Watson.

A collection of seven brand-new novellas written by masters of the Sherlock Holmes pastiche, including Andrew Lane, author of the Young Sherlock series, New York Times bestseller James Lovegrove, and Edgar Award nominee Lyndsay Faye.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Paperback

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Peach Clobbered: A Georgia B&B Mystery by [Anna Gerard]What’s black and white and dead all over? Georgia bed and breakfast proprietor Nina Fleet finds out when she comes across a corpse in a penguin costume.

Nina Fleet’s life ought to be as sweet as a Georgia peach. Awarded a tidy sum in her divorce, Nina retired at 41 to a historic Queen Anne house in quaint Cymbeline, GA. But Nina’s barely settled into her new B&B-to-be when a penguin shows up on her porch. Or, at least, a man wearing a penguin suit.

Harry Westcott is making ends meet as an ice cream shop’s mascot and has a letter from his great-aunt, pledging to leave him the house. Too bad that’s not what her will says. Meanwhile, the Sisters of Perpetual Poverty have lost their lease. Real estate developer Gregory Bainbridge intends to turn the convent into a golfing community, so Cymbeline’s mayor persuades Nina to take in the elderly nuns. And then Nina finds the “penguin” again, this time lying in an alley with a kitchen knife in his chest.

A peek under the beak tells Nina it’s not Harry inside the costume, but Bainbridge. What was he doing in Harry’s penguin suit? Was the developer really the intended victim, or did the culprit mean to kill Harry? Whoever is out to stop Harry from contesting the sale of his great-aunt’s house may also be after Nina, so she teams up with him to cage the killer before someone clips her wings in Peach Clobbered, Anna Gerard’s charming first Georgia B&B mystery.  (Amazon)

Editions Available:  Kindle, Hardcover

Review of Play Dead

18892351

Synopsis:

Meet Allie Babcock – The Audacious Dog Therapist with a Flair for Sleuthing

At her brand new shop in Boulder, Allie’s very first client is a dejected collie whose previous owner allegedly took her own life. But with a natural nose for crime, Allie soon suspects murder—leaving her dejected canine client as possibly the sole witness to the crime.

With the scent fresh, Allie is quickly on the case – but a second murder curtails her investigation. Before taking another step, Allie needs to count her enemies: several suspicious dog owners, a boyfriend with a temper (and a demand for vengeance!), and a mysterious door-to-door salesman with a curious tale to tell…

Bizarre salesman, vicious boyfriend and suspect dog owners – one thing is for sure – Allie’s life may never be safe until one of these characters lands in the pen… (Goodreads)

 

 

Review:

The characters are well developed and well rounded. I enjoyed getting to know Allie, but I do not think that she is as smart as she thinks she is, because of some of her actions. She takes chances that she should not be taking, and she does not seem worried when she breaks into the victim’s house a couple of times. I also wonder about her abilities as a dog behavior therapist and dog owner. She seems to be constantly leaving her dog in the car, which is a big no-no. That is only my opinion and others may not agree with me.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read. There was a lot of action contained within the pages of this book. It seemed like every couple of pages, something was happening. It was hard to catch my breath before the next thing would happen. The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and these descriptions pulled me into the story right from the beginning.

The mystery was well plotted and carried on well throughout the entire book. There were enough clues to sift through and suspects to consider, and it was not easily solved. I had the bad guy picked out a few times, only to find out I was wrong.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery. I will definitely read the next book in the series.