Review of Candy Cane Caper

 

Candy Cane Caper

Zoe Donvan Cozy Mystery, Book #22

Kathi Daley

5+ Stars

32072820Synopsis:

Things go from crazy to insane in the Zimmerman household when Scooter’s dad comes to town, Zoe tries to find the perfect gift for Zak while helping out with Hometown Christmas, and Levi finds the body of bakeshop owner Candy Kane dead in the pantry. It’s funny, it’s family, it’s a Zak and Zoe Christmas mystery. (Goodreads)

Review:

I have to say that I have read and greatly enjoyed all of this author’s book.  I have read them all and none of them have been a disappointment.  But I must say that the Zoe Donovan Cozy Mystery series had always been my favorite series written by this author.  I love the setting, I love the characters and I love spending time with them.  And I have to say that I think Candy Cane Caper is my favorite one so far.  There is a lot more drama and emotional challenges for the gang in this book and I, for one, got caught up in all of it.   The characters are so life like that I always feel like I am getting to visit old friends when I am reading.   

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy quick read.  The mystery is carried on well throughout the entire book.  There were enough suspects and clues to consider and twists and turns to make finding the killer difficult.  I did not figure it out until it was revealed at the end.  

I would highly recommend this book (and series) to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery with top notch character development.  There is a lot going on in Ashton Falls and I cannot wait for the next book to be published to see how things turn out.  

https://www.amazon.com/Candy-Cane-Caper-Donovan-Mystery-ebook/dp/B01M0QF5J9/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1476830932&sr=8-1&keywords=candy+cane+caper