Review of Italian Iced

Italian Iced

Ethnic Eats, Book #3

Kylie Logan

5 Stars

36435706Synopsis:

Hot pasta and a cold corpse make for quite a combination in the latest book in the Ethnic Eats mystery series.

When Laurel Inwood features Italian cuisine on the Terminal at the Tracks menu, she knows she’ll need to stock the shelves, the fridge, and the freezer with plenty of wonderful delicacies. She just never expected one of them to be her old boss, Hollywood superstar Meghan Cohan.

But one day when Laurel is at the restaurant early to get ready for the regular rush of customers, that’s exactly what she finds–Meghan dead in the Terminal freezer.

What’s a Hollywood A-lister doing in Hubbard, Ohio?

For Laurel, that’s the real question, because the first question she’d ask in any other murder investigation–who would want the victim dead?–seems pretty much a no-brainer in this case.

Who would want Meghan dead?

Just about anybody who had ever met her. (Goodreads)

 

Review:

The characters are well rounded and well developed.  I really enjoy Laurel, she is gutsy, smart and determined.  She is not easily fooled and she sure is not a pushover. But she also has a softer caring side.  She seemed multifaceted to me and very real. I enjoyed spending time with her work “family” and especially her “not aunt” Sophie, you can really tell that they care about and love each other very much. And Declan is a wonderful boyfriend and Laurel better not let him get away. But with her past of growing up in foster homes, she has trouble believing in happily-ever-after.

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read.  It helped me get into the flow of the story and kept me there the entire time.  The author is very talented in her descriptive and through much of the book I felt like I was right there, smelling the foods and listening in on conversations.  The author does a great job of describing the dishes being served without turning the book into a cookbook. And the couple of recipes at the back of the book sound delicious.  

The mystery is well plotted and is not easy to solve.  With so many suspects that disliked the deceased and lots of clues to sift through, I had a difficult time trying to solve this mystery.  Throw in some twists and turns and red herrings and I was not sure of the culprit’s identity until it was revealed. Which is just how I like my mysteries.

I would highly recommend this book, and series, to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.  To me, this book is exactly what a cozy should be. Check it out and I bet you will agree.

I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book provided by the publisher, Berkley Publishing Group, and NetGalley, which I greatly appreciate.