Review of Holiday Hangover

Holiday Hangover

Zoe Donovan Cozy Mystery, Book # 23

Kathi Daley

5 Stars

32943899Synopsis:

In this snowy cozy mystery, Zak’s is asked to track down the source of the breech for the surveillance system at a remote ski resort in the Canadian Rockies. Scooter is away with his dad leaving Zoe feeling depressed and deflated so Zak asks Zoe to go along on the trip. With Levi and Ellie away as well, Zoe decides to join Zak only to find that the sleuthing couple has really been invited to the resort to solve a murder. Join Zak, Zoe, Alex, and Charlie as they juggle fun filled days on the slopes with theory building sessions as they attempt to track down a killer. (Goodreads)

Review:

The characters are well developed and well rounded.  We got to catch up a little with what is going on with Zoe and Zak, and that is always a good thing.  I will say I was a little sad because we did not get to spend time with Ellie and Levi, who were off on their honeymoon.  I hope they had a great time and come back ready to solve more mysteries in the next book.  But we got to meet some other characters, which I enjoyed.  There is a list of the people we meet in this book, and it really helped me to keep them straight in my mind.

The author continues to excel in her descriptive writing, and I felt like I was right there at the ski resort, watching all of the action taking place around me.  The mystery is well plotted and there are plenty of suspects to consider.  As is usual with this author, there are plenty of clues and red herrings spread throughout the book.  The hard part is putting all the clues together to figure out the killer.  

I would recommend this book (and series) to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.  If you are looking for a good series, with excellent characters, superb settings and mysteries that are well plotted, look no further than the Zoe Donovan Cozy Mysteries.