Review of Camp Carter

 

Camp Carter

Zoe Donovan Mystery, Book #25

Kathi Daley

5 Stars
35058064Synopsis:

Zoe struggles with a secret as the Zimmerman clan sets out for a week of fun in the sun at Camp Carter, where they find the cook dead in the pantry on the very first day of their family vacation.  (Goodreads)
Review:

The characters are well rounded and three dimensional.  It was great to visit with Zoe and Zak and get to spend some time with them.  We also get to spend a little time with Ellie and Levi, although they were not involved in solving this mystery.  The author excels in her character development and if there was no mystery to solve, I would be happy just hanging out with them.

The author is very talented in her descriptive writing and through much of the book, I felt like I was right there in camp, watching all the activities taking place around me.  I could picture the lake and the trees and all of the scenery vividly in my mind.  

The writing style flows smoothly and the book is an easy read.  The mystery was well plotted and there were plenty of suspects to consider and clues to sift through.  I did not figure out the culprit until it was revealed at the end.

I would recommend this book (and author) to anyone who enjoys a well crafted cozy mystery.  You cannot go wrong choosing a book by this author (and you have plenty to choose from).